We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio with private hot tub, outdoor dining, gas-fired BBQ grill and yard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio with private hot tub, outdoor dining, gas-fired BBQ grill and yard
Entry Gate to patio Living area with double futon couch and smart TV, has ocean view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Patio with private hot tub, outdoor dining, gas-fired BBQ grill and yard
Entry Gate to patio
Living area with double futon couch and smart TV, has ocean view
New Serta Perfect Sleeper queen bed with ocean view
Kitchenette with fridge, two burner hot plate, coffee maker, blender, filtered water
2nd kitchen counter with toaster oven and microwave. Shows door into changing area and bathroom
Smart TV with Netflix, Pandora, cable and DVD player
Patio with gas-fired BBQ, outdoor dining area, private hot tub and outdoor shower
Outdoor shower with hot and cold water, and private hot tub
Chemical-free salt pool with mermaid, waterfall and ocean view
Mermaid at pool
Private yard with ocean view
Carved dolphins at entryway
Dolphin and whale mural in breezeway entrance
Garden path
Buddha in one of the gardens
Red Ginger in gardens
Lobster Claw Heliconia in the gardens
Best snorkeling on the island at Two Step, next to Place of Refuge
Turtle and tangs, snorkeling at Two Step, just 2.5 miles away
Place of Refuge sunset, a sacred historical park, 2.5 miles away
Painted Church interior, 1/4 mi. away
Spinner Dolphins come into the nearby bays to rest and play
Volcano National Park crater plume, 1.5 hour drive from Tropical Hideaway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
catsongs
BWI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you're a five-star Ritzy hotel kinda person, this isn't for you. But if you're something of a traveler, something of an adventurer, someone who likes something a little different, this is paradise! We loved being south of Kailua-Kona, away from that scene. As snorkelers, we loved being close to Captain Cook and Two Step. As folks who cook for themselves, we appreciated the cooking facilities. Kathy is a wonderful, privacy-granting host. In addition to the "open air" architecture, we enjoyed the hot tub and pool, as well as the piles of mangoes ready for eating. Wi-fi was great. Beautiful garden. We'll be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and privacy
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulina N
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tropical Hideaway is Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Tropical Hideaway is exquisite! Our 3-1/2-week stay in this charming and tastefully decorated studio was perfect - from the peaceful sound of the breeze in the palm fronds during the night, the songs of the birds each morning, the warm air wafting through the screens, the sunsets, the glow of the full moon spilling into the studio and over the garden, the fragrance of the jasmine outside, the lush foliage all around, the allspice tree to sit under... to the snorkeling a few moments away, oceanside sunsets or simply watching them from the studio, the nearby Peace Gardens (outstanding!) and Painted Church, farmer's markets, roadside fruit stands, exploring the island... heavenly.
The owner, Kathleen, is a lovely spirit who was always responsive to any questions or requests we had, and made us feel totally welcome. The studio was cosy and comfortable and provided all of the amenities described. We enjoyed the outdoor grill for the fresh-caught ono we bought at the farmer's market, and loved the outdoor shower! The other residents of the property, KT and Phil, enhanced our visit with their warmth, and our privacy was always totally respected by everyone.
Thank you, Kathleen, for creating such a peaceful haven - it's not a matter of "if" we come back - it's only a matter of "when"!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, very beautiful setting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WideWorld...
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A most memorable stay!”
Reviewed 8 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at Tropical Hideaway immensely. Its magical setting amidst lush jungle vegetation makes for a unique experience, so much more enjoyable than a hotel or a traditional B&B. Screen windows allow for a wafting of warm breezes throughout and allowed us to hear wonderful birdsong in the morning & evening. The well-stocked, totally self-contained unit is both quiet and private. Kathy [the owner] offered us papayas, bananas and starfruit fresh-picked from her garden, and provided much gear to make our stay enjoyable – snorkels, masks, fins, wetsuits, beach umbrella & chairs. She even took me on an excursion where I got to swim with dolphins – hundreds of them! This was one of the most exciting experiences of my life, and Kathy documented the whole thing with her underwater camera, providing me with a priceless memento of the day. We also had nice connections with Katie & Phil, staying elsewhere on the property. Along with Kathy, they made us feel as if we were visiting with friends, even though they were great about respecting our privacy. Our only regret is that we weren’t able to stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lush setting and also the easy access to wonderful coastline!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuerich Switzerland
Reviewed 12 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 15 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NM
Reviewed 1 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Travel_Ke...
Schwechat, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Einfach alles! Ein perfektes Gesamtpaket
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing