We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely Big Island”
Review of Big Island Bees

Big Island Bees
Ranked #1 of 8 Shopping in Captain Cook
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Expand your knowledge of our environment and go on an exploration of bees! TOURS: Join our beekeeper for a fun & educational exploration about bees, beekeeping, & honey. During this open beehive demonstration, you will see a live beehive opened & learn where the queen resides, how honey is made, & what makes bees so special--all from a safe, screened area, Tours are 1 hour & include a video about our beekeeping operation, an open beehive demonstration & a sampling of our raw, organic honeys. Monday-Friday 10am, 12pm, 2pm Saturday 10am & 12pm, FREE for children under 18 *Space is limited* Reserve your spot by calling or go to our website. MUSEUM: Visit our museum & see tools, pictures & displays about beekeeping & honey production. Admission is free! SHOP: Our honey shop is full of beeswax body products, honey, honeycomb, candles, tea, and food products made with our raw honey. Our museum & shop are free and open to the public Monday-Friday 10am-4pm & Sat. 10am-2pm. PLEASE NOTE: Our tours are open to people of all ages and is stroller and wheelchair accessible. Both the indoor and outdoor portion of the tour is under cover. Minimal walking is required.
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed the tour at Big Island Bees so much yesterday. You get to learn all about beekeeping and then taste their unique honey (from bees on the Big Island). My personal favorite is the Ohia Lehua honey. You need to make reservations for the 9:30am tour at bigislandbees.com and after the tour you can spend time in their unique museum that has all kinds of interesting information and equipment. This is a perfect addition to your trip to the
Pu`uhonua O Hōnaunau National Historic Park, snorkeling at 'Two Step' and viewing Captain Cook Monument (from the bottom of Napoopoo Rd.). The folks running both the museum, shop and tour are exceptionally nice and informed. If you don't have time for the tour it would still be a great place to stop to see the museum (open 11-4).

1  Thank RetiredKonaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 200 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

On a whim we turned into the driveway of Big Island Bees and so glad we did! You will need to travel through a small neighborhood with keikis (so drive slow) to reach this little gem of a stop. Kevin was delightful in sharing about the bees, honey, candles, artwork and more. The more you ask, the more you'll learn. Very enjoyable.

1  Thank OlympicPeninsula2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Mahalo, OlympicPeninsula2, and thanks for the great review. We share all reviews with our staff and I know they will appreciate your comments. Please come back again, soon.

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Went to the Big Island Honey beekeeping tour and visited their little museum/retail shop. The tour was a great experience for our two year-old. She loved seeing the bees in their hives and the tour guide showed us and told us how the beekeeping process works. The honey tasting was delicious and the people were very friendly and wonderful to us. Thank you!

Thank HawaiiBoyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Aloha, HawaiiboyLA. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We're always delighted to hear our tours are meaningful to young people such as your 2 year old.

We look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This is quite the experience. I've always wanted to come here especially after sampling their honey on Maui.

Their honey is the best tasting honey I've had and the tour was very knowledgeable. The beekeeper could have been a bit more friendlier, maybe she was having an off day. Kevin the retail manager in the shop was super friendly, helpful and engaging.

The products for sale, honey, t-shirts, candles are great unique Big Island gifts to bring back home and they offer free shipping to the mainland if you spend $65 or is it $60, sorry I can't recall.

Don't miss this place it's quite the experience. Remember to either call ahead or go online to reserve your free tour.

Oh, forgot to mention that you get to sample all their honeys.

Thank iflyalotornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We didn't arrive in time for the tour, but the free museum is great. The guy that greeted us (sorry, but I forgot his name) was great. He showed us the small beehive in the museum, and challenged us to find the queen among the 5,000 bees in there. It took a little while, but we did find her! The rest of the museum is really informative and well laid out. And, the honey tasting is fantastic. We ended up buying some honey for ourselves and a small sampler for a gift. If we come again, we'll try to make it in time for the tour.

Thank hunnyjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip G, Owner at Big Island Bees, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Aloha, Hunnyjar, and thank you for stopping by and taking time to write such a nice review. We look forward to your next visit, when we hope you'll have time to take the morning tour.

Mahalo,

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Island Bees also viewed

Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Holualoa, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Bees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing