We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If you like honey at all...stop here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Island Bees

Big Island Bees
Ranked #1 of 8 Shopping in Captain Cook
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Have you heard a lot about bees lately, but really don't know much about them? Then join our beekeeper for a fun and educational exploration of bees. TOURS: Join our beekeeper for a FREE, fun, and educational exploration about bees, beekeeping, and honey, where from behind a safe, screened viewing area, you can view an open beehive demonstration with our bees. Tours operate Monday-Friday at 10am, 12pm and 2pm and on Saturdays at 10am and 12pm (we recommend making a reservation on our website to guarantee a spot on the tour). MUSEUM: You can also tour our museum to view tools, pictures, and displays to learn about the history of beekeeping and honey production. And, enjoy free sampling of our delicious, raw, single-floral, organic honeys while you explore. Free admission and open Monday-Friday from 10am to 4:00pm and Saturdays from 10am-2pm.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“If you like honey at all...stop here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We didn't arrive in time for the tour, but the free museum is great. The guy that greeted us (sorry, but I forgot his name) was great. He showed us the small beehive in the museum, and challenged us to find the queen among the 5,000 bees in there. It took a little while, but we did find her! The rest of the museum is really informative and well laid out. And, the honey tasting is fantastic. We ended up buying some honey for ourselves and a small sampler for a gift. If we come again, we'll try to make it in time for the tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hunnyjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Aloha, Hunnyjar, and thank you for stopping by and taking time to write such a nice review. We look forward to your next visit, when we hope you'll have time to take the morning tour.

Mahalo,

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    28
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Morning with the bees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This free museum is a great way to spend a little time, learn the history of big island bees, sample delicious local organic honey, ogle at the amazing wax sculptures, and watch a bee hive in action. Our 3 year old was mesmerized. If you have time, there is a free tour early mornings. I thought it was a nice touch that there are also free recipe cards that included the different honeys. I can't wait to make one! I just wish I had bought more honey:/

Helpful?
Thank Amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Aloha, Amy, and thank you for your very nice review. We are delighted you enjoyed yourself, and thrilled to learn your three-year-old also had a good time. We enjoy it when we can pique the curiosity of young minds in the natural world.

We hope you can visit again.

Mahalo,

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Taking the tour with Larissa was one of the most amazing things we did on the island. We learned all about bee keeping and how honey is produced. Larissa took us out to one of the hives, showed us how they make beeswax to form the, found the queen bee, showed us how bees dance to signal to other bees and so much more. Truly awesome tour. Definitely a must. Plus they make delicious honey. Even if you can't make it for a tour, stop by and take a look at their exhibit in the shop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Aloha, Ann Marie, and thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself and found the tour to be so educational. Please visit us again when you return to the Big Island.

Mahalo,

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Learned a lot about bees and honey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

So glad we stopped at this little museum and honey producer. It was so informative - we even got to see the bees - queen bee and all. They also have honey tastings. Delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VerdeRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Aloha, Verda, and thank you for taking the time to visit us and write such a nice review. We appreciate it very much.

We hope you'll visit us again, soon.

Mahalo,

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“More interesting than we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We figured this would just be another small retailer. We were wrong. Here you can taste tiny spoonfuls of the several types of rich honey produced by this company's hives, which are not on-site. The honey is quite expensive, but we bought a small container of the flower-based honey (yes, you can take it off-island) and it was sophisticated and delectable. The best part was the manager, Kevin Deeds, who upon realizing that we had scientific training, was only too happy to regale us for a full half-hour or more about the fascinating specifics of bee-keeping! This young man alone makes the place worthwhile.

Follow the signs off Napo'opo'o Road; it's down a driveway, behind the coffee roastery, but there's plenty of parking when you get there. In principle you could walk from the main road, but it's hot and dusty.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScienceTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Aloha, Science Trip, and thank you for taking the time to visit us and write such a nice review. We greatly appreciate it.

We share Trip Advisor reviews with all our staff, and Kevin is recognized for the outstanding contribution he makes to our success.

We hope you can visit us again.

Mahalo,

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Island Bees also viewed

 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Bees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing