We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice B&B Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
218
Reviewed 23 August 2004

Beautiful house and surroundings just south of the heart of Kona. Steve and Janice were very nice and professional. The accomodations were immaculate. There are a few more rules than at other B&B's but they are in place to keep the property clean. We did not feel like we were intruding. The entire upstairs of the house is for the guests. They have a beautiful lani and hot tub in the landscaped yard. Breakfasts were large and very good each morning. Owners supplied snorkeling gear, beach towels and coolers with ice packs.
A couple of minor issues for us was that the breakfasts could be slow, taking the better part of an hour beginning at 8AM so you couldn't get an early start to the day. We stayed in the garden room which can get very warm in the August sun with only a fan and two open windows. Also no access to any kitchen facilities. The only rule that bothered us was the "no showers after 10PM or before 7AM" mostly because we are early risers (see breakfast comment). All in all a very pleasant experience and well worth the money. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 123 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Satellite Beach, FL
114
Reviewed 16 August 2004

The setting is beautiful, the house is very clean, but the host and hostess are not cut out to be innkeepers. We felt like intruders: so many rules to follow; listened to endless complaining about their 24x7 job; both complained about other guests to us (heaven knows what they said about us); berated a European guest for eating his fruit w/ a knife and fork; when no one at the table finished eating our oatmeal (in August!) we were all given a dressing down; talking to Steve at breakfast one morning, Janice told us to shut up - she was trying to talk to another guest. Our other B&B stay on the island was very relaxed and friendly - here I felt unwelcome.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Burlington, Vermont
18
Reviewed 12 August 2004

Just returned from the islands where we visited four B&B's and have to say this one was excellent. Accomodations spotlessly clean and in wonderful condition (the yard was georgeous), and breakfast was absolutely out of this world! Property is located south of the hustle of Kona yet within easy drive of beaches and activites. A great value and a major thumbs up!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Univers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemigdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G, Owner at Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMPK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
1.4 mi away
Belle Vue Kona B&B
Belle Vue Kona B&B
#4 of 15 in Captain Cook
261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
423 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
#5 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Halemalu
Halemalu
#4 of 4 in Captain Cook
45 reviews
2.1 mi away
A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B
3.9 mi away
Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
#3 of 4 in Captain Cook
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Palms Estate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 81-1031 Keopuka Mauka Road, P.O. Box 489, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: £83 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kona, Areca Palms Estate is nearby to great snorkeling, great hikes, historical sites and gardens. Our rooms are comfortably equipped and impeccably clean. Located far enough off of the highway yet easy to find. Very quiet location. We serve a wonderful breakfast including, entrée, Island fruit, homemade breads and pastries and of course coffee, tea and juice. Complementary beach equipment, chairs, coolers etc., and snorkel equipment provided. Also available on sight are Facials by a Hawaii State licensed Cosmetologist. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Areca Palms Estate Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing