We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical House on the Hillside”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ashley B
Hawi, Hawaii
1 review
“Magical House on the Hillside”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Staying at this house was a magical experience. My best girlfriend and I were invited over to the house by the owners, who we kept running into all over the island. After the fourth run-in, we were invited over for a dinner party, not knowing we'd be stepping into what I'd consider, my dream house. Entering the property, you are surrounded by tropical flowers and fruiting trees. The house towers above you, a gorgeous Pagoda-style that welcomes you in. There is space for everyone in the family. Many different rooms to choose from, on all levels of the house, even the loft, looking over the beautifully designed main living area. That space is large and open, connecting not only the living room, dining, and kitchen areas, but also the patio and loft, perfect for entertaining all your guests without anyone feeling left out. Naturally, this dinner party showed the house in its prime. Everyone was able to freely mingle around, talk to the cook while dinner was prepared, and all fit around the grand dining table when the time came.
The real gem of this gorgeous vacation HOME though, is the view. And oh my goodness! The Pu`uhonua House looks over one of the most enchanting views of the Big Island. You could get lost for hours out on that wrap-around patio. And if that wasn't enough, there is an outdoor fire-pit, and above the loft, there is the Crow's Nest - a perfect spot for star gazing after dinner. You cannot deny you're in paradise when you're up in the Crow's Nest.
The location of this house is great too. Far enough away from the bustle of Kona to appreciate the real, slowed down Hawaii, yet close enough to catch happy hour and set up your helicopter tour. The house looks over several bays where dolphins and tons of other sea life play. Kealakekua Bay is known as some of the best snorkeling in Hawaii, and is only a short drive from the house, which overlooks it. My friend and I were invited to stay the night and the next morning took the house's paddle boards down to the bay to see where the first European explorer discovered the Hawaiian Islands. Epic!
Hawaii has infinite beauty and adventures, and this house will make you want to kick up your feet and enjoy some Aloha time. This space has a seamless layout, with wide open views, all the while making you feel at-home-cozy. Everything on the island is less than a 3 hour drive away, but allow yourself plenty of time to explore and decompress here, you won't regret it!!!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout/design and view!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn I
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tree house perfection”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a magnificent home to rent. We were two families travelling together with 4 adults and 5 kids (ages 11 - 18) and the house provided ample space for everyone. The galley kitchen is much larger than it appeared in photos so we were very comfortable cooking together. Not only is the home stunning, but the lanais provide amazing views of the mountain, plants and the ocean, as well as some of the most spectacular sunsets we have ever seen. The owner was very generous and helpful with his suggestions about activities too, even sharing the fish he'd caught one day. There were a couple of drawbacks, of course: While there is plenty of parking, the driveway is very steep so not for the faint of heart; there are only two washrooms which was a little crowded for 9 people; we absolutely loved the geckos running through the house, but know not everyone would be thrilled with them popping up everywhere; and while the fans were very helpful, the lack of air conditioning was very noticeable during the heatwave we experienced. Overall, though, this was an absolutely wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The lack of AC
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeDee W
1 review
“Awesome, amazing and gorgeous vacation rental”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

When we first arrived at Pu'uhonua, we were in awe. The warm welcoming gorgeous house was decorated with fresh tropical flowers and home grown fruit. We immediately sent pictures to our CA friends who were jealous with envy. The multiple balconies and tall glass doors allowed us to view the surrounding landscape and faraway beaches. The scent of tropical plant life, the friendly birds and geckos that would visit us during our stay, and the cool island breeze made our stay incredibly memorable. We can't thank Bruce enough for his adventure recommendations and we're looking forward to our next visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! The house was gorgeous, the view: spectacular, it was a vacation paradise
Liked least: nothing, everything was amazing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mps0n2...
Amherst, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a great experience!”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our stay at the Pu'uhonua House in Captain Cook was a great experience and a highlight of our trip. The house is about a 1/2 hour from Kona and in such a nice location that we felt like we almost had the island to ourselves. It is the perfect property for guests who want to be out of the busy city but close enough for occasional shopping and touristy entertainment. It is also within a few minutes of some really amazing snorkeling spots, beaches, and National Parks. The house itself was very uniquely designed and perfect for our group of eight (two families with kids) traveling together. The view was fabulous and we enjoyed spending time eating (and playing) on the wrap-around porches. We also appreciated the well equipped kitchen and the wonderful tropical produce that our hosts shared with us, which they picked right on the property.

The Paoli's were great hosts--they were responsive and helpful before our arrival and during our stay, provided a very useful collection of tips and recommendations to make our stay better, and even provided a contact who makes arrangements for several island adventures. (Our kayaking/ snorkeling trip out to the Captain Cook Monument was one of our favorite days of our entire vacation.) In short, this rental experience was among the best we have had and we hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was amazing--beautiful home, beautiful view, lush tropical setting
Liked least: **n/a**
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole B
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our group of friends and family stayed at Pu-uhonua House and and a wonderful time! It was a beautiful house with the most amazing views and lush beautiful grounds! It was stocked with just about anything you would need and it was nice having a full kitchen and laundry. That really saved us money and time!

It was close to many amenities that you would need, but not so close that you could hear any traffic or city noises...just the breeze blowing and the frogs at night.

I would highly recommend it and would stay here again in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful open living room and lanai with gorgeous views.
Liked least: Driveway was steep and frogs were pretty loud.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E3897OFwi...
San Marcos, California
2 reviews
“Mind-boggling vacation rental”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our sojourn at the Pu'uhonua House was amazing. Between the great view of the ocean, the incredible woodwork, the super-friendly hosts, and the lush yard, I'm trying to think of a way the experience could have been better, and I can't. Our party of six came to the Big Island for a family reunion, and all of us were blown away by this vacation home. After family activities out on the island, we would relax on the deck and ooh-and-aah about the many birds, the ocean, the yard full of fruit and coffee bushes, the geckos, the details of the unique house, and the total Kona-side ambiance. It was like living in a beautiful treehouse, totally unlike any ordinary house, combining pole-house and post-&-beam with a lot of lanais and beautiful wood-framed sliding glass and screen doors. The house is situated at the perfect altitude, up off the hot beach areas but below the cloud line. The hosts, Bruce and Nikki, were very nice and they had put a lot of work in to the house to keep it in great shape. Bruce was also very forthcoming about the history of the house and the techniques used to build it (a fascinating story). When we return to the Kona-side we will make every effort to book our stay at the Pu'uhonua House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and its location.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphindr...
1 review
“Magnificent beauty full of aloha”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were beyond happy with our experience here. The place is beautiful clean and in a great location. We had a small retreat there and would def use this place again. It is intimate with beautiful views! And we were nourished with tons of aloha

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing