We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloha Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$174
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$160
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$216
US$205
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$176
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$1,205
US$925
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village(Kailua-Kona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort(Kailua-Kona)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
368
35
4
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
35
4
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstobacco roadshared lanaimangowheel driveother guestsb bthe big islandkona coffeebumpy roadfruit treesgo slowan adventurehigh clearancewonderful hostseach morningsnorkel gearaccess road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This guest house is perched high in the hills with a beautiful view of the west coast.Lee and Svetlana are wonderful hosts. They are very friendly,knowledgeable of the area and so personable. The rooms are gorgeous. The breakfast is to die for. Svetlana varies her breakfasts from savory one day to something sweet the next day.Most of the food is organic or fresh from their property.Their coffee was probably the best we had on the island.Lee can explain it to you.
Now there is only ONE catch. The .97 mile drive up the Old Tobacco Road!!! The almost one mile drive up Tobacco Road is well worth it. Once you have driven it, it is a piece of cake.The reward is the accommodations,the company and the food.We were only there for two nights. The next time we go it will be a much longer stay!
Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdabroad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here July 19-22, 2013. We actually missed a whole day here because we got bumped from our flight. Lee was very understanding and sympathetic.

The Aloha is about 15 minutes south of Captain Cook, and about an hour from KOA airport, 45 from Kona city. Keep this in mind. We planned on seeing more in the Kona area, but since we lost a day it was simply too much driving. So every trip away had to be planned.

The driveway/road to the Aloha is very intimidating AT FIRST, after a couple of times it doesn't seem as bad. It's bumpy, steep in places, has sharp turns, and is only one lane and gets muddy when it rains. It was pouring down rain when we went up the first time-- so we couldn't see well. I put the Jeep in 4WD just in case (the rest of the time I left it in 2WD). My wife and I were thinking "there's no way we can do this. . . What were we thinking staying way out here!?!" It takes 5 minutes (at a fast pace) to get up/down the driveway.

Once you have conquered the driveway the AGH is worth it! The bedrooms are great, the common areas are inviting and useful. Most of the other reviewers have covered a lot of this already.

Some of the other stuff---the coffee Lee has available to you ANY TIME is 100% Kona, small batch, roasted fresh, and $35/lb. It's probably the best coffee you'll ever have. They have a large selection of snorkel gear, water shoes, boogie boards beach mats, towels, etc. So there's no need to bring your own.

Lee and Svetlana have managed the B & B since December 2012-- so any review PRIOR to that (regarding the service) is no longer valid.

It's a great place to get away and relax. Unfortunately not very much relaxing was in our schedule-- D'OH! Probably not the best place for kids under 10 or so.

The big island (even more so than the other Hawaiian islands) is on "Island Time"-- I'm not talking about the time zone-- I'm talking about how everything seems to move at it's own pace. Everything from traffic to the service at the restaurants is SLOW! We were dozing (due to the time change) at our empty plates at a restaurant waiting for out bill to finally come, which took some prodding of the waiter, and it was this way at every restaurant we visited. We aren't huge food "experience" people- so sitting in a restaurant for more than an hour is (in our minds) a waste of time. So don't plan on a quick dinner. We missed two sunsets waiting on the bill.

Overall the AGH is a great B&B and the hosts are awesome! Just rent a SUV or Jeep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Wow!!! Aloha Guest House Bed and Breakfast is excellent! My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in mid June 2013 at the start of 2wks on the Big Island, and this is definitely the best place to start - or stay - for an entire visit to Hawai'i. It was so nice being up at the higher elevation where the climate is a bit cooler and more comfortable.
Lee & Svetlana are wonderful hosts! Very pleasant, friendly and personable.
We loved the breakfasts each morning, homemade with the freshest local and organic ingredients and usually many items right from the property!! We savored the conversation too, hearing stories from Lee & Svetlana as well as fellow guests.
Another note about breakfast - the coffee is absolutely delicious! and Svetlana creates the most beautiful dishes, alternating each morning with a sweet and a savory offering.

If you want to just kick back and relax there is the restorative Lanai or take a stroll around the beautiful property. Also, great snorkeling and dining is very close.

Many folks have commented on the driveway, but let me assure you, the directions you will receive from Lee are excellent to the letter. While it is advisable to rent a high clearance vehicle, it is by no means a necessity. The first time up, the driveway will be somewhat of an adventure. Just take it slow and carefully follow Lee's directions and you'll be fine (you might even find yourself laughing when you finally arrive!).

We hope to visit again, and we might even bring some friends. Save us a room!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The trip up the almost mile long driveway is worth it!!! Not sure what we loved the most, Svetlana's cooking, the grounds, or the awesome view of the sunset. Lee and Svetlana truly treat you as guests to their home and are happy to share everything with you. We enjoyed long conversations over breakfast and were sad that our stay was only 2 nights. We stayed at a combination of bed & breakfasts and hotels during our stay on the islands and nothing compared with staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Amazing views, amazing food, amazing couple. The guest house is a beautiful and serene home away from home. My GF and I are and giant food snobs and every breakfast was delicious and inventive. The views are great and the property is beautiful.

There is a bumpy rocky road up the hill to the house but it is not dangerous and adds to the sense of adventure. Rent a jeep, you'll want one anyway.

The location is great, very close to hiking snorkeling and beaches.

Lee and Svetlana were pleasure to get to know and offered tons of great advice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casaubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews