We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Areca Palms stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Taylors, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Areca Palms stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Areca Palms is a lovely home on a steep street about an hour south of the airport. The grounds were very nicely maintained and the common areas in the home were nicely appointed. We mostly sat out on the large lanai when we were there.

The breakfasts were nicely presented and plentiful. We enjoyed the variety of fresh fruits. The entrees were scrumptious

Janice gave us a good itinerary to follow for the two days that we were there. We especially liked the Place of Refuge. We went back twice and used the parking lot when we went snorkeling nearby. We also like the farmer’s co-op that was on the itinerary. Chocolate covered macadamia nuts, yum!

Thanks for letting us use the snorkeling equipment, towels, noodles, and beach mats. We had use of the small refrigerator for guests.

The Blue Willow room got quite warm, even with the window open and the fan going. We were reluctant to keep the door open during the night since there were other guests. The hall was much cooler.

Cash or checks, no credit cards. (It is not as prominently displayed as should be). I would suggest that it be on the email confirmation in addition to the attachments. I didn't see that requirement when the email was forwarded to me without the attachments. We looked on the website and didn't see it stated there. Fortunately we had enough cash to pay them.

Let them know if your plane itinerary has changed so they are aware of the time difference. We arrived later than they had anticipated. I had forgotten that the schedule changed to an hour later than what I had told her when we booked. They were waiting on us to arrive so that they could go out to eat. Sorry about that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maelrarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words. we do our best to help our guests enjoy their vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    21
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We expected the great food and comfortable lodging which we received. The excellent service and island advice Steve and Janice provided greatly added to the quality of our experiences during our first trip to Hawaii. I would highly recommend Areca Palms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Kona is a dream paradise as you discovered. We certainly enjoyed your visit and hope you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We spent 5 wonderful days at Areca Palms and it was our first experience at a B&B...Wow...Loved everything about this home. Location was great to the best restaurants on the Island, the best snorkeling at Kealakekua Bay and it was so Hawaii we will be returning.. Even if they couldn't adopt us...The knowledge of what to do and see with trips planed out saved us so much time in which we could enjoy the Island without all the homework or getting lost. The hosts keep such a beautiful home and we respect the fact there are a few considerate request. It is so green and beautiful on the sunny side but evenings occasionally rain which was nice because it feels tropical....
They had everything we needed for the beach, little notes also on what not to miss even when we went to the other side...Headed to Kauai from there and they gave us all the tips on what not to miss..
Thank you Steve and Janice for making our vacation so special...Hope to see you next year.. Tom & Lynn...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgo33369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
We truly did enjoy your stay. Nice to have someone that clearly enjoy life.We hope you both can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mars
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed two nights at Areca Palms, our third visit in four years. Steve and Janice provide the perfect setting, are gracious and accommodating hosts who are eager and willing to share their 15 years of experience and knowledge of the island. The gardens are immaculately kept and the views from the lanai stunning yet serene. We wouldn't stay anywhere else and in reading negative commentary from other guests - like the complaint about "20 steps" , the lack of dehumidifiers (it's the tropics people, it supposed to be wet...that's what makes it so GREEN) the griping about too many rules (which are common sense - you are not staying at your Mom's house - so of course the kitchen is off limits!), we are left wondering what it is people expect when they stay at a B&B. We loved it there and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoldar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thanks for telling us that your stay here was the best on the island. Glad you enjoyed the Manta Ray snorkel. It is the best experience you can have in the water here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Our first trip to the big island. Excellent hosts with great information on how to maximize our time. Great breakfasts. Excellent conversation. Good value. Central location. We used their daily guides and information and were very impressed with the valuable information provided.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
We were so pleased to host your stay. Many of our guests appreciate the Daytrip instructions so they don't have to worry about missing key sites. We do have four different trips identified for our guests use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed two nights. Steve and Janice were very welcoming and gave us some great ideas for places to visit and places to eat in the area. This is a lovely home and garden, very useful to be able to borrow beach equipment. The breakfasts are a work of art and yummy, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Only negative is there is no facility to make tea or coffee in the room and the kitchen is out of bounds to guests, otherwise this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for the nice review. Sorry about the tea. Janice did tell you that she would be glad to make you a cup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The food is great. The rooms and grounds are clean, neat and pretty. It rates a "B" because: 1) You must pay in cash (my check was cashed before I left) 2) there is no AC or dehumidifiers - very damp 3) you are not allowed to consume food or drinks in the house (other than breakfast) - plan to eat on the porch regardless of weather, 4) access to the main house requires a climb of 20 steps, 5) they have 7 or so cheerfully - yet strictly - enforced rules. Some make sense (keep doors closed to keep out bugs). Others create stress (there are specific cups for tea and coffee - you can't put coffee in a tea cup). We found ourselves wondering what we would do next that would be a mistake. It's good for a couple, with no dietary restrictions, travelling without children, who are physically fit and willing to follow rules. But "Ohana" it's not.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidwestFamily63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
The concerns that this reviewer has are very interesting. In the fourteen years that we have been operating we have never been told about some of these. We will explain our position on each of these issues. 1) No AC or dehumidifier, We live at an elevation in hHawaii that does not require AC or het, truly paradise.When this party was here we were having inclement waeather , tropical rains, the created more humidity than normal. We did give these guests a dehumidifier for their room after they stated their concerns. 2) No food in house, we encourage our guests to enjoy the tropics by having any meals on our guest lanais. During a rainy period, if they had asked, they certainly could have used the dining room. 3) 20 steps, we are on a volcanic island that has very little level ground. almost all structures have steps. The steps are clearly pictured on our website. If a guest needs help with luggage we are there to help. 4) 7 Rules, we do have rules like please keep the screen doors closed, no red wine in the bedrooms, hang your beach towels in the designated area, rinse snorkel equipment when done and others. These are all sensible rules. The 7 rules are not defined so we cannot address them specifically. 5)Dietary Restrictions. This reviewer does not recommend our B&B to those that have dietary restrictions, however, one person in their party was made a gfluten free breakfast with a different entree for five days in a row. We don't understand why they stated this. 6) Not Ohana. Ohana means family in the Hawaiian language. Please read the other reviews on Tripadvisor and you will note that we are very concerned that all of our guests have a great vacation. How much more family can you get?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
1.0 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
290 reviews
34.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.5 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
30.9 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
10.1 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 81-1031 Keopuka Mauka Road, P.O. Box 489, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kona, Areca Palms Estate is nearby to great snorkeling, great hikes, historical sites and gardens. Our rooms are comfortably equipped and impeccably clean. Located far enough off of the highway yet easy to find. Very quiet location. We serve a wonderful breakfast including, entrée, Island fruit, homemade breads and pastries and of course coffee, tea and juice. Complementary beach equipment, chairs, coolers etc., and snorkel equipment provided. Also available on sight are Facials by a Hawaii State licensed Cosmetologist. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Areca Palms Estate Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing