We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful laid-back stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset from your lanai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset from your lanai
Outside Kitchen Area Outdoor Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Sunset from your lanai
Outside Kitchen Area
Outdoor Kitchen
Gazebo and outdoor dining
Master Bedroom
Shower outdoors under the stars or a perfect place to rinse off from a day at the beach
Sitting Area and Pull Out Sofa
Entrance
Siesta??
Backyard
Walkway to Gazebo
Seating Area
Inside Kitchen
Swimming with the dolphins
Manini Beach - great snorkeling
Another Hawaiian Sunset
Wild Orchid View From Your Ohana
One of our turtle friends
Nearby Keei Beach
Plumeria in our front yard
Swimming with a Manta Ray at Manini Beach - only steps away
Monk Seal at Manini Beach
Geicko
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
hgirgis
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful laid-back stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family visited Hawaii to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We spent one week at Hale Nai`a (Dolphin House) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Janice and Rusty are terrific hosts. They ensured that we had everything we needed including fresh fruit in the refrigerator. They live next door and were readily available to offer suggestions on where to go on the island and recommend things to see and do.

The property itself was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The outdoor kitchen and outdoor shower were a blast. We spent all our free time outside. We only went inside to sleep. The king size bed was very comfortable. It is intentionally elevated so you can see the view of the ocean out the window from the comfort of your bed.

The outdoor kitchen is well stocked and thoughtfully laid out. The outdoor seating and dining areas were comfortable and clean. We had no trouble connecting to the wifi network. 4 iPhones, an iPad and one laptop all accessing the internet without any problems.

The week prior to our stay here, we spent one week at a 5 star resort in Kauai. It had a lazy river swimming pool, granite counter tops, professional stainless steel appliances etc... Decadent and expensive. Despite the amenities, the other location could not offer the warmth and friendly local vibe that we enjoyed so much staying at Hale Nai`a. Our hosts Janice and Rusty made all the difference.

If you are looking for a cozy home away from home, this is the place. I would certainly go back and stay there again and have already recommended it three times without hesitation to people I know who are considering a trip to Hawaii.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanned17...
Forestville, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“R E L A X”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Loved our stay at Hale Nai'a, especially the outdoor living. We spent every minute outdoors except for sleeping. The location had a great view of the nearby water and a big view of the sky. One of our concerns when staying somewhere is the comfort of the bed and we were very pleased with the king bed and the quiet room. We walked to Manini Beach several times to play in the water. It was great as it also had a community garden with a big lawn with picnic tables. It was our dream vacation because of the view, the outdoor living, and the quiet of the neighborhood.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: outdoor living
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seacliff2...
Aptos, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location for Outdoor Living”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed in Hale Nai'a for a week in early April 2016. We wanted to swim, snorkel and kayak a lot and this location was perfect as it's just an easy minute's walk from Manini Beach and right next door to a cove for launching a kayak. We are active outdoors people and the "outdoor living" setup really enhanced our stay. What a pleasure to prepare and eat meals outside while gazing out to the ocean! We spent 95% of our waking hours outside and that made for a great sense of spacious relaxation. (Even inside the ocean is not far away as one can see and hear it without lifting one's head from the very comfortable large bed in the bedroom.) Another great convenience was coming back from the water and being able to rinse and hang dry all our gear outside and to shower in the large, private outdoor shower. Rusty and Janice live next door part of the year and they happened to be there during our stay. They are warm and helpful hosts and though they are next door we felt we had all the privacy we wanted. We recommend Hale Nai'a to folks looking for clean, comfortable and convenient (but not luxurious) accommodations with an emphasis on enjoying the outdoors. The only improvement we'd suggest is that in contrast to neighborhing properities Hale Nai'a could benefit from more greenery and flowers to create a complete tropical setting. Nonetheless, we plan to stay there again the next time we visit Hawaii.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor living
Liked least: Relative lack of greenery and flowers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VMorisset...
Gatineau, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A second stay and a storybook wedding”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was our second stay at Hale Nai'a, and everything was just as perfect as we remembered. We first stayed at this beautiful cottage in December 2013, and we loved it so much we wanted to go back for our own wedding. Planning a wedding from a different country is not an easy task, but the hosts Janice and Rusty we extremely helpful before and during our stay. The morning of the wedding, they helped us set the tables and chairs, pick the flowers (which were all growing in the neighbourhood) and they even accepted to play ukulele at the ceremony! We had a storybook wedding, and it really was thanks to Janice, Rusty.

As for the cottage, it once again exceeded our expectations. The bed is extremely comfortable, the exterior kitchen is fully equipped, everything is very clean and well maintained. It is located just feels from Manini beach, where you can swim daily with dolphins. Our wedding guests were all jealous and want to travel back to Hawaii just to stay at Hale Nai'a! If you plan on traveling to Captain Cook, you really should ''look no further''!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatsbyCle...
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights, and it was truly a wonderful stay.

The outside kitchen area had everything we needed for staying in and cooking dinner. In the mornings we had our coffee sitting in the comfy chairs and during the evening we ate dinner in the gazebo with the fun string of lights and ceiling fan on overhead. You do need to pay attention to cleaning up after cooking, but that's just common sense stuff that you would do if you were at home eating on your patio.

There are several different sitting areas, depending on what view of the ocean you want at the time. My husband was totally enamored of the outside shower! The bed was very comfortable, and high enough so you can feel the breezes all night and look right out the window to see the ocean when you wake up in the morning (there is a step stool to help you climb up/in, if needed!). We never used the inside kitchen or sitting area. The washer/dryer is full size, and there's a clothes line for drying as well.

The neighborhood wasn't overly noisy - in fact, I was surprised that it was as quiet as it was given that it was a "real' neighborhood vs a resort area (which I generally find to be incredibly noisy).

The local beach park area is only a few minutes walk down the road, and quite nice. My husband swam (it was a bit too rough for snorkeling, unfortunately) and I took pictures of the lovely scenery and the birds and waded a bit. It was never very crowded, with mostly locals there. There was even a wedding one evening. Try going in the evening. Sit on the rocks and enjoy the sunset. It's lovely.

A few miles down the road in the other direction are Two Step and Pu'uhonua o Honaunau (Place of Refuge). Pu'uhonua o Honaunau is a must see. The cottage is in a nice central location between South Point and the Kona/resort area, or even Hawi.

Although we generally are pretty self suficient Rusty and Janice were always available to answer any questions or provide suggestions on where to go or what to do.

We are looking forward to going back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the outside shower
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraTra...
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really a special place”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have rented many Condos and Cottages, but this was really a unique experience. The outdoor living is so much fun, we went inside only for sleeping (though we could also have slept outside on the futon bed). Insects were not a problem at all.
If you are willing to try something completly different, yet with all the comfort you could possibly ask for, I highly recommend tihs place.
Swimming and snorkeling can be difficult at the beaches close by, due to high surf and rocks. But there are many great places within a short driving distance (f.e.the famous *two steps").

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the outdoot living
Liked least: occasionally the neighbourhood was a bit noisy in the morning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph F
1 review
“True Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My husband and I are new to airbnb and a little hesitant to what we would be getting. We were both blown away with how amazing this place was. Rusty gave us detailed instructions on how to get to this hidden paradise. If you have ever been to Hawaii the off the beaten path places are where the magic is. The things we loved the most: we had the whole cottage to ourselves, but Rusty and Janice were accessible for questions on where to go, how to get around and where things were. The fully loaded outdoor kitchen was amazing to cook and eat all while watching the sunset. They provided all of the cooking utensils and extras you would need to create your meal. It saved us ton cooking our meals so we could enjoy other adventures. Their hospitality was amazing, they have some beach accessories we were able to use, and they are close to amazing snorkeling spots. Overall, we had an amazing and romantic stay and did not want to leave. This is a true gem to find and you will undoubtedly enjoy it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor kitchen/living with a ocean bay view.
Liked least: Driving down from town takes some time, but stop at the grocery store before going down and no need to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing