We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run restaurant”
Review of Mahina Cafe - CLOSED

Mahina Cafe
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian, Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Captain Cook, Hawaii, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family run restaurant”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Japanese breakfast is my favorite, includes fish.
Everything is homemade and locally sourced. The owners are very attentive and really good cooks. A great place for a quick bite while you're on the way around the island!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Booey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    31
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Style Restaurant for Breakfast!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I had breakfast with my friends who had eaten here before and highly recommended this wonderful café to me. Service was excellent and food was fresh and delicious!! The walls were filled with beautiful woven artistry of Hawaiian cultural aspects plus others of good-feeling sayings (Live Your Dream, etc.) Prices were so reasonable here and our server was courteous and friendly and very pleasant. Every item on the menu is awesome, so I recommend it all!! There is a senior priced breakfast too! I would go again to try lunch and dinner too in the future. The eggs and Portuguese sausage were cooked just right and Kona coffee was great. Very clean restaurant with great atmosphere! Glad I got a malasada since they sold out fast!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babbitt, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great malasadas”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stopped just for coffee and a treat. The malasadas were warm and delicious. We were told by our waitress all the baked items were family recipes and all made on site.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place if you are on the big island of Hawaii.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stopped in at this cafe as my wife would not let me stop at McDonalds on our way to the painted church. I am very very glad we found this place as the food was so good, we went back the next day for lunch again. The lady that owns the restaurant does the cooking and baking and the food was excellent, very good portions and she even gave us free malsadas both days. It will be your loss if you go past this cafe and don't stop in, we are sure glad we did and will be going back for more next year as we already have our condo booked again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erndarchrkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A little gem of a place, the coffee was superb, and as for the cinnamon rolls and the apple strudel pie...oh my goodness, this was proper baking, and so lovely we went back to order more. The lady who runs the place is a delightful person, as are the girls helping out. The menu looked fab.
Spotlessly clean, I'm looking forward to eating there again next year.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ukdianeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mahina Cafe also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing