We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Halemalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halemalu
Reviewed 13 November 2010

WOW,, so amazing. I had such a wonderful time in hawaii.. and stayed at Halemalu made it more amazing. I looked forward to breakfast every morning. Suezette made our breakfast enjoyable every morning. fresh fruit, and spreads for our breads and other wonderful food that i wish i could of brought back home to WA state so my family could enjoy it too. We are looking forward to going back and staying here again!!! thank you again eric and suezette.. u guys made us feel like family!! we loved it there each day and looking forward to coming back!!! :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awnreangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2010

My wife and I started our week long vacation on the Big Island with a 3-day stay in Halemalu. This was one of the best B&B we ever stayed in.
The place is on top of a hill, with a wonderful view of the ocean. We were expecting a double room, but were pleasantly surprised to find a 2 bed-room apartment with a balcony.
The morning breakfast was the highlight of the stay. Every morning the apartment manager picked fresh fruits from the garden (part of the B&B) and laid them for breakfast. The manager herself is a delightful person, helped us with trip planning and just about anything we wanted to know.

The place itself is wonderful, but the staff is what makes this place super. Thanks to them our stay in Hawaii started on the right note.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anishpatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Let's start by making it clear tat Halemalu is not 'specialty lodging' as described by Trip Adviser. This is a Bed & Breakfast, a very new one, and one of the most unique that I have had the pleasure to spend time at. It deserves a detailed review so that you readers can make an informed choice, rather than an inspired guess like me.
When I first pulled up to the property I had a moment of pause. It didn't look like the B&B's I am accustomed to--more like, well, a boarding school. That's what it used to be. However, after five quiet, comfortable nights in the care of Eric and Suzette I was reminded of the old adage; it's what's on the inside that counts. But I digress.
Let's start with location. Halemalu sits high over Captain Cook, over 1,600 feet above Kealakekua Bay, (which took a patient Suzette five days to teach me how to pronounce.) It's climate is mild and fresh, with only the occasional vog drifting from distant Kilauea.
To reach it from the main highway involves driving up three side streets to a steep private road, more like a twin set of paved tracks. No loud traffic or late night tire drifting in this neighborhood. It sits on several acres of cultivated land containing, I was to learn, numerous varieties of fresh fruit and flora. It is bordered by a macadamia farm and other small cultivated properties. It's rural, but only fifteen minutes drive from Kailua-Kona town, and only a couple of minutes from a variety of local businesses down the hill, so it's hardly remote.
The guest rooms themselves are all in a large peaked roof building. From the building's size I thought there would be eight or ten separate guest quarters inside. Instead, there were just four to five on two floors. By good fortune I was given my choice and picked one of the two with upstairs ocean views. And they weren't just rooms--they were privates residences. Mine had a large living room and dining area, a main bedroom, a guest room, bath, and a twenty foot covered balcony. All were modestly appointed, being this is still a very new B&B, but everything was clean and comfortable, if not plush. I expected to spend about nine hours a day in my rooms, mostly asleep, so the bed was of primary concern. I was rewarded with a comfortable queen mattress and almost no house noise. In fact, they might want to consider ceiling fans in the bedrooms, not to keep cool but to drown out the silence. One night it was so quiet, I heard the distant shish of a passing shower that never reached the property. Only morning roosters and distant dogs mingled with the peace. Well, maybe one little earthquake but who's counting.
Each evening Suzette asked me my plans and prepared a breakfast based on them. Some mornings there was a magnificent buffet lined along a kitchen counter. Fresh fruit from the property (sweet papaya, two types of mango, bananas, etc), cereals, bread plus local speads and honey. If I wanted to cook something the stove and refrigerator were available to me. Other mornings when I was departing early to explore the island, she made up a to-go cooler, prepared for quick access in the car. This was one of the nicest favors I have every been offered at a B&B. Try getting THAT at a hotel.
One afternoon, Eric gave me a tour of the property. Besides his home and the B&B there were over a dozen varieties of fruit growing on it, including examples of south american cherries that I had never heard of before. The school, which he constructed, had only recently shut down, so he decided to put the whole place into the lodging business.
The result is a spacious B&B, capable of handling small business retreats, wedding parties and the like. One side of the structure has a covered outdoor dining area, enough for over twenty. The opposite has a patio that Eric has prepared for events, including a small stage area.
Halemalu is the type of place where you get to know your hosts, and make friends. I had free reign to collect macadamias and attempt to hammer them open (the survivors were roasted up for me by Suzette), to sign my name on a leaf of their autograph tree, borrow snorkel gear, watch videos in the downstairs guest area. It was all incredibly relaxing and must have been good for me, because by the time I reluctantly left I was walking noticeably slower, swearing less and totally hooked on flip-flops.
All this for a remarkably affordable rate. In fact it's the rate that probably makes many people wonder about it.
Stop wondering, and take advantage of it before the owner realizes what a bargain he has going on up there. I know I plan to again, in the very near future!

And Trip Adviser, please change this property's listing to a B&B. It is most definitely a B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillardHumphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ricTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MikkiMaus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: wir waren ins S
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanquishV12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Netuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
11.4 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
492 reviews
11.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halemalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halemalu

Address: 81-2026 Haku Nui Rd., Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Captain Cook
Price Range: £93 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halemalu 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Big Island of Hawaii on the beautiful Kona coast, Halemalu has become a world premier individual, family, or group vacation rental property. The Halemalu Estate Villa is situated on a private five acre Botanical Garden Estate in Captain Cook and is ready to welcome you or your group. Our two bedroom suites offer a better value and are far more spacious compared to any hotel, lodge, inn or bed & breakfast. Plus our facilities are designed to accommodate all of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Halemalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halemalu Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing