We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local food with a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of GUY'S GRINDS - CLOSED

GUY'S GRINDS
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good local food with a great view”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hole-in-the wall place is frequented by locals and snowbirders. It's nothing fancy, but the service is friendly and the food is great. There's quite a range of options, so you never know what you'll find. Their menu has standard Hawaiian plate lunch fare (like slow-cooked pork with mac salad and rice). When someone has caught some fresh fish, their dinner specials are out of this world. If there's fresh fish or a daily special, I recommend getting that!

I recommend coming on a night where there's live music;Seat yourself outdoors at the picnic tables; buy a beer or bottle of wine at the attached Ohana Warehouse store; and settle in to watch the sunset.

If you're looking for something fancy or a pre-packaged tourist experience, you will be dissapointed. But if you want some good food, from good people, and a view of the sunset, take a chance on this place!

It is also called the Wailapa Grill.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Live Music on Friday”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We had a nice meal down at Guys Grinds on the Friday night, the band was amazing and added a lovely vibe while dining outside.
- Try the Banana Split! Yum

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunna101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Okay for an inexpensive meal”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stopped on a Friday night and enjoyed the live band. The food was nothing really special, but it was okay for a roadside stand. Drinks were available for purchase at the store next door (part of the same building).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsford
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

we stopped here while we were out exploring the island one day and how nice. This place is small right on the main road with fantastick food and great service. I did not know what to order and the lady reccommended the korean chicken so that is what I went with and my husband ordered a teriakki chicken sandwich fabulouse. We both enjoyed are lunch we split our meals between us and both were so good. We went inside the little store and bought drinks for our meal and some baked goods to take back to our condo later. Really good food here and friendly service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dianem163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Keys, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BAD EXPERIENCE NEVER AGAIN!”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I ordered food to go when I got there it was not ready
then it was cold and there was a cockroach in my meal.
Go at your own risk. When I complained Guy the owner
went off on me, it was scary, I think he needs the health
department and a attitude adjustment.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dararuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GUY'S GRINDS also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing