We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like living on a plantation amidst the fruit trees”
Review of Aloha Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 December 2013

By B&B standards, this one is unusual. Perched on the top of the hill that can only be reached by a one mile somewhat difficult road, the best rooms have a gorgeous view down through the trees to the ocean and the Pu'uhonua o Honaunau National Historic Park. Now, the road up can be daunting the first time, as you're driving on a country road not well maintained in some areas, but you don't need a 4WD--just a cautious approach to non-city driving.

Lee and Svetlana are very gracious, laid-back hosts who spend most of their time caring for their trees, property, and animals up the hill so they're almost always there. Svetlana makes a fantastic breakfast. There is also a small kitchenette where you can store some food and small refrigerators in the rooms. It's possible to use the grill downstairs and you have access to hte washing machine as well. They have a stock of snorkeling gear, boogie boards, and beach mats and chair to borrow.

You have a choice of rooms and there is a Lanai (enclosed balcony) that links most of them. We chose one of them with the best view, the Halawi Room, which has a view of the South Kona beachline right from the double canopied bed. My sister upgraded from a room that did not have a view of the ocean to the Kohola Room which does and was extremely happy to wake up in the middle of trees and listening to birds chirping.

This was a very relaxing stay, and we didn't move out very quickly in the mornings to do our touring since we were so enjoying the stay--it's more like overnighting in someone's home. It's centrally located and we managed to visit all the sites in South Kona that we wanted to see, as well as go snorkeling to see the manta rays.

Room Tip: If you want the view of the ocean, pay more for the Halawi or Kohala Room. There is also a complete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfuller603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Beautiful views and accommodations I woke up in a canopied king sized bed to see the world all the way to the sea past my feet! Breakfasts were amazing. Next time I would stay more than 2 nights. Lee and Svetlana are fabulous hosts!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with the view down the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanM92107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The road to Aloha Guest House is one of the best things about the place. Especially on a mountain bike. Up and down. You don't need a break, you need exercise. And this is a great place to get it. There is terrific bike riding, hiking, swimming and snorkeling right outside the door. With one of Svetlana's many incredible breakfasts under your belt you can go all day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highdivide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Aloha Guest House is a beautiful bed and breakfast that made our trip to the big island wonderful. The hosts Lee and Svetlana were welcoming and warm hosts. Yes, the drive up the hill through coffee fields, beautiful trees and flowers is like a country road in some parts. We drove in non-4WD SUV and if you take it slow, you will be fine. The view from the top, the scenery and vegetation is more than worth it to make the drive.

Our room was the Honu room which is the Hawaiian word for turtle. We had a small kitchenette with sink, fridge, plates and silverware. We got to see all the other rooms which were clean and stylishly decorated in the tropical style. Our room was larger and had room to spread out and a door that opened onto the lanai where you can sit on tropical furniture, listen to the rain or enjoy the view. It's quiet and peaceful well away from the touristy Kona hotels.

The breakfasts are on the top floor which also has an amazing view. The fresh Kona coffee that you can make yourself was fabulous that we would drink several cups for breakfast and when we came back. Svetlana's breakfast was so yummy with local fruit. Bananas grow right there which you can take with you out on your excursions. Lee and Svetlana grow some of their other fruits and vegetables, have chickens and the B&B is very eco-conscious.

The location is perfect to explore any part of the island. They have all the items you might need to explore, snorkels, masks, coolers, beach towels, etc. The B&B is about 20 minutes out from Kona and many of the local restaurants close around 6-6:30pm. One restaurant Keei was open later and the food is amazing especially the fish. Mike and Nancy who filled in for Lee and Svetlana a few days after arrived were equally wonderful hosts.

We would stay here again and recommend it for anyone coming to the Big Island for a unique place to stay.

Room Tip: Loved the Honu room but all are cute
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A and S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I'm a 41-year old professional female originally from Seattle and currently residing in Oahu. I really enjoyed this B&B - and this comes from someone who had never stayed at one before! I live in Honolulu and had done plenty of staycations in big hotels and resorts on Kauai and Oahu, but I wanted something smaller and less "touristy" for the big island and I needed to stay in Captain Cook area so this place was great.

Yes, the driveway ride up to the B&B is a little "rustic" and bumpy, but I did it fine in a rented sedan. The driveway ride would've been actually fun if I had a jeep lol.

The rooms are all realllllly super clean and pretty. The bathroom water is SUPER hot and the shared kitchenette downstairs has everything you need and there's even a grill outside if you want. And they've also got a lot of beach stuff for you to use so you don't have to rent stuff like snorkeling gear, bug spray, aloe, etc. Pretty cool. And the food and coffee they serve is insanely good The lanais are all very pretty and really relaxing so when you go out and about the island during the day you can come back to a very chill atmosphere.

Also, the owners were really sweet in working with me on a reservation mistake that I had made weeks before getting there, and they went to great lengths to help me out and I KNOW for a fact that if I had stayed at a big hotel through priceline or hotwire or something I would've been screwed.

So it's not the place if you're coming with a bunch of little kids and you want a big pool and big restaurants. This is more of the grown-up friends or chill couples to go to big island and pay a reasonable price for someplace super clean and stylish without the big resort stuff but still includes a lot of great little amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cccc206808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

It was everything we had hoped for and more. Once you get here, you will wish you had booked more time. The directions Lee gave were perfect, and the drive up the hill was part of the adventure. If you complain about the road, then you have no fun spirit! It actually added a special element to the wonderful trip! Kinda like following a treasure map.The entire house is amazing, beautiful, comfy, peaceful. Lee and Svetlana are such great hosts, meeting each and every guest at the entrance upon arrival. They gave a tour of the whole house, and tended to every creature comfort you might need. We liked having access to the small kitchen downstairs so we could take advantage of the local "fruit stand" (although I would call it more a of mini farmers market, which had some incredible local finds!) down the road and have a bbq overlooking the ocean and the neighboring coffee plantation at sunset. It was so perfect and inspiring that we got engaged right there on the hilltop watching a golden blazing sunset as our bbq feast sizzled in the background! That is something we will always hold dear. Its a private paradise there! We had the Kohala room and yes,the view is incredible, as you wake up facing a full open sweeping ocean view, the bed super comfy and roomy. Why would anyone want to leave the room? Except for the wonderful breakfasts Svetlana dreamed up; and the "frothy goodness" as Lee refers to the coffee! I want one of those coffee makers! Each cup is brewed freshly ground estate grown coffee. wow. I cant say enough great things about our stay, Lee and Svetlana, and the great company there are. We did go to the restaurants they suggested, and the food and atmosphere just lended more romance and inspiration. Truly wonderful. They are right on, they know how to treat their guests, and know how to provide a welcoming happy stay for their visitors. I almost wanted to keep this place a secret for ourselves, but that would not be right. Go there. You will see. We are defiitely coming back! Thanks for all L&S and we hope to see you again soon! Dave and Carole

Room Tip: We had the Kohala Room but peeked in the other rooms (not occupied, of coourse) - they are all beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnbtraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay very mutch. From the first contact till our departure svetlana and lee gave us the feeling of beeing very welcome. So as our stay truly was! All around us just made us slow down an feel how quiet all can be, if we are just on the right place. Watching the sunsets every evening to say thanks for an other peacfull day on big Island. We like to say svetlana and lee thanks very mutch from our heart for making our stay so exiting with a perfect start in the day with the local estate coffee taste nowhere as good as there, and top on it with an exiting breakfast, we've never eaten befor! Just to recomend it to everybody!
Mahalo for that exiting stay!
Angela and Roger

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 76,437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
5.8 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
299 reviews
41.9 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
718 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
594 reviews
52.6 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
29.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Guest House

Address: 84-4780 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8402
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: £90 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually elegant, secluded, relaxed atmosphere with panoramic ocean views. Five guest rooms with private baths, premium linens, HDTV with DirecTV satellite programing. Generous fresh organic breakfasts sourced locally from Aloha Guest House's own fruit farm, farmer's markets, or the local natural food store; served with organic 100% Kona coffee. Snorkel gear, beach umbrellas, ice coolers available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Guest House Hotel Captain Cook
Aloha Guest House Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing