We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Manago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manago Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Captain Cook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Although facilities are limited, this hotel is scrupulously clean and the bedroom and bathroom are of a generous size. We were on the third floor with a nice balcony and sea views. Staff at the front desk were extremely pleasant and helpful.
Sadly, the renowned restaurant was closed for refurbishment during our visit so we couldn't sample the famous pork chops and we can't review it!
This is a great place to stay for a couple of days. It is a good location for exploring the southern Kona area.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the main road and to get a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britney M, Guest Relations Manager at Manago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for the great review! I'm sorry you weren't able to try our pork chops while you were here. Hopefully you'll get a chance to come back soon to try them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you want authentic Hawaiian food for a reasonable price, this is the place to go. Wonderful pork chops with all the trimmings - potato/mac salad, rice, seaweed with a dipping sauce. You don't need to dress up. In fact, when entering the building which also houses a hotel, you might wonder if you're in the right place since it looks a bit run-down and very old. Waitresses are very nice. Definitely a restaurant to put on your list.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurelSaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britney M, Guest Relations Manager at Manago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your review of our restaurant Laurel! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our pork chops and hope you will come back to visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Given that this was the cheapest place we stayed at, we were surprised at how great it was! The room was comfortable and the location was a great base to explore the west side of the Big Island. There was Wifi available that worked great and the restaurant had very good food. The Japanese garden was also a nice surprise and our view was great!

If you are looking for luxury, I would not recommend staying here as there is no TV, no fridge or kettle and few bathroom amenities.

But if you are just looking for somewhere comfortable and convenient to spend the night while exploring the island, this is perfect.

Pros: Convenient, friendly with everything we needed

Cons: Basic facilities with the option to get extra (eg shampoo) at the front desk for a small fee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britney M, Guest Relations Manager at Manago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Christie,
Thank you so much for such a great review! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleasantly surprised by our property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We loved our three nights at the Manago. We had breakfast and dinner there every day as well.

The hotel and restaurant are as individual as the family who run it. We had a room on the third floor overlooking part of the large garden, and over the coast, superb view. Towels and bedding were changed daily unless we requested otherwise. The room had original fittings and would be a retro fan's delight, as would the whole hotel. The food was good home-cooked style and the restaurant caters for guests and locals making for a very friendly vibe. The pork chops are delicious!

Warning there was no TV in our room, it was wonderful! There is a TV lounge if you really can't do without. The room had a radio and it was great listening to local music and news.

There is plenty of parking either side of the premises and there is Wi-Fi throughout. The signal was strong in our third floor room across the way from the main building.

If you prefer the uniformity and predictability of corporate hotels/ motels the Manago is not for you. We loved this place and would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: If you would like a great view, just as for a 2nd or 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britney M, Guest Relations Manager at Manago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you so much Andy for that great review! It is always so great to hear such positive feedback from our guests. The hotel has been in our family for quite some time now and we do our best to keep up the tradition. It is guests like you that make it all worth while. Hope you come back to visit us very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spend 2 nights in this hotel. The first one we have a "Japanese style" room which was very very good. Amazing view from the balcony, traditional bed, wall and bath. It is clean.
Staff is very friendly and can provide a lot of information (bus schedule, places to go, advice about restaurant).
The restaurant has tasty food for a good price/quality. It's a mix between Japanese, Hawaiian and American food so you can find something you like.
It is far from the beach but if you have car it's not a problem. For the backpackers, the bus station is just front of the hotel. Very convenient!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank french_in_china
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britney M, Guest Relations Manager at Manago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed our Japanese Room during your stay and that our staff was able to assist you with all of your questions. Please come and visit us again the next time you are in Captain Cook we would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is very easy to find, conveniently located on the main street crossing Captain Cook. Most GPS with car rental already have it in their favorites and if not, it will be easy to find. 10-15 minutes away from Honaunau and less than 10 minutes away from Kealakekua Bay. It is also 25 minutes away from Kona and there's a couple of stores and restaurants minutes away from the hotel - you can literally just walk 2-5 minutes to 3-4 options.

The parking is large and there is enough space. This hotel will actually clean your room everyday, changing your bed sheets, towels and vacuum the floor. When I asked the cleaning lady to ignore my room since it didn't need cleaning, she looked at me very surprised and I had to explain that I was actually capable of spending more than one night with the same bed sheets. Staff were always friendly, smiling, and helpful. They work in the office, the kitchen and you can see they enjoy their business.

There is a restaurant within the hotel, that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. Now I did have breakfast and was really disappointed with the lack of <<Hawaiian>> options. They served toast, cereals, french toasts, eggs, pancakes, etc. Nothing, aside from Guava Juice, was personalized and I believed that it would have made it more enjoyable if there were fruits, different syrups, etc. However, since I am rating the hotel and not the restaurant, and since breakfast is not included in the price of the room, I did not remove stars for this reason.

I did remove starts however because of how incredibly noisy it is. Now the paper thin walls are already something. I heard everything my neighbors did, from love to arguments, but worst is, I could say which of my neighbor were doing these noises because I could pinpoint where the sound was coming from (left, right, up, balcony, hall, etc.) Doors were often slammed and the plexiglass binders in the bathroom were not covering any sound, both in and out. Just walking in the hallway, passing in front of rooms, you could tell who was taking a shower. And all that time, I was wearing earplugs, which means that the sound needed to be very strong for me to hear it clearly with earplugs.

The worst of all sounds was definitely the rooster in the courtyard, that you could see from the balcony. Starting his erratic sounds at 6h30-07h00 am, repeatedly for over 40 minutes until I got up, and there was no way not to hear it and to escape it. Earplugs and pillow over my head, and its sound would be still very clear. Now I presume that the rooster belongs to some neighbors of the hotel, because what type of hotel wants to forcibly wake its customers in such a way? I would really recommend that the hotel finds an arrangement with the neighbor and fix that issue. Out of the 3 nights I was there, I was awoken twice by the rooster. I tried to go on the balcony and scare him away but the rooster is definitely use to sounds. Someone even threw something at him to shut him up, but that didn't discourage him. If you have very deep sleep, you should be find, but if not, this could be a deal breaker.

The room is very basic, I did like the balcony. The bathroom is large enough, away from the bed. Bed was average and I also enjoyed the little bench to put my luggage on.

To sum it all, aside from the noise, this is a really good hotel, not too expensive with enough services to make you enjoy your stay, and that saved the hotel from a lower score because of the amount of noises from everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arxxra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britney M, Guest Relations Manager at Manago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel we always appreciate feedback from our guests! We are so pleased to hear that the staff and convenience of our location met your expectation. We are sorry however to hear about all the noise issues you experienced. With regards to the roosters, they are actually wild and don't belong to any neighbors making it difficult to contain them. We are doing our best to deal with the situation and hope it will not hinder you from coming to stay with us again. We really do appreciate your business and will do our best to address the noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Manago Hotel on the Big Island of Hawaii.
- Main building was built in 1917 but obviously was added on to several times over the years.
- Private bath rooms ~ 42, and communal bath rooms ~ 20.
- We had a private bath room.
-- Few "amenities" but a clean room with a good bed at a very reasonable (by Hawaii standards) price.
- Only minor complaint was the local roosters crowing in the morning - easily solved by closing windows and/or wearing earplugs when you retire.
- Friendly staff.
- No pool or room service

A throwback in time, but we'd stay there again.
Good value for the money.
Like staying with your older relatives.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
44.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
433 reviews
59.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
598 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
11.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
57.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manago Hotel

Address: 82-6155 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Captain Cook
Price Range: £49 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manago Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manago Hotel is located in Captain Cook Town on the slopes of Mauna Loa at an elevation of 1,350 ft. It overlooks the beautiful Kealakekua Bay, and the ancient Hawaiian Place of Refuge in Honaunau. This is an ideal location with cool, quiet nights and sunny days, where travelers can relax and sleep comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Manago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manago Hotel Captain Cook
Manago Captain Cook
Manago Hotel Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing