We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Gracious Hospitality”
Review of Aloha Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wilmette, Illinois
2 reviews
“Awesome Gracious Hospitality”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Aloha Guest House deserves its certificate of excellence. Our first visit to the Big Island was made more enjoyable because of our experience there. Our room was beautifully appointed and the view was breathtaking. Host and Hostess Lee and Svetlana are gracious and accommodating.They shared info and offered helpful sightseeing tips. Using fresh and organic ingredients Svetlana prepares the best breakfast on the island! We enjoyed our stay tremendously and would certainly go back! Follow directions to the top of the hill, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti and Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    33
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
296
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A fabulous find on the Big Island. My husband and I normally stay in small boutique hotels and don't usually opt for B&B style accommodation, so were thrilled to have had such a memorable experience at Aloha Guest House. We loved everything about the place, there was nothing to fault, from the first email contact I had with Lee to the very clear instructions on how to find them. Lee and Svetlana are fabulous hosts, genuinely lovely people and had thought of everything a traveller to their part of the world would need. The breakfasts were the best we had in three weeks in Hawaii, I will go back for that alone. The view from the house and our room was fabulous. One trip up the road to the house is all you need to get used to it. The restaurants in the local area that Lee and Svetlana recommended to us were superb. We spent a day at the beach that Lee recommended and showed us in detail how to get to so there would be no confusion and chance of getting lost. We purchased things to take for lunch at the fruit shack Lee told us about and kept it cold with an ice pack that Svetlana provided (as I mentioned they have everything a traveller might need). Our experience of this part of the Big Island was certainly made far more enjoyable for having stayed at Aloha Guest House.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Lee and Svetlana are congenial and gracious hosts. Lee kindly waited up until midnight when our flight to HI arrived late. Svetlana’s breakfasts are lovely; they changed from day to day and were “introduced” by Lee with a full explanation of where the contents came from - often their own yard. When we needed to make a 6:00 am departure for a whale-watching cruise, Svetlana prepared a packed breakfast of home-made banana bread and home-grown bananas. We enjoyed her lilikoi spread and sour cherry jam so much that we purchased some to bring home, though we ate up all the sour cherry jam while staying in rental cottages over the subsequent few days. The lilikoi we saved until back in Canada so as to enjoy the tropical flavor in the Alberta winter.

The “road” from Highway 11 up to the Aloha Guest House is “exactly 0.96 mile” (according to Lee’s directions), bumpy, rutted, twisted, and steep, but no problem for a 4-wheel drive SUV and probably also fine for a 2WD with sufficient clearance. Aloha Guest House is the last and highest place on the road, and it has a magnificent view of the coast and ocean. Lee and Svetlana said they do the drive to the highway in 7 minutes, but even on our fourth day we were taking 10 minutes, whether going up or down, so it pays to be sure everything is loaded in the vehicle before heading out on the day’s activities.

Due to the steepness and condition of the road, early risers have somewhat limited opportunities for a morning walk while waiting until the 8:00 am breakfast time. Going to the hen coop to listen to the gentle clucking filled in some of our time - yes, that means fresh eggs for breakfast.

Room Tip: The Halawai room overlooks the ocean and has direct access to a shared lanai.
See more room tips
Green Features: Solar-heated hot water system provided an adequate supply of hot water.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailRGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights. First, disregard any review written before October, 2012. If you read the reviews that rate Aloha less than Excellent, you will find that they are all earlier. Lee and Svetlana bought Aloha just 12 months ago and really turned things around ! Second, the rooms are very comfortable - pay the extra for the rooms with a view down the mountain. Use of the washer/drier is also a real plus for those on a longer trip - not many B & Bs offer this type of facility (although I do not know why). Third, the breakfasts were excellent - Svetlana really goes out of her way to cook and present everything beautifully. Since we are not beach people (even though we spent three and half weeks touring four of Hawaii's islands), I cannot comment on the beach equipment provided.

OK, here's the "but" .... make no mistake, the road up is rough, steep and narrow. Lee and Svetlana are acutely aware of this "problem" and their detailed instructions for tackling the road certainly lay it all out for their guests. While some other reviewers found the road "exciting" or "an adventure" or even hilarious, I think it helps to really know what you are in for. I will add a couple of "tips" - (1) get there before dark the first time you drive it, (2) rent a high clearance vehicle (as they recommend). Even though they also told us that guests have driven Mustang convertibles and Minis up the road, I really think you are risking serious damage to a regular sedan and we were really glad we had a 4WD vehicle, and (3) plan your day to minimize the trips up and down - especially if you plan to go to the beach or out to dinner. Would we go back ? Probably, but not without a 4WD vehicle.

Room Tip: See main review
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

By B&B standards, this one is unusual. Perched on the top of the hill that can only be reached by a one mile somewhat difficult road, the best rooms have a gorgeous view down through the trees to the ocean and the Pu'uhonua o Honaunau National Historic Park. Now, the road up can be daunting the first time, as you're driving on a country road not well maintained in some areas, but you don't need a 4WD--just a cautious approach to non-city driving.

Lee and Svetlana are very gracious, laid-back hosts who spend most of their time caring for their trees, property, and animals up the hill so they're almost always there. Svetlana makes a fantastic breakfast. There is also a small kitchenette where you can store some food and small refrigerators in the rooms. It's possible to use the grill downstairs and you have access to hte washing machine as well. They have a stock of snorkeling gear, boogie boards, and beach mats and chair to borrow.

You have a choice of rooms and there is a Lanai (enclosed balcony) that links most of them. We chose one of them with the best view, the Halawi Room, which has a view of the South Kona beachline right from the double canopied bed. My sister upgraded from a room that did not have a view of the ocean to the Kohola Room which does and was extremely happy to wake up in the middle of trees and listening to birds chirping.

This was a very relaxing stay, and we didn't move out very quickly in the mornings to do our touring since we were so enjoying the stay--it's more like overnighting in someone's home. It's centrally located and we managed to visit all the sites in South Kona that we wanted to see, as well as go snorkeling to see the manta rays.

Room Tip: If you want the view of the ocean, pay more for the Halawi or Kohala Room. There is also a complete...
See more room tips
Green Features: well thought through. Water is captured from the rain. Receptacles are available for recycling. Shampoos are ecology sensitive.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfuller603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Beautiful views and accommodations I woke up in a canopied king sized bed to see the world all the way to the sea past my feet! Breakfasts were amazing. Next time I would stay more than 2 nights. Lee and Svetlana are fabulous hosts!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with the view down the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanM92107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The road to Aloha Guest House is one of the best things about the place. Especially on a mountain bike. Up and down. You don't need a break, you need exercise. And this is a great place to get it. There is terrific bike riding, hiking, swimming and snorkeling right outside the door. With one of Svetlana's many incredible breakfasts under your belt you can go all day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highdivide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
17.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
41.1 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
399 reviews
37.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
29.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Guest House

Property: Aloha Guest House
Address: 84-4780 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually elegant, secluded, relaxed atmosphere with panoramic ocean views. Five guest rooms with private baths, premium linens, HDTV with DirecTV satellite programing. Generous fresh organic breakfasts sourced locally from Aloha Guest House's own fruit farm, farmer's markets, or the local natural food store; served with organic 100% Kona coffee. Snorkel gear, beach umbrellas, ice coolers available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Guest House Hotel Captain Cook
Aloha Guest House Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing