We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for small family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fireside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fireside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Prairie Village, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for small family!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband, myself, and our 7 month old daughter traveled to Jackson, WY last Summer (Mid-August) and stayed at Fireside Resort. It was absolutely perfect. The resort is a short drive to the entrance of Grand Teton National Park and also very close to downtown Jackson Hole (touristy area with shops and restaurants). We also drove to Yellowstone National Park one day, but this was a good 1.5 hr drive, there and back. We thought Grand Teton National Park was much more beautiful and much, much, much less crowded than Yellowstone. The cabins are just adorable. The kitchen was perfect for cooking meals as we didn't want to eat out every night. The bed was so comfortable and the shower is huge! We saw Moose near our cabin everyday and one evening we even encountered a baby moose within feet from our cabin door. The resort has a shared laundry facility with coin operated machines that came in handy for us. I am working on planning this years summer vacation and while we want to travel some place new it will be hard to top our trip last year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookeandBrian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    49
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
78
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Our Fireside cabin offered everything we needed. It was super close to Jackson Hole, had a kitchenette (stove top, micro, fridge and coffee maker) so we could do up breakfast each morning and save a bundle, two flatscreens for Olympic watching, and we could bring the dog. We had to keep him on a close watch as there was a baby moose that hung around the cabin and the main road is fairly close by but neither presented a problem during our three-night stay. We arrived late in the evening so the desk girl called to tell us Cabin 3 would be unlocked and the key was inside. We had no trouble getting in or with any of the features inside. The place was clean and mountain chic. There are three separate heating thermostats (in the living room, bathroom and bedroom) so we set about turning all of them up and cranking the electric fireplace. It was warm in no time. The shower has its own water heater but don;t let it run too long or you may run out of hot water. Management left a little s'mores kit but we were too tired and saved it for the next night. We crawled into a luxurious king bed with soft white sheets and a down duvet and slept like babes.
It was a 5 minute drive to the resort in the morning and you can walk to the Calico for spicy margaritas on happy hour for apres ski. What more do you need? There is a bus that picks up across the street from the Calico if you'd rather not drive. It was very quiet during our stay but that may change as word gets out that this is an ideal spot to stay for a winter adventure.
They no longer offer pet beds as the gear would get nasty over time so we brought our own. The one bedroom might be a bit tight for four adults but it was the perfect size for our family of three. We had an individual parking spot right next to the unit so it was easy to unpack and pack. We didnt use the firepit or the hottub because it stormed the entire visit. Not complaining. Jackson Hole skiing was going off! For the smores we grilled them on the portable Weber grill that is on the deck. Hope they don't mind the charred marshmallow bits we left behind.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin toward the rear if you have a dog as it's farther away from the road. Turn the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poohbear98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We loved this place! It is a short 5 minute drive to Grand Teton and less than 10 to downtown Jackson Hole. It is has two restaurants within walking distance (Italian & BBQ). The rooms were perfectly appointed.

The rooms: A small but efficient space with adorable decor. We stayed for a week, and it was quiet & quaint. We would definitely stay here in our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candia, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I contemplated reserving one of their 'glamping' tents for over a year. At $300 per night I had to convince myself it was worth it. I'm glad Trip Advisor is here to give you the truth and I decided against Fireside. While we were in Jackson we stopped by to see what we were missing.The pictures on the website are VERY misleading. You do NOT see the Tetons from your cabin and this place is right on a busy road. We stayed at Cowboy Village which was wonderful and more cost effective. Rustic Inn looks very nice too and I might stay there next time I visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
12 Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Utah
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife surprised me with a trip to Jackson Hole. We wanted to take the trailer up to West Yellowstone but due to the shutdown we changed plans and she surprised me, she did a great job. We live in Salt Lake and I worked the night before so we got off to a late start and did not get into JH until about 9 pm. Usually no problem. My wife decided she wanted to go Glamping and at the Fireside Resort they "had 20 spots". She was able to sign up for 2 days and on the Website tell them that we would be coming in late however when we arrived absolute no employees could be found. No notices on the doors. We met another person that came late and they were told that a cabin was held for them, they wanted to go Glamping too, but they were told that it wasn't available. Hoping that our case was similar to theirs we found an open cabin.
Very Cozy. Electric Fireplace small kitchen, bathroom very nice and the bedroom, European décor comfortable. Nagging in the back of my mind was the question, "Is this for us or are we taking someone elses?"

No one came banging on the door and we had a fantastic night. We went to the Office only to find that the county stopped the Glamping 2 weeks prior and the Resort had no idea we were coming! Something to do with the County now taking over the Glamping Website. They were to inform those looking at it that it was no long available. The couple that was to stay in the cabin we were in got an even later start and would not be in until the afternoon now of the next day. We were able to produce the paperwork printer from our reservations and staff worked with os and we had no further problems.

The cabin is fantastic. warm when we wanted it warm and cool when we needed that also. Enough space between cabins without feeling they were crowded, We would definitely go back. That first night put an edge on the stay and so I would definitely talk to someone before arrival not just leave it up to the online booking.

For supplies you can go into JH or about 1 mile past the Resort is a small store, has many organic and specialty items. Fresh bagettes and other breads, cheeses, prepared meals if you just want to warm things up. There is a 2 burner stove top and a microwave. Full utensils and a small refrigerator.

Each cabin has a campfire spot and they leave wood and firestarter with a smore setup for two. Great idea. On the deck is also a picinic table and a small barbeque.

Room Tip: You want an inside cabin. We stayed in 12 and did not hear any outside noises, other have given numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbarlow2_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our short honeymoon after being married in Teton Village. The cabins were clean, plenty big enough for two, the right price, close to all of the activities Jackson Hole is known for, and not far from fine dining in town. We really enjoyed the privacy of the cabin over the bustling hotel options. When you get there you might be tempted to be disappointed with the closeness in proximity each cabin is to the others, but don't be. Close the curtains, and you are in your own little world. Great ammenities and a functional kitchen. We are simple people, but this would appeal to anyone who doesn't have a need for the upscale resort. You could squeeze a family into one cabin, but you better like each other. Most ideal for a private getaway in the mountains for 2.

Room Tip: Ask for cabins 14-18. You'll be away from the main road and entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshall O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

These cabins are awesome. Everything inside the cabin uses a high end material, from the architecture and materials used on the cabin itself to the leather couches, bedding, and tvs. Having your own camp fire set up gives this place such a unique feel and experience. The location is great if its what you are looking for- you feel removed from it all on a quiet, tree-lined street, but still get the sense of community. Not too close- if you want complete privacy and space, rent a ranch for yourself and spend 3 times as much. It is centrally located between teton villiage and Jackson, and is walkable to two great restaurants and a town center. The bed is the most comfortable bed i have ever slept on! I am here now, and sad we have to leave!

I am very low maintenance, but like most small places this is a low key operation and the office works by office hours. I was a little disappointing showing up expecting to "Glamp" but found when I got here they are no longer offering glamping and I was unaware. Side note if you were expecting the same.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilson
4.3 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
4.5 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
4.6 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa- A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
4.6 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
4.5 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Resort

Property: Fireside Resort
Address: 2780 N Moose Wilson Rd, Highway 390, Wilson, WY 83014-9641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Wilson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wilson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fireside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fireside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Hotel Wilson
Fireside Resort Jackson Hole/Wilson, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing