We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Kealakekua Bay
from US$69.66
More Info
from US$99.00
More Info
from US$80.00
More Info
from US$122.95
More Info
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
557
124
42
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
124
42
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish captain cook monument spinner dolphins the big island rent a kayak kona boys rocky beach great snorkeling marine life crystal clear waters tour boats hawaiian islands snorkeling location sea turtles early in the morning bring plenty of water an abundance
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018

We had the tour guide Isiah and his brother. They gave great history "lesson" which was very interesting however the history lesson went from 7:15 - 8:45 which ended up taking a lot of time from the 5 hour tour. My husband and I had never kayaked nor snorkeled before and the guides were NOT helpful with us as beginners.

Had we known more what we were doing the experience may have been better, but when reading about this activity it said "no experience needed" so we thought we would be fine and the guides would teach us. We had little to no instruction from the guides and were scared most of the kayaking time. The guides did not stay near us which was even more frightening.

The lunch was decent and once we figured out the snorkeling (by ourselves) it was a very cool experience. Overall, if you know what you are doing we would recommend this, but it is NOT beginner friendly. We also did not get to see any dolphins.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank KML1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Took a boat trip out to Kealakekua Bay for the snorkeling. It was perfect. Clear water with an amazing variety of fish. Saw an eel also. It was a great experience and hope to make it back there again.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank shaonlsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We paid $50 to rent a Kayak for the day and went to Captain's Cook Monument. The bay was beautiful. Nice snorkeling near the state or monument and we did get to swim with the dolphins.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank celadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

I visited Kealakeua Bay last December with my two sons while on a little post business trip vacation. This is a perfect, one of a kind, location for snorkeling. In my opinion, it tops Hanauma Bay and Shark’s Cove on Oahu because of the seclusion of the experience. It is a lengthy hike to the Captain Cook Monument and Kealakekua Bay to snorkel so the only other options are kayaking or taking a boat cruise to the location. Kayaking to the bay is only allowed with an adventure tour permit so it creates a personal experience. We were the only three in our 3 hour kayak/snorkeling tour ($100 a person). As a result we had the Kealakekua Bay to ourselves on a weekday afternoon for almost an hour. We didn’t see any spinner dolphins while kayaking, but the snorkel experience was unbelievable. We saw every Hawaiian marine life imaginable, including a scary encounter with a large eel. The water is clear, cool and the colors are amazing. One of the unique experiences of the Bay is the cold, fresh water flowing underwater in small funnels coming down from the mountain. It is also a national historical park where you can visit the spot where Captain Cook was killed. A tour boat did arrive and bring about twenty people as we were leaving the bay. This place should be on your Big Island bucket list. If you’re in paddling shape and have the money, spring for the kayak private tour.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank tphybridtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We recently spent a day here kayaking and snorkeling and it was fantastic. We were able to see pods of dolphins and snorkeling with an amazing array of fish. The only downside was the sheer number of tour boats. It seems even with the permitting, there are a lot of people who want to visit the area. Still, it's worth the trip.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews