We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable B&B on the Kona coast”
Review of Aloha Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
nmook
2 reviews
“Unbeatable B&B on the Kona coast”
Reviewed 5 October 2007

We discovered the Aloha Guest House in Fodor's and decided it looked like a good central location to stay on the Kona coast. We could easily drive down to South Point and Volcanoes National Park, as well as head up north to Kohala and the Waipio Valley.

We arrived in the evening, and to be honest, were a bit concerned by the long, mostly unpaved road up to the house. However, that's where our concerns ended. Both Johan and Greg were unbeatable hosts, preparing amazing breakfasts and offering up tons of information on what to see and what to eat around the island.

The house itself was impeccable. The room we stayed in had an ocean view, and connected to a covered deck offering a perfect spot for evening reading and relaxing. Sure, the HDTV and ample supply of DVDs were a nice touch for a laid back evening, but even better was the views around the house. The guys have a number of citrus trees and plams line the driveway.

Service was also top-notch. Greg answered a myriad of questions about the island, serving as a B&B host and historian during our stay. We rented a kayak from him for Kealakekua Bay, which made getting to the marine preserve and seeing the dolphins far easier. The guys were always ready to help whenever we needed something. Make sure you pick up some coffee from them before you leave.

Overall, we were very, very impressed with the Aloha Guest House and will definitely stay here our next trip to the Big Island. Sure the road up the hill is kind of a pain, but considering you'll only drive up and down once a day, it's well worth the effort.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nmook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    33
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
294
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2007

My partner and I booked the Horizon room for 6 nights. This was a new experience as we normally stay in hotels. I am now hesitant to book another guesthouse because it will likely not be as nice. After a big resort on Waikiki, this was paradise. We found the Aloha Guest House to be a great base for exploring the Big Island. It was convenient to be able to borrow coolers, snorkeling equipment and rent a kayak.

The room was comfortable, well decorated and offered a view that I hope to remember forever. The common lanai was a great place to relax and mingle with other guests. We met other travelers from all over the world, a diverse group of couples, honeymooners and singles. We found the hosts to be friendly and excellent sources of information of what to do on the island. We learned more about the island and Hawaiian culture than we would have staying in a resort up the coast.

Breakfasts were delicious, satisfying and beautifully presented. Lunch was sometimes an afterthought for us because we were not yet hungry. Restaurants were not far away. The owners were quick to recommend a favorite place. We ate out a few nights, but It was nice to have our own stash of food in the fridge so that we could feed ourselves on our own time.

The hot tub and grounds were great places to relax.

The road up to the guest house was an adventure, but so were many of the other roads on Hawaii. The drive is totally worth it! The locals drive sedans, but we rented -and would definitely recommend- a 4x4. Besides, a 4x4 is useful to find those out of the way beaches on the Big Island.

We have been back a week and miss the Aloha Guest House already.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OhioMike67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2007

We stayed at the Aloha Guest House nearly a year ago, but it is still a fond memory. The rooms are quite small, but very clean and nicely appointed and decorated.

There is a nice screened porch with one or two daybeds, two wing chairs, a bench or two, and a table with chairs -- great place to relax and read or have a nap.

Johan, Greg, and esp Lino were very nice and helpful. The grounds and public areas of the inn are very peaceful and it has a wonderful view of the bay. We enjoyed watching the sun set over the ocean. Mango the dog is GREAT!

I do wish they wouldn't raise their prices. The rate was a bit of a stretch for us last time (and we stayed in the cheapest room -- still very nice). Oh well, for those of you that can afford it, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Liked — The view, the cleanliness, the dog, the porch, the helpful hosts (and Kai - the cat).
  • Disliked — Would like to have been asked what we liked for breakfast, since we were the only couple there at the time.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TRscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

Let's be up-front here: staying at the Aloha Guest House is *NOT* like staying at a hotel. Rather, a visit to this gem of a Bed and Breakfast is akin to spending time in the home of distant relatives -- provided that your relatives own a large house in the middle of a rainforest that overlooks the Pacific Ocean from an altitude of 1500 feet...

I feel compelled to make such an opening statement given that the handful of detailed, negative reviews might leave you nervous about committing to a stay here. If you're squeamish about driving off the beaten path -- both metaphorically and literally -- then seek accommodations elsewhere. Otherwise, jump into your rental car and head south on route 11 for your chance to escape the stresses of everyday living.

Is the 1-mile drive up to the house a bit tricky? Yes, indeed -- the first time. Once you've done it, though, you appreciate it for what it is: your first reason to SLOW DOWN. (Isn't this why you decided to visit Hawai'i in the first place?) I've driven the Old Tobacco Road in both a Mustang convertible and a mid-sized SUV. In either vehicle, the drive is completely do-able, with the advantage given to the SUV and its higher clearence. And yes, the road is one lane, which means that you might have to engage in a bit of traffic give-and-take; if the prospect of having to back up and let the other guy down while you're on your way up bothers you (as it does a few reviewers), then again I say "keep looking." Otherwise, enjoy the bumpy ride...

... which, in my opinion, is worth the bit of effort. Once you arrive up top, you're rewarded by stunning views and a symphony of nature.

As for the breakfasts, they were delicious and filling, and completely in-line with what we've experienced at other B&Bs. Yes, it's true that you won't be able to peruse a menu and place your very own order (as at a hotel), but remember -- this is a Guest House, right? As for the issue of "food allergies," a bit of pre-planning is ALWAYS in order, especially at any B&B. Indeed, the Guest House's website says (and I quote): "Please be sure to inform us of any allergies, dietary restrictions or preferences when making your reservations." Simple.

The rooms are comfortable and as private as you, the guest, need them to be. Just remember that you're staying at somebody's home, and not the confines of a hotel. Looking for an island breeze to waft through your room? Then open the door to the lanai and enjoy! Don't expect, however, that withe the windows open you can engage in a bit of "snuggle" with your sweetheart without some potential for embarassment. While there's a healthy respect of privacy among the guests, the B&B's shared adjoining areas are, well, ... shared. If you require a bit of privacy, then simply slide the glass door closed, draw the curtains, and *presto!* your own private space!

Balancing the privacy afforded by the individual rooms -- each with a private bathroom -- is a very sane and healthy sense of community that can be felt at the Aloha Guest House, especially each morning over breakfast. Chatting with your temporary housemates to share travel stories and swap ideas for things to do was a dimension of our visit that we would have missed in a standard hotel visit. What made the experience even better is the phenomenon of "self-selection": folks who opt to stay at this out-of-the-way place surrounded by natural beauty appear to be of a like-mind and, indeed, appreciate the cameraderie offered by the homey ambience.

As for the "gay" issue that a few people mention, we just don't get it... We're gay but were certainly in the minority during our 4-day visit. The fact that the place is gay-friendly makes it all the more appealing, but in our book, isn't a "make or break" issue. The point is that here, you're free to be a gay couple or newlyweds or retirees or a mother-son vacationing team. If this isn't the spirit of "Aloha," then what is???

In the end, if you're looking for an easy-breezy, pamper-me resort experience on the Big Island with snappy room service, daily towel changes (how utterly wasteful of resources!!) and a four-star restaurant, then the Aloha Guest House is *not* the place for you. (Remember that the operative words for this lovely little getaway are "guest" and "house.") If, however, you're looking for a place that's serene and surrounded by beauty and populated by other like-minded humans, then you've found your place to stay in the Kona area. We've been twice, and plan to visit again!

D (& M) from Dallas

  • Liked — Its setting in an isolated tropical forest with a commanding view of the Pacific.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomos_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

Aloha Guest House exceeded all of our expectations. After driving up the twisty, and very steep hill to the house, you are greeted by lush
landscaping and a magnificent view. Well worth the effort.

The house is magnificent. It has been designed with incredible attention to detail plus fixtures of the highest quality. Every amenity required is available, from free snorkel gear to a kitchenette & BBQ to eat in if you choose.

Johan and Greg are wonderful hosts and will join you at breakfast for hearty food and conversation.

The B&B has wireless broadband, so you bring your laptop, or there is a computer in the common area available for use.

Really enjoyed staying here. The only drawback is the hill is very steep (highly reccomend a 4WD) and it is a 20 minute drive from Kona.

  • Liked — the place was well desinged and well run,
  • Disliked — driving up the hill
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2007

This was our 2nd trip to the Big Island and our 2nd time using the Aloha Guest House fo our accomodations. We knew there was no other choice after the inital visit. Johann and Greg have taken the time to make the visit a great experience. Their guides to the island, reviews of Island restauants, and expert advice are always on target . They have taken the time to provide you with all of the knowledge to make the trip the best experience possible. The setting is absoutely perfect. Located in a lush landscape amidst a coffee plantation with miles of coastline views. Very peaceful and serene, and a great location to give you access to the entire Island for day trips and right above some of the islands best snorkeling. Pay attention to the information they have listed on their website regarding the road to access the property. It is clearly explained that it is some dirt and pavement and gets a little rocky. This is doable even without a 4 wheel drive vehicle. Some reviews did not like this part but remember, the Big Island is the "Island of Adventure", that includes driving around the island as well as many of it 's side roads. I would recommend a 4 wheel drive vehicle so that you can take the trips that are well worth seeing. We spoke to other guest who did not have 4 wheel drive vehcles and the road to the guest house was not an issue for them, it just adds to the adventurous feel of the island and it's charm.
Last but not least are the fantastic breakfasts provided. Local fresh foods that will leave you speechless for just the presentation alone! Always fantastic and the best time to share the days adventure plans with the other guests. We usually stay 8 nights there and the common thing we hear from other travelers is they are always wishing they could have stayed longer at the Guest House. One stay and you will be convinced. If you are shopping for accomodations, do not pass up this chance.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Islandlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okanagan-Shuswap, B.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2007

We will recommend the Aloha Guest House (AGH) to family and friends. The many positive comments we read on "Trip Advisor.com" led us to choose AGH. The setting is quiet and rural: small coffee farms and cloud forest at 1500 ft. elevation. The location is close to many fine south Kona experiences, services and friendly local people. We stayed 6 nights at AGH and explored some of the big island's amazing diversity from this comfortable base. Owners Greg and Johanne were great hosts, chefs and adventure advisors. Mango eagerly joined us on early morning walks. Creative breakfasts and shared stories with fellow travelers/guests made for a good start to each day.

  • Liked — Quiet rural setting and friendly owners
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank XCskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
17.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
41.1 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
396 reviews
37.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
29.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Guest House

Property: Aloha Guest House
Address: 84-4780 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually elegant, secluded, relaxed atmosphere with panoramic ocean views. Five guest rooms with private baths, premium linens, HDTV with DirecTV satellite programing. Generous fresh organic breakfasts sourced locally from Aloha Guest House's own fruit farm, farmer's markets, or the local natural food store; served with organic 100% Kona coffee. Snorkel gear, beach umbrellas, ice coolers available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Guest House Hotel Captain Cook
Aloha Guest House Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing