We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An serene, gorgeous retreat”
Review of Aloha Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 March 2007

For this family of serious travelers, our stay at the Aloha Guest House rates at the absolute summit of experiences approaching perfection. The setting is nothing short of spectacular; mornings begin with a gourmet breakfast overlooking the Pacific (as do two of the beautifully-appointed rooms). Our family had three rooms that gave onto a shared lanai space that was very generous and very carefully planned to provide the absolute maximum of privacy and comfortable spots for peaceful napping, birdwatching or novel-reading while perched above the extraordinary landscape which is Captain Cook and the City of Refuge. The rooms are outfitted with 1500 thread count sheets and lofty down comforters; the house is immaculate and open for guests to enjoy themselves in many different lovely spots. I can't say enough about how pleased we are to have stayed here. Next time we'll stay here the entire trip rather than only two nights. Thank you, Greg, for a jewel of an experience.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank queenbeatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2007

After attending a five day conference at the Hilton, the Aloha Guest House was a welcome site. Being from Oregon we are spoiled when it come to natural beauty. We were not disappointed in the lovely location high on the hill with fantasic sunsets, great breakfasts, charming hosts, and clean and nicely decorated rooms. Though the road up is a little crazy you get use to it as you decend for a day of activities. We ate in the local eateries that came recommended and found them all charming and well staffed. Though the setting is private you have access to the living area complete with computer/internet, the lani, and the grounds. Mango the dog will accompany you up the hill if you invite him for sunsets and cocktails. You can be as interactive with the other guests as you want -- or not. No one looking over your shoulder or being fussy. We would highly recommend the Aloha Guest House. If you like a smushy pillow though bring your own.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WELOVEOREGON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2007

This B&B is truly a gem. The views from the place are spectacular. The rooms are very lush and comfortable. The place is very close to all the local attractions, especially if you're into kayaking and snorkling. The breakfasts are the best I've ever tasted anywhere (with very generous portions too). The owners are very nice, friendly, and accommodating. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HonuHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2007

Let me start by saying that I am not the type of person who writes reviews. I'm private, hold my cards close to my chest, and I usually only share the good stuff with my friends and family. But I can't keep this one to myself.

You must experience the Aloha Guest House.

Start with the drive up the hill. The road is unpaved, narrow, and incredibly fun to drive. I realized early on in the short journey up the road, that my final destination at the top of the hill would be a truly special place. I was only partially right, because "special" isn't entirely accurate. Upon arrival I actually felt overwhelmed...that amazing feeling that you get from time to time, and always remember.

The setting is spectacular. The Guest House is nestled on the side of a hill, surrounded by trees with branches that sag with an abundance of fruit. The back yard is a large meadow which elevates above the house, asking for a picnic. The front yard is the view. It's overwhelming. It's everywhere. Arguably the best to be found on the island. All of this is covered with a blanket of peace and serenity that leaves no option but to clear your mind and appreciate the moment.

You won't need a thing when you visit the Aloha Guest House. The rooms are quaint, comfortable, beautifully decorated and very clean. Internet access, cable t.v., and dvd's are all at your disposal. Full snorkel gear and kayaks are available as well. You don't even need a swimsuit - the hot tub is clothing optional.

The breakfasts are outstanding...and big. I'm not an early riser, but I was sure to get up for breakfast. The food is prepared with the freshest ingredients available that day, and would not disappoint the pickiest or heartiest of eaters. The meal is shared by everyone in a communal setting, which makes for great conversation and story telling. It was not uncommon for the breakfast to carry on into the latter part of the morning, fueled by shared experiences, yesterday's adventures, and the coffee bar - rich in flavor, unlimited in quantity.

And, of course, there are the hosts: Johan, Lino, and Greg. They make the Aloha Guest House. Yes, they are warm, welcoming, charming, knowledgable, helpful and professional (and great cooks). But it is the three of them, together, that give the Aloha Guest House its unique character.

My experience at the Aloha Guest House was truly memorable.
You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kdaMonteSereno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2007

The advantages for the Aloha Guest House is that the veiw and furnishing are quite nice and about what we expected for the price. It was a very comfortable bed. Everything looked clean and impressive. The service was superb. Very quite and peaceful.

The hosts went beyond what is expected to make us feel welcome and even helped us pick movies to watch in our room. Wonderful coffee is available at all times. The house is up in the hills and has a wild feel to it, and is a short drive to the City of Refuge sights. Really cute family dog which helped pull in our bags when we arrived.

We stayed two days which was perfect. Very comfortable and nice accomodation.

However, what the others say about the drive up to the house is true. The view at the top is worth it. But, the "road" is a bit harrowing, especially in the dark. In fact coming back in pitch black one night, we thought we were headed up the wrong drive way and tried to turn around and hit some rocks and scaped the paint on the rental car bumper. We are still expecting to get the bill.

We brought back bar-b-que one night so we didn't have to manage he road in the dark. Places to eat are about 8 miles away and you will need to plan to the extra time to get there. Again, we wanted to stay up in the hills to see what is was like, of course we had to drive to dinner. Traffic on the main road was jamed at rush hour.

A notebook in the room says that guests are permitted to sun bath or use the hot tub in the nude. This is a gay friendly place.

We enjoyed our room and stay at the Guest House and a chance to explore rural Captain Cook area. Beautiful place.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank garjog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2007

During the day, our room had a gorgeous view of the south Kona coastline framed by plants on the B&B's property. At night, it was an inky black sky with stunning stars that you could see from bed.

There are lots of great things about the Aloha Guest House, but what I really loved was their stock of beach and snorkeling accessories. No need to bring beach towels or mats or fins or... even kayaks. They have them.

Everything else was great. Delicious breakfast. Super-friendly inn-keepers. A sweet dog named Mango.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2006

My husband and I recently spent four nights at the Aloha Guest House. Our room -- with canopied bed, high thread count sheets, and stunning view of the Pacific/Honaunau/Captain Cook's Monument -- far surpassed our expectations. Johann, Lino and Greg are fabulous hosts. Breakfast plates each day are creative, tasty and HUGE. And the coffee, roasted especially for the Guest House, well, let's just say we took advantage of the "open coffee bar" throughout our stay! We spent our mornings swapping stories with our hosts and other guests -- folks from all over the US/EU. We also enjoyed morning walks through the fruit trees with Mango, the resident pooch. Perhaps best of all, though, is the shared lanai. We caught a few sunsets and napped in the early evenings on the comfy daybed perched at the deck's edge. Very nice, indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenjen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
17.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
40.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
5.3 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
423 reviews
15.1 mi away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Guest House

Address: 84-4780 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8402
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: £86 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually elegant, secluded, relaxed atmosphere with panoramic ocean views. Five guest rooms with private baths, premium linens, HDTV with DirecTV satellite programing. Generous fresh organic breakfasts sourced locally from Aloha Guest House's own fruit farm, farmer's markets, or the local natural food store; served with organic 100% Kona coffee. Snorkel gear, beach umbrellas, ice coolers available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Guest House Hotel Captain Cook
Aloha Guest House Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing