We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the view...”
Review of Aloha Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

It's all about the view and the food at this b&b. If these are your priorities for having a great stay, Aloha Guest House is the place for you. Lee & Svetlana are helpful hosts. Breakfast was different and delicious each day. For the best view, stay in the Kohala room. You will feel like you're floating on a cloud just above tree top level with a magnificent view of the ocean. The room is full of light from dawn to dusk.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Home away from home. That's how we can describe Aloha Guesthouse the best. We (Wiebe and Karlijn) from Holland had a really wonderful stay. If you sacrifice the road which is a little bumpy to ride but easily done with a regular car you will be rewarded with a stunning view, great hospitality, delicious breakfast and a very very comfortable room with of course a stunning view (read: nicest sunsets we have seen on the Hawaiian islands). We hope to come back in some years or meet Svetlana and Lee in Europe. Great couple. Great place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Wiebe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and we really enjoyed it! The owners, Svetlana & Lee put a lot of care and effort into their B&B and into ensuring you enjoy your stay! Their space & rooms are beautiful, the shared lanai was a real highlight both for the views and as a beautiful quiet santuacy to enjoy in the evening. The and the breakfast was delicious! The only thing to be aware of is the drive to their home once you get off the highway- is is daunting! We did in a mustang convertable, but I would highly recommended a 4x4 type vechicle and it will be a breeze and fun!

Room Tip: We choose the smallest/least expensive room as the shared the lani is large and a beautiful place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macaroni_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I traveled to the big island for our third trip to Hawaii (this time without our daughters). What a spectacular view to wake up to first thing in the morning. We stayed there for the entire trip and used it as our base of operations. I thought I had submitted this write up years back (actual trip in July 2010). A testament to just how special a place and owners of the Aloha Guest House were for me to recall our entire visit.

Room Tip: Your travel up the steep road may be a bit daunting, but not to worry, you will make it there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very enjoyable 2 night stay at the beginning of June 2014. The road up to the house is daunting at first so I would recommend arriving before dark just so that you can check it out. The turning into Tobacco Road is easily missed. Google maps says 1 minute to drive along Tobacco Road but allow 5 minutes and preferably look at a map first unless you have GPS. We had a Ford Focus & coped with the road okay. The hosts Lee and Svetlana are wonderful & made our last few days in Hawaii memorable. Great views from the breakfast table and some of the guest rooms. We were given a tour of a small part of the garden to see the source of the homegrown produce.

Room Tip: Ask about a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakewood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Aloha Guest House was our favorite stay (2 nights) during our week long vacation on the island of Hawaii. The grounds are charming and the views are gorgeous. Bed was super comfortable, and we appreciated all the guest amenities including towels, snorkel gear, cooler, laundry, and kitchen. Breakfast was delicious! And Lee & Svetlana are definitely the coolest innkeepers I've ever met.

The road up to the B&B is a rough and steep country road. The bumps are totally worth it to get to the best accommodations on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Aloha Guest House is a peaceful retreat overlooking the beautiful Hawaiian ocean with wonderful hosts. A ten minute drive down the hill to the main Captain Cook thoroughfare with lots of dining options (highly recommend grabbing Da Poke Shack poke to go and eating on the beautiful lanai at the guest house). The lanai and views were the best part and I could have sat all night reading on the porch. This is also a great location to visit the many beaches and snorkeling spots in Captain Cook. You are very close to the head of the trail to walk down to the Captain Cook monument (a hot but easy 3 miles down). Also right up the road from Two Steps (Honaunau state park) which is also excellent snorkeling.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
17.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
40.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.1 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
5.3 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
413 reviews
37.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Guest House

Address: 84-4780 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: £91 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually elegant, secluded, relaxed atmosphere with panoramic ocean views. Five guest rooms with private baths, premium linens, HDTV with DirecTV satellite programing. Generous fresh organic breakfasts sourced locally from Aloha Guest House's own fruit farm, farmer's markets, or the local natural food store; served with organic 100% Kona coffee. Snorkel gear, beach umbrellas, ice coolers available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Guest House Hotel Captain Cook
Aloha Guest House Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing