We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Kona Hideaway
Nearby Hotels
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
US$165
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$1,459
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,035
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$374
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
41
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth konafresh fruit and homemadecomfortable bedbreakfast was delicioustinakerihawaiihostchickens
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2010

South Kona Hideaway is true to its name, for it is tucked away in a canopy of trees on a narrow road off the beaten path. But as soon as your gracious host, Lou shows you the suite (I stayed in the Lookout), any doubts you may have had melt with both hospitality and view. The suite is comfortably and tastefully appointed with a lanai that looks out over a lush expanse to the ocean, 100% Kona coffee, dishes, and a small refrigerator. The bed is comfortable and a lovely place to sit with a laptop (yes, they have wireless), watch the sun drop, and hear nothing but birds. You awake in the morning to roosters throughout the rural region playing a game of oneupsmanship. Lou unobtrusively delivers an amazing breakfast of fresh local fruit, juice, and even an egg that one of those roosters must have some involvement in. Perhaps the reason for the very proud morning announcements. This is a hidden gem for bed and breakfast fans. Don't miss it. It is relaxation and pampering truly reserved for ali'i.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed for 4 nights this summer and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, especially the breakfasts! Every morning it was exciting to see what was in our breakfast basket. It was always fresh, exotic fruit, with hard boiled eggs and a baked item. The scones were particularly yummy. The Lookout was like a tree house, with wonderful views of the water.
It was conveniently located to beaches and snorkeling and our hosts were very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yucatanbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

If you're looking for a true island experience then this is the place. We felt like residents instead of tourists. Great access to snorkeling that only the locals seem to know about.
The view from the balcony is mesmerizing. Waking up to a fresh cup of Kona coffee and taking in the sights and sounds of nature made us want to stay forever. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

This was a great play to just relax. We stayed on the lower floor floor, which had a three-room open plan -- two bedrooms and a kitchen, with a pleasant deck outside. (Warning to parents -- the rooms did not have doors, which meant limited privacy.) There was no television, which was a relief to me, but the books and board games gave us plenty to do in the evenings. Decorations were fun -- sort of contemporary Hawaiian -- and not fussy grandmothery like a lot of B&Bs. The breakfast of fresh baked goods and fruit was a huge treat, and generally more than we could eat. The only quibbles are that the house is not terribly close to anything, and the view was nice, but not great -- we could see parts of Kealakekua Bay through the trees. The birds were a nice local treat, but they were quite loud in the morning, which made sleep past 6 a.m. kind of hard. Then again, with nightfall at 6:30, and not a whole lot of nightlife in the area, early rising wasn't a huge hardship. The house is close to snorkeling destinations, and the owners were very good at helping us find an outfitter.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardel_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the South Kona Hideaway. We were very impressed with how spacious and clean everything was. The only downside I could see is that it didn't have television or air conditioning. Even with the windows open it could be a little stuffy. Perhaps if they add a ceiling fan that would help. One thing we looked forward to each morning was the wonderful breakfast basket. There were so many exotic fruits and things we have never seen before. It was always our morning treat after a full day of activites the day before. If you're looking for glitz and glamour, this is not the place. But if you want a private place to stay that is not intrusive, then this place is for you

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etterfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews