We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloha Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Captain Cook
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Sea Village Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Tiki Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
368
35
4
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
35
4
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstobacco roadshared lanaimangowheel driveother guestsb bthe big islandkona coffeebumpy roadfruit treesgo slowan adventurehigh clearancewonderful hostseach morningsnorkel gearaccess road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Aloha Guest House is a beautiful gem in a little corner of paradise. Lee and Svetlana "took us in" when we had water problems in our rented house. They had other plans for the weekend but changed them just for us! We were initially grateful then realized we were given a gift by fate! The Aloha House was simply wonderful---the setting was marvelous with an ocean view from high on the hill over Captain Cook. Surrounded by fruit orchards, the stillness is only broken by birdsong and the occasional braying of the feral donkeys. A flock of friendly, free-ranging hens provided us with the very freshest eggs for our breakfasts. Svetlana's breakfasts were tasty, healthy, and unusual. The coffee was exceptional! Our rooms had great views and accessed a screened lanai that simply beckoned one with a good book to linger on late into the evening. This is a B&B that we can imagine going back to again and again. The road up the side of the hill can be off-putting but at the top of the road is a treasure!

Room Tip: All of these rooms are beautiful, a good size, and beautifully appointed
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PT_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We LOVED our stay at Aloha Guest House. Lee and Svetlana will treat you like family. Our room had the most amazing view of the ocean and we loved the attached lanai. Svetlana's breakfasts were terrific and the coffee...need I say more. Don't let the drive up fool you - this is an excellent accommodation!

Room Tip: Our bed in the Horizon room looked right at the ocean!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barlar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Aloha Guest House deserves its certificate of excellence. Our first visit to the Big Island was made more enjoyable because of our experience there. Our room was beautifully appointed and the view was breathtaking. Host and Hostess Lee and Svetlana are gracious and accommodating.They shared info and offered helpful sightseeing tips. Using fresh and organic ingredients Svetlana prepares the best breakfast on the island! We enjoyed our stay tremendously and would certainly go back! Follow directions to the top of the hill, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti and Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A fabulous find on the Big Island. My husband and I normally stay in small boutique hotels and don't usually opt for B&B style accommodation, so were thrilled to have had such a memorable experience at Aloha Guest House. We loved everything about the place, there was nothing to fault, from the first email contact I had with Lee to the very clear instructions on how to find them. Lee and Svetlana are fabulous hosts, genuinely lovely people and had thought of everything a traveller to their part of the world would need. The breakfasts were the best we had in three weeks in Hawaii, I will go back for that alone. The view from the house and our room was fabulous. One trip up the road to the house is all you need to get used to it. The restaurants in the local area that Lee and Svetlana recommended to us were superb. We spent a day at the beach that Lee recommended and showed us in detail how to get to so there would be no confusion and chance of getting lost. We purchased things to take for lunch at the fruit shack Lee told us about and kept it cold with an ice pack that Svetlana provided (as I mentioned they have everything a traveller might need). Our experience of this part of the Big Island was certainly made far more enjoyable for having stayed at Aloha Guest House.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Lee and Svetlana are congenial and gracious hosts. Lee kindly waited up until midnight when our flight to HI arrived late. Svetlana’s breakfasts are lovely; they changed from day to day and were “introduced” by Lee with a full explanation of where the contents came from - often their own yard. When we needed to make a 6:00 am departure for a whale-watching cruise, Svetlana prepared a packed breakfast of home-made banana bread and home-grown bananas. We enjoyed her lilikoi spread and sour cherry jam so much that we purchased some to bring home, though we ate up all the sour cherry jam while staying in rental cottages over the subsequent few days. The lilikoi we saved until back in Canada so as to enjoy the tropical flavor in the Alberta winter.

The “road” from Highway 11 up to the Aloha Guest House is “exactly 0.96 mile” (according to Lee’s directions), bumpy, rutted, twisted, and steep, but no problem for a 4-wheel drive SUV and probably also fine for a 2WD with sufficient clearance. Aloha Guest House is the last and highest place on the road, and it has a magnificent view of the coast and ocean. Lee and Svetlana said they do the drive to the highway in 7 minutes, but even on our fourth day we were taking 10 minutes, whether going up or down, so it pays to be sure everything is loaded in the vehicle before heading out on the day’s activities.

Due to the steepness and condition of the road, early risers have somewhat limited opportunities for a morning walk while waiting until the 8:00 am breakfast time. Going to the hen coop to listen to the gentle clucking filled in some of our time - yes, that means fresh eggs for breakfast.

Room Tip: The Halawai room overlooks the ocean and has direct access to a shared lanai.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailRGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews