We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Hideaway setting,”
Review of Aloha Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Romantic Hideaway setting,”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at Aloa Guest House June 11-15th 2013, It was our 25th Wedding anniversary, such an adventure just to get to the B&B, but when we got there it was WOW, The hosts Lee and Svetlana are amazing, friendly, make you feel right at home, Svetlana's breakfast were to die for, all with a Russian/USA twist, often using fruit grown in the grounds of their garden. Free roaming chickens provide fresh eggs to compliment the fresh baked cakes/omelettes finished off with fresh ground Kona coffee from Lee's super Swiss coffee machine, Each mornings breakfast was a surprise and an adventure in its own right and they came and ate with you round one big table. They gave us lots of advise on where to go and what to see, lots of stories about the Island. We could come and go when we liked and had a little kitchen down stairs and our room was out of this world, with stunning views and sunsets. Couldn't have asked for anything else to make our Anniversary so complete. Anybody who visits Big Island must go this stunning B&B and the grounds full of fruit trees and flowers. My husband & I (Bev & Steve) want to go back to Hawaii for our 30th anniversary, staying at the Aloa guest house is at the top of our list especially to see Lee & Svetlana. Such amazing people and stunning location. Thanks Guys, hope your business is successful for many many years. xx

Room Tip: The access road is daunting the first time but after a few days is child's play. Be very carefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    33
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
291
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lee and Svetlana are warm and welcoming innkeepers. The view of the blue Pacific from their 1500 ft. altitude property greeted us every morning when we awoke. Also the grounds of the inn are especially lovely with plumeria, hibiscus, and other flowering bushes surrounding the house.
We enjoyed touring the fruit trees and meeting the hens--Rhode Island Reds--who enjoyed Svetlana's pancakes as much as the guests did! The breakfasts are wonderful and creative and include fruits straight from their grounds.
The road up to the inn is fine, though rough in places--and you get to see wild turkeys, coffee trees, and more flowers!

Green Features: We've stayed in other "green hotels" in Europe, and the Aloha Guest House is much more environmentally conscious than others we've experienced. It was great to know we were staying somewhere that was very committed to preserving, conserving, and protecting precious resources.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had the most wonderful 3 night stay at the Aloha Guest House, on our first trip to Hawaii as part of our honeymoon. Lee and Svetlana made sure we had an experience we will never forget. We'd just spent a week snowboarding in Canada and were in need of some r&r - we certainly achieved that thanks to Lee and Svetlana. Lee helped us plan our itinerary - which was just what we needed – no thinking involved! All the activities/beaches/restaurants/food places (and smoothie and sushi places – da poke shack especially) were amazing and really showcased this side of the island. It was so nice to get off the ‘tourist track’ and get a real feel for the island. We went on to spend 2 nights in Volcano – not necessary as we could have done the whole island based at the Aloha. Svetlana’s organic breakfasts require a special mention – the food and local produce was just wonderful – very different to Scotland’s produce! Mmm pancakes with bananas and macadamia nuts. We’re now hooked on kona coffee – and having withdrawal symptoms already! We brought back some liliko’i butter and Surinam cherry jam to Scotland and it’s been a taste of heaven. The Guest House itself was just amazing – our room with the ocean view was stunning. Seeing a moon set every morning is something we’ll never see again. We really enjoyed getting to know Lee and Svetlana (and all the animals!)And it was great to meet the other guests over breakfast and hear stories of their visit. Another perk was having use of the snorkelling gear and we made very good use of the cool bags when taking our picnic to the beach. Lee and Svetlana really live ‘the life’ – not without a lot of hard work, but this really pays off. You have something special going on here. I really hope one day we can return.

Green Features: It's clear that this is at the forefront (quite rightly) of Lee and Svetlana’s vision for everyday living– a real education (and one that other B&Bs/hotels etc could learn from).
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The views and the hospitality of Lee and Svetlana really make this a wonderful place. Breakfasts were delicious and the hosts are gracious with the wonderful variety of fruits grown on their grounds. The driveway is passable (don't need a 4WD). It's worth the drive and there is easy access to great snorkeling, views, National Parks and restaurants.

Room Tip: Halawai Room has a queen bed facing the ocean; can't beat the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great place with great hosts and great breakfasts. The road up to the house is actually pretty fun to drive, and in fact it adds to the overall feel of being high up and a bit secluded while overlooking the ocean below. Great sunsets as well. Bedrooms and bathrooms were clean with updated and nice fixtures, and there's plenty of stuff you can borrow for day trips - snorkeling gear, boogie boards, beach chairs and umbrellas (recommended on sunny days!), and etc. There's even a grill to use if you feel like staying in one night and cooking up your own meal.

The hosts know the area well and are good at informing about places to go and things to do as well as the history of the island.

If I'm fortunate enough to ever get back to the Big Island, I would stay here for sure. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbryson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osoyoos, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I spent 10 days on the Big Island, the last three nights here at the Aloha Guest House. An outstanding B&B on all fronts. Away from the busy roads near Captain Cook, but the location was perfect to explore many of the local beaches. Tobacco Road was a bit bumpy in places, but nothing 2WD car could not handle. We stayed in the Aloha room, and that is the spirit we felt from the moment we arrived. Lee and Svetlana were very gracious hosts, and Svetlana made the most wonderful breakfasts. The extras available on site - chairs, boogie boards, snorkels and fins, coolers, BBQ - were greatly appreciated. Lee and Svetlana gave great advice on activities, beaches, and restaurants. We normally stay at B&B's when we travel, and this place is certainly one that we highly recommend to others who are staying on the Big Island - we certainly hope to have an opportunity to stay here again ourselves!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We just spent two great days at the Aloha Guest House with Lee and Svetlana, and wish we had more time there. The guest house itself is beautifully maintained with nice furnishings and updated fixtures, as well as a perfect mix of privacy and communal time (when wanted). The views are gorgeous and the entire property is available for guests to wander (and Lee and Svetlana will even take you along on their morning walk to feed the chickens, and will explain all of their fruit trees, etc. - probably accompanied by Gina the dachshund!). Svetlana makes incredible, huge breakfasts, and Lee and Svetlana are both super friendly, warm, and informative. (I've read the few old, not-so-glowing reviews of this place, and it's important to note that they referenced past owners/operators.) We had a great time and are already thinking of when we can go back. (About the road to the guest house - yes, it's bumpy, and yes, it probably feels safer in a 4X4, but fellow guests made it up in regular cars just fine.)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
17.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
40.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
29.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
37.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Guest House

Property: Aloha Guest House
Address: 84-4780 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually elegant, secluded, relaxed atmosphere with panoramic ocean views. Five guest rooms with private baths, premium linens, HDTV with DirecTV satellite programing. Generous fresh organic breakfasts sourced locally from Aloha Guest House's own fruit farm, farmer's markets, or the local natural food store; served with organic 100% Kona coffee. Snorkel gear, beach umbrellas, ice coolers available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Guest House Hotel Captain Cook
Aloha Guest House Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing