We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Halemalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halemalu
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

It is 1 mile from the famous Manago hotel. The owner - Eric - is a great guys always available to help with information and tips. The cleanness of the place was impeccable and some of the rooms have a ocean view.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    11
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

A great place with a laid-back atmosphere. A diversity of guests made our stay enjoyable. The large common areas invite guest interaction. The facilities have all the amenities one could want for food preparation (if desired). However, there are several restaurants nearby. Follow directions to the facility carefully as it is off the main roadway.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetberries424242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at Halemalu for 3 nights in February, the retreat is secluded and very very peaceful. Upon arrival and seeing the outside of the building we weren't expecting too much but seeing the facilities on the inside completely changed our initial impression.

The rooms are basic but have everything you need, we stayed on the ground floor and had a lounge, 2 bedrooms (2nd bedroom had a futon) and the patio door led into the conservatory where there is a table tennis table - great fun it was too! There was a ceiling fan in the lounge.

The shared facilities are excellent, there is a large kitchen with a full oven and hob, a microwave, pots, pans, crockery, cutlery - everything you would need to prepare a meal. There is a fridge in your room and there are 2 fridges in the kitchen - 1 for guests items and the other for items to share.

There is a communal lounge area where there is a large screen tv (only one in the building). There is also a guest laundry which costs $1 to wash and $1 to dry, all detergent's are included in this cost.

Eric (the owner) is lovely, very friendly and helpful, he gave us a lot of information about what's good to do in the area - he is also very generous with the facilites on offer (kitchen was well stocked, lots of spices, condiments, tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc).

The free wifi access was very good, it was both reliable and fast.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Halemalu and would definitely do it again, the only negative I would have is that the shared facilities can be taken over by other guests and it is a bit annoying when the other guests do not clean up after themselves (that is not a criticism of Eric who does keep everything clean).

Halemalu provides safe, clean and value for money accommodation and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We had a family gathering here, and it worked well to rent the whole place. Eric is very generous with his stuff, especially in the kitchen. And the rooms are large. But we agree with another reviewer who said it needs basic cleaning and upkeep. It's a stretch to call it a Botanical Garden Estate. We couldn't use the screened in outside dining area because of mosquitos, so we just brought the tables and chairs inside.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandemaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Location is great - away from the hustle and bustle. Very clean and comfortable. Loved the space. Had the place to myself as a large party had just left. Eric is a very genial host and I'm sure would have been able to answer any questions, but I was only there 2 nights. Appreciated being able to use the computer. Thanks Eric - will recommend where I can. Would I stay here again? Definitely!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed in 10 places on our 5-week trip in Hawaii, and this was the only disappointment. Yes, the apartments are very spacious, much more so than a couple needs. However, basic cleaning and upkeep are substandard. The owner no longer is permitted to serve breakfast but guests can use the big kitchen. Eric is a good guy (he didn't blink about canceling 4 of the 5 days of our reservation after we'd stayed one night... I'm guessing that happens a lot) and is trying to develop a quality place, but he has too much to do by himself. Hiring help to clean and paint would definitely make this place more appealing. From the reviews, some people love this place, but it was too casual for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalemaluRetreat, Owner at Halemalu, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
So sorry to hear that you were not satisfied. We have been in operation for 3 years now and you are the first guests to have left us early because we didn't meet your standards. You stated that" Eric is a good guy (he didn't blink about canceling 4 of the 5 days of our reservation after we'd stayed one night... I'm guessing that happens a lot). I just want to say that it does not happen a lot as you were the first. Many of our guests end up staying longer as they appreciate the space and the value that we offer with our accommodations here at Halemalu.

It is my policy not to require a deposit and I have never charged a cancellation fee as I feel that sometimes plans change and it is important that my guests are satisfied with their stay. I didn't realize that you were unsatisfied with the accommodations, I thought you had a change in plans. Had I known I would have tried to "make things right" for you.

Yes we do offer a very casual atmosphere. Our facility is basic but clean. We are not the "Hilton" but most people like it that way.

I do appreciate your candid and honest review and I guess we can never satisfy everyone. However I felt it was important to let other TripAdvisor users hear my side of the situation.

Mahalo and Aloha.

Eric Jaeger
Owner - Halemalu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is a great place to stay, but it may not be for everyone. We stayed two nights while touring the Big Island. It is high above the coast, on a non paved driveway. The "neighborhood" is somewhat rustic, beautiful and quiet (although there were distant roosters crowing in the morning). The temperature was cool at night and nice in the day. The second floor "rooms" are actually two bed room apartments, with a large living room. Each unit has a refrigerator. The furnishings are plain, a bit worn, but clean. There is a lot of room to spread out and would offer great play space for families with children. The first floor has a nice living room and large kitchen. You may prepare simple meals in the kitchen and there is a nice assortment of fruit, breads, cereal and yogurt at breakfast. There are coolers to borrow and simple beach supplies. There are some family owned restaurants close by. The location is not that far from the Kailua-Kona area and is close to the Place of Refuge. You could stay here for a reasonable and do day-trips. The owner Eric, is very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
11.4 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
11.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
10.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halemalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halemalu

Property: Halemalu
Address: 81-2026 Haku Nui Rd., Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halemalu 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Big Island of Hawaii on the beautiful Kona coast, Halemalu has become a world premier individual, family, or group vacation rental property. The Halemalu Estate Villa is situated on a private five acre Botanical Garden Estate in Captain Cook and is ready to welcome you or your group. Our two bedroom suites offer a better value and are far more spacious compared to any hotel, lodge, inn or bed & breakfast. Plus our facilities are designed to accommodate all of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Halemalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halemalu Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing