We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“make yourself at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“make yourself at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

when you arrive and you feel "That's where I want to live": then you are at Areca Palms Estate. Hosts which support you in every way, quiet and eco friendly environment, delicious 5 star breakfast - you will miss nothing.
Whenever we will come back to Big Island we will stay here again.

Simone and Karl form Munich/Germany

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Simone and Karl, Thank you for the wonderful review. It is so kind of you to take the time to write such wonderful words. If we ever get to Germany we will definitely look you up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    21
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Steve and Janice are great hosts. Nice clean house and rooms, feels like you are staying with family. Great breakfast by Janice and recommendations by Steve. Location was good for accessing many sites in the Captain Cook and Kona area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frugal4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thanks for the terrific review. It so nice to hear that our offering is what travwllers are looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Great location, lovely house, friendly and knowledgeable hosts, and fantastic breakfasts. What more could you ask for? Just off the Hawai'i Belt Road (Route 11) but away from highway noise - quick and easy access to snorkeling, historic sites, nature attractions, and restaurants, and an easy 20 minute drive to Kona. Steve and Janice are fun to be with and have anticipated everything their guests might need, such as swim fins. They can provide expert advice on diverse questions, from where to eat to the best times to go snorkeling. Janice prepares wonderful breakfasts, using locally sourced ingredients. The rooms are meticulously maintained. Areca Palms B&B is a real gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deltanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We do try to make our guests feel comfortable and enjoy hearing about their adventures on the Island. Your enthusiasm is contagious. Thanks again. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

This was a last minute booking and although I had been to the Big Island several times, this was my first stay in a bed and breakfast. Even though our arrival was much later than planned, hosts Steve and Janice were very accommodating, ensuring we had good directions and ready to meet any other needs we may have. We had a cozy room and a very spacious bathroom and they helped us settle right in despite the late hour. In the morning we were greeted with a bountiful and oh so ono (Hawaiian for "delicious") breakfast unlike I never had before. Janice is an amazing cook - blending tropical fruits and dishes with wonderful finishing touches like guava syrup. During the day, they let us roam as we wish but were able to recommend a myriad of activities based on our desired plans. They led us to snorkeling at the nearby Capt Cook monument, which Ican say beats anything I've found on Oahu. They also directed us to some very good restaurants nearby (don't wait too late to go out for grub...the area is peaceful, serene, and eateries are not open late!) and Kona is a short drive up the road.

I recommend Areca Palms B&B for anyone seeking a slower paced Hawaiian getaway away from the resorts. The breakfast alone is worth the stay, and the hosts make it even more memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillyflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repeathawaii, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
We enjoyed having you here. It is always nice to have a visitor from the neighbor Islands find our B&B and the Kona coast for the first time. Hope you had some luck in finding the property you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We decided to spend 4 days on the Big Island during our 10 day holiday trip through Hawaii and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed a mixture of relaxing and mid-pace adventure roaming all over the Big Island. What made it so nice was our decision to stay at Areca Palms B&B in the Captain Cook area. Steve and Janice were exceptional hosts and their B&B was everything we hoped it would be. The overall property is beautiful, our room was clean and we felt comfortable during our entire visit. Both Steve and Janice supplied us with great advice with respect to getting around the island and what points of interest to visit. They loaned snorkeling and beach gear and told us of a quiet small beach we could visit which turned out to be really nice. Breakfast was fantastic and a good start to our day and also a time to reflect and discuss our adventures with other guests...all in all, a nice setting with good people in a beautiful location.

Another nice feature to this B&B is location. Even though it is situated slightly south, the location felt centralized as we were able to get to all POI on the island in good time. We loved the location and being able to see everything we planned to see. When you add up the beauty of the B&B, the exceptional hosts, the cleanliness of our room, fantastic breakfast, the location and the relaxing nature of the area, the result is more than 5 Stars!

We will strongly recommend Areca Palms B&B to all of our friends should they ever venture out to the Big Island of Hawaii and would stay there again should we get back there. Our trip was quite a success and we thank Areca Palms B&B for helping. Janice and Steve, thanks for everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoSpillBlood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repeathawaii, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thjank you for the kind words. We hope you truly enjoyed your visit to the Big Island. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed with Janice and Steve twice while visiting Hawaii. We travelled all the way around the Island and liked Areca Palms so much that we stayed with them again when we completed the loop. We stayed at a lot of places while touring around and Areca Palms was by far the best. The house and grounds are beautiful and the food was wonderful. The best meals we had during our stay. Janice and Steve made us feel like welcome friends. They have a wealth of information about the Island and what to do and where to go. Everything they recommended was spot on. Can't say enough nice things about this place or about Janice and Steve.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank car0greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Aloha to our Canadien guests. We hope you found your animals at Kangaroo Creek Farm warm and cozy on your return. We can only imagine the excitement you bring to all of those children that visit your farm. It was a lot of fun having you here and we really enjoyed learning about your animals. Hope to visit next time we are in the Kelowna area of B.C..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koblenz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We were there just 3 days but these days were perfect.
our room and the house was so pretty and clean. the nature there is awesome. no noiseses, we could sleep very well.
janice was very helpful and so organized. she helped us so much with many things and gave us a lot of good advises.
we had a few really good conversations with steve what was very nice.
the breakfast there was soooo good, delicious! and the coffee with baileys.... yummi!
we enjoyed our stay there and looking forward to come back one day.
thank you very much!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anabell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repeathawaii, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Aloha Annabell, we really enjoyed having you and Pascalvisit. Your stories of your homelam
nd were wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
10.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.8 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.5 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 81-1031 Keopuka Mauka Road, P.O. Box 489, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kona, Areca Palms Estate is nearby to great snorkeling, great hikes, historical sites and gardens. Our rooms are comfortably equipped and impeccably clean. Located far enough off of the highway yet easy to find. Very quiet location. We serve a wonderful breakfast including, entrée, Island fruit, homemade breads and pastries and of course coffee, tea and juice. Complementary beach equipment, chairs, coolers etc., and snorkel equipment provided. Also available on sight are Facials by a Hawaii State licensed Cosmetologist. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Areca Palms Estate Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing