We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“True Hidden Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset from your lanai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset from your lanai
Outside Kitchen Area Outdoor Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Sunset from your lanai
Outside Kitchen Area
Outdoor Kitchen
Gazebo and outdoor dining
Master Bedroom
Shower outdoors under the stars or a perfect place to rinse off from a day at the beach
Sitting Area and Pull Out Sofa
Entrance
Siesta??
Backyard
Walkway to Gazebo
Seating Area
Inside Kitchen
Swimming with the dolphins
Manini Beach - great snorkeling
Another Hawaiian Sunset
Wild Orchid View From Your Ohana
One of our turtle friends
Nearby Keei Beach
Plumeria in our front yard
Swimming with a Manta Ray at Manini Beach - only steps away
Monk Seal at Manini Beach
Geicko
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Joseph F
1 review
“True Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My husband and I are new to airbnb and a little hesitant to what we would be getting. We were both blown away with how amazing this place was. Rusty gave us detailed instructions on how to get to this hidden paradise. If you have ever been to Hawaii the off the beaten path places are where the magic is. The things we loved the most: we had the whole cottage to ourselves, but Rusty and Janice were accessible for questions on where to go, how to get around and where things were. The fully loaded outdoor kitchen was amazing to cook and eat all while watching the sunset. They provided all of the cooking utensils and extras you would need to create your meal. It saved us ton cooking our meals so we could enjoy other adventures. Their hospitality was amazing, they have some beach accessories we were able to use, and they are close to amazing snorkeling spots. Overall, we had an amazing and romantic stay and did not want to leave. This is a true gem to find and you will undoubtedly enjoy it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor kitchen/living with a ocean bay view.
Liked least: Driving down from town takes some time, but stop at the grocery store before going down and no need to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B P
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
Reviewed 24 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This was our 5th trip to Hawaii, and our second trip to the Big Island. We have used rental properties each time, never having stayed in a hotel. We stayed here for 5 nights for our anniversary. The description and previous reviews sounded interesting, so we tried it.

The house is about 40 minutes from the airport, longer if it's raining, which it was when we arrived. The last part of the drive is on a really winding/curvy road--no exaggeration. There are no street lights in this part of Hawaii. Thank God for GPS!! Although the owners provide detailed directions, it's easy to get lost at the end of the drive as you near the house. You park outside under covered parking adjacent to the living room.

The house itself is a little . . .different. You enter up 3 stairs into a living room/kitchen. There is no dining table inside, so if you plan to eat inside, you will have to sit at the coffee table in the living room. The indoor kitchen is small, with a small stove, a fridge which the owners will turn on if you like (there's an outdoor fridge which is preferred for renter's use). NO microwave, dishwasher, or dining table inside.

There is one bedroom. The bed is really high and difficult to get on without a running start. I'm 5' 9" and it was still hard to get on! On the plus side, the bed is comfortable. All the windows to the house have screens on them and are left open for the trade winds. We also used the ceiling fans in all the rooms. There is no AC, which can be bad on hot humid days, even with the windows open, as we realized the last day of our stay. Read on.

There is an indoor bathroom with tub and shower. You walk out of the indoor bathroom,, down 3 steps and into the outdoor kitchen, which is a bit of a strange arrangement. We found it cumbersome to go through the bathroom, open a screen door, go down 3 stairs, grab whatever you need from the outdoor kitchen, open the screen door again (with full hands), back through bathroom, into living room/kitchen, and set it all down. It takes a while to learn what switches turn what on outside, although they have labeled the switches.

There is also an outdoor hot water shower enclosed by bamboo sticks. The neighbors won't be able to see you, but can probably hear you if you use the outdoor shower, because we could definitely hear them talking from the shower. You may find a gecko near the outside shower too. The person(s) in the outdoor shower is(are) visible clearly from the bedroom, which is probably intentional, so be aware of that too. This is fine for a couple, but if you have a large family, warn them about "naked grandma" in the shower.

There is an outdoor kitchen which has a fridge, electric range, microwave, dishwasher, toaster oven, washer/dryer, & a couple of eating areas. The owners provided insect repellent spray and mosquito coils to repel mosquitoes. Dengue fever has been reported in the area so be warned! There is an enclosed gazebo which we used once, but found too cumbersome to carry food into, zip the enclosure closed to keep mosquitoes out, etc.

There's also another covered seating area beyond the gazebo. There is a hammock for those so-inclined. There are a couple of seating areas on either side of the outdoor kitchen as well, with a propane grill that we used when the power went out (see below). The only dining table outside was inside the gazebo. The seating areas mentioned above only had coffee tables, so it's difficult to eat a meal there. The outdoor areas seem maximized for several groups to hang out, not really made for a couple. The furniture is all pretty old.

There isn't much separation between the rental house and the owners who live next door. There is technically an ocean view, but a lot of obstructions in the way blocking the view of the water. If you seek utter privacy, this is not the place for you. On the plus side, the owners are always nearby should you need anything. They were friendly and invited us for drinks one evening and even took us to a place to hear Hawaiian music another night.

The whole neighborhood felt congested. The neighbors and nearby snorkeling/sea kayaking business are a bit loud. There is also traffic noise from the street although there is not much traffic. The wi-fi is HORRIBLE quality. My wife's laptop somehow got a connection, but my cell phone never got wi-fi. If you need to have reliable internet access, this place does not have it.

On our last day there, the power went out in the middle of the night. The house became pretty stifling with the heat and humidity by mid morning, and no electricity for the fans. I had to shave using a headlamp, and my wife had to apply her makeup using electric candlelight--not ideal.

We were allowed to check out late, but decided to get out around 11 am because the house was too uncomfortable. To be fair, we were told the power outage was caused by a car hitting an electric pole and is probably not a frequent event.

To sum up, the outdoor kitchen and spaces are the main spaces intended to be used. The indoor kitchen was not well equipped for use. Also, you will have to spray mosquito repellent on yourselves in the morning and evening hours if you have any intention of using the outdoor spaces. We found this to be a hassle, but not everybody would care.

Positives:
Good nightly rate
Snorkeling equipment, beach chairs, boogie boards, beach bags, coolers, covered parking provided
Near several good snorkeling spots
Friendly owners
Outdoor shower
Comfortable bed (once you get on)
Neighborhood felt safe
Rental property detached from owners' property (no shared walls), feels more private than condos
Fruit provided free
Condiments, spices, oil, butter, cooking utensils, flatware, tea kettle, teas, Sriracha, sauces, sugar provided
Mosquito repellents provided
Soap, shampoo, conditioner, sunblock, lotion, towels provided
Washer, dryer, dishwasher, detergents provided
Decent location

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor shower, good bed
Liked least: Bad wifi, loud neighborhood, view not great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grammy217
Barry, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

From the moment we arrive, we were welcomed with open arms. They allowed us to come by early and drop our stuff, so we could spend the day at the beach. They had the fridge full of fresh star fruit and oranges and fresh squeezed OJ. The accommodations were perfect, we loved the outdoor living room and kitchen and especially the outdoor shower. We watched the "ocean swallow the sun"most evenings from the living room. My grandson loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the sounds of the waves crashing all night.
Liked least: Nothing, we loved it all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane G
Escalon, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome outdoor living”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We just left this home a few days ago and we miss it. It's a simple little home with great outdoor space in which we spent most of our time. We cooked outside in the very equipped outdoor kitchen as well as rincing off the sea in the outdoor shower. Our teenage son even slept on the outside couch under the mosquito net. The location is perfect. We didn't leave the area for two days and were busy snorkeling at two step and wandering the beautiful place of refuge. We also rented kayaks in the little bay at the back door and spent the morning surrounded by dolphins! Shelley, the neighbor was great and brought us fresh mangos. I hope to go back someday!
The only thing we didn't love is the big Brown gazebo in the middle of the back yard. It has a tent, probably for mosquitos, inside and its just not very inviting. It blocks much of the porch view of the sea. Would be better moved off to the side. Not a big deal and others may appreciate it. A critter stold our loaf of bread and there were a few ants so don't be dumb like us and leave food out in the outdoor kitchen That's our only negative and we would go back in a second if we could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KuriaG
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A house in a garden”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Other people have said it all: the beauty of the place, the fact that it is in a "real" neighborhood, the truly hospitable nature of Rusty and Janice, the sound of the waves, the location... it was all wonderful!
For me the highlight was that Rusty has created a "house in a garden". In fact we only slept in the "real" house, the rest of the time we enjoyed being in the outside living room watching beautiful little geckos play and sing, in the outdoor kitchen preparing the delicious fish bought at a not too far supermarket, taking showers under the sky, playing cards in the gazebo and bird watching at the same time... There is a nice little park with access tot he water 3 minutes from the house.
It was like a child's dream come true.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The ocean water.
Liked least: Didnt stay long enough.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing