We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A resort with campsites, RV sites, cabins, and motel 45 min. from Yellowstone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yellowstone Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wapiti
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A resort with campsites, RV sites, cabins, and motel 45 min. from Yellowstone”
Reviewed 16 September 2009

The advantage of this resort is that it has campsites, RV sites, newer cabins and 2 story hotel overlooking the river. The restaurant food was fabulous, and the owner was very helpful. The cabins were small, basic, and very clean. The resort is 45 min. from the east entrance to Yellowstone. They do have a swimming pool open during summer, hot tub, pool table and western entertainment some of the time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinlanLasVegas_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    71
    30
    19
    24
See reviews for
135
99
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
livingston montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My definition of modern is A LOT different from the one advertised for the Yellowstone Valley Inn. If we were in 1970, they could use the term modern (cheap wall paneling, terrible outdoor lighting inside, don't even get me started on the windows and bathroom issues). Rustic is not a word I would use either, unless rustic means dirty. I could not have been more disappointed by my stay. There was hair all over the bathroom and I don’t think the carpet has ever been vacuumed. The beds are new, but they are an oversized twin – not a queen. The internet access did not work – even in the main lobby. Forget about TV – there is no reception, why they put a TV in the cabin in the first place is mind boggling. We awoke early to roofers banging on the cabin next door - yes on a Sunday! We decided to make the most of it and use the hot tub. The hours of operation for the hot tub are 10 to 10, without exception (when I asked to get in a little early it was stated that it was too hard to get the chemicals taken care of). So, we decided again, to make the most of our stay and just take a shower, after scrubbing it down because it was covered in someone else’s hair.....the shower shut off mid stream. Unable to use the phone, because there isn’t one (again, very modern) I went to the front desk to find out it’s the type of shower head (water conservation – the owner acted like I just should have known they have a water issue – in a hotel!). By then, I was so upset I asked for a refund, I was told I should have complained the night before. My husband and I are avid outdoors people, we frequently stay in forest service cabins, backpack, and are not at all picky – this is the only time I have had to complain about any stay. This place is extraordinarily overpriced, dirty, and inconvenient. Save your money and stay down the road or even in Cody. You’d be better off staying in your car. Whatever you do DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nativeMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The staff were very friendly but did not seem to know much about the area. Nice campground, very quiet except for weekends when the bar had live music that was too loud. Resteraunt was a little pricy but they had a good breakfast. When we made reservations we were told they had fridge/microwave in rooms and when we arrived they did not. I felt that for the price they could offer a continental breakfast. They are 20 minutes for the nearest town so I guess they have no competition so they can charge as much as they want.

The pool is very small but the laundry services are reasonable. When we arrived in mid afternoon the power was out. The water was also out due to the water being on the electricity. We did not have power/water for almost 6 hours. I had to use bottled water to flush the toilet. I know this was not management's fault however I feel that they could have offered a discount or something. Atleast go around and check on your guests. After the power came on everything ran smoothly so it was just one of those things we sucked up.

I would recommend this place as a one night stay only... not for an extended amount of time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schester200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We arrived at YVI after a long day at Yellowstone. The drive was a little long from the park to YVI but it was worth it. YVI is out in the middle of nowhere and that is part of it's appeal. We stayed on the second floor of the hotel. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the view of the Shoshone River and the mountians from our balcony was incredible. Very peaceful. We ate at the restaurant and the food was good. A free hot breakfast was included in the price of our room and the breakfast was great. Pancakes, biscuits & gravy, eggs, pototoes, etc. The staff was friendly and helpful. If we ever return to Yellowstone, we will stay here again.

  • Liked — Spacious and the view
  • Disliked — The distance from Yellowstone
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangre de Christo Mountains, NM
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We arrived late, with other hotels in the area full, needing a room for 6, and still got a great rate. The well appointed room was pleasant and comfortable and in the morning had a real breakfast with ham, bacon, sausage, eggs, biscuits with gravy and lots more. The upstairs room had a balcony overlooking the river and we enjoyed the views. In fact, we were so pleased that we decided to stay over.

We tried the restaurant that night. No prime rib on Tuesday, but the steak was excellent with prices normal for that kind of menu. There was a reasonably priced children's menu as well.

We were delighted and plan to stay there again next year.

  • Liked — Overall balance of facilities to price was excellent.
  • Disliked — Itenary did not allow us to stay longer.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Yellowstone Valley Inn (YVI) is a fantastic and affordable place a short distance from the East entrance of Yellowstone National Park. The food is amazing, the employees warm and service oriented, the karoke and bar are fun, and the location is hard to beat. The rooms are modest, comfortable, clean, and very affordable. Right on the Shoshone River with mountains in every direction, the location is perfect!

If you are looking for the Ritz, you better visit NYC, remember, you are in the Wild Wild West of Wyoming. Enjoy the quiet starlit nights, scenery, hospitality, and relaxed pace of YVI.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank PackerTramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2008

This is a great place to stay. Good food, top notch staff, excellent rooms at a affordable price.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joewtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wapiti
17.0 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
17.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,025 reviews
16.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
18.0 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#9 of 29 in Cody
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Valley Inn

Property: Yellowstone Valley Inn
Address: 3324 Yellowstone Park Highway, Wapiti, Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody > Wapiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wapiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
360 degree mountain views. high desert location means low humidity and few mosquitos during our summer season. World class trout fishing, river rafting, horse riding, hiking and site seeing. 30 minutes from Yellowstone's east gate and 20 minutes west of Cody, Wyoming.Heated pool, indoor hot tub, restaurant, saloon and public laundry. 35 rooms and 60 large, level RV sites. moderately priced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yellowstone Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Valley Inn And Rv Park Hotel Wapiti
Yellowstone Valley Hotel
Yellowstone Valley Motel
Yellowstone Valley Inn Wapiti, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing