We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luana Inn- can't be beat!”
Review of Luana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luana Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luana Inn- can't be beat!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our family stayed at the Luana Inn earlier this month and enjoyed it very much. We've stayed at several B&Bs in the area in past years and this is definitely our favorite. Ken and Erin were wonderful hosts- as someone else commented, they are there as little or as much as you need the to be, and were extremely helpful with suggestions and information.
The breakfasts were fabulous with excellent Dr Paulos' hyperlocal coffee and fresh fruit, plus a variety of hot and cold dishes that changed daily (each one better than the next). The inn is located off the main road so it is quiet and it's much closer to the water than other B&Bs we've tried in the area- with a perfect climate and no mosquito problem. It's a wonderful base for snorkeling, as others have commented- and also for exploring the whole S Kona area which has many things to see. We should have stayed longer! We hope to come back to Luana Inn on future trips.
PS There is a surprisingly good snack bar (Kalama's) just around the corner and their shave ice is delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veggiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    32
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
254
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our family traveled to the island of Hawaii in early August. After much research, we decided to stay at the Luana Inn. We were not disappointed. The bed and breakfast was just as advertised on their website and even better than the pictures show. Erin and Ken are wonderful and informative hosts. They are there for you as little or as much as you need them. The home cooked hot breakfast and fresh fruit were delicious! Erin even taught me how easy it is to cut up starfruit. We stayed in the Alihi Lani Suite which was perfect for our family. We all commented on how quiet it was. The pool and patio were amazing. We actually took advantage of the grill and outside eating area each night. Can't beat the million dollar view with your dinner! And lastly, you can't beat the location. It's a perfect place to just relax with a book by the pool overlooking the ocean or it provides a great base for exploring the many beaches and activities in the area. It was only a 20 minute walk or shorter drive down to the bay with the best snorkeling (We went on a kayak and snorkel tour at the Captain Cook Monument with the Pack and Paddle Company - great people and amazing snorkeling), Our only disappointment is we couldn't stay longer. We will recommend you to all our family and friends who travel to Hawaii and we ourselves hope to get back there! Thanks, Ken and Erin for sharing your wonderful home!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klg252013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Erin and Ken’s guesthouse is a real gem. We immediately felt at home and like part of the family. We were thrilled with the genuine warmth of their hospitality, with their delicious homemade breakfasts (with homegrown fruit included and excellent Kona coffee), as well as with their polite, unobtrusive, and welcoming ways. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom especially well lit and spacious. Wifi internet access is free and reliable. The location is terrific: a short drive to Manini beach, which is swimmable, and provides some excellent snorkeling and views of spinner dolphins; a short drive to “Two-step,” which features some of the best snorkeling in the State. In general, the South Kona region is packed with excellent restaurants and beautiful views/beaches, where the turtles patrol the coast and where the dolphins range a little further out. Erin and Ken provide a superb guide to the area, which includes lists of their favorite restaurants (we were never disappointed), and they are always happy to give you further advice in conversation. Erin and Ken let you rent snorkel gear for 10 dollars per person for your entire stay. This was our honeymoon and it turned out to be one of the very best vacations of our lives—thanks in large part to the efforts of our friendly and gracious hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Luana for a few days in July to use as a base for exploring Captain Cook and Kona. Erin and Ken are extremely friendly and welcoming, and their breakfasts are killer. We loved having such delicious options each morning. Plus, the views are amazing -- we spent an afternoon just relaxing by the pool while overlooking the ocean; it was extremely enjoyable. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. In addition, they provide tons of gear options for your to borrow for the beach! The Luana is well located for easy access to some of the best snorkeling beaches on the Big Island. We really enjoyed our time at the Luana and would certainly stay here again on our next visit to the Big Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shurv1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at the Luana as a small family group in June-July 2013 - and liked it so much that we came back during the last leg of our two-week stay. It's a perfect base, and all the positive reviews are well-deserved. Luana is sunny, warm and welcoming, and at the same time very professionally-run by Erin and Ken. A tasty, filling and nutritious breakfast made an excellent start to each day and it was great to chat with Erin as she moved around making sure that everything was all that it should be. It was very handy to have access to washers and dryers - and there were lots of other small thoughtful details - like the grocery shopping bags in the Alihi suite so that we could easily stock up. We stayed in almost all of the rooms so can say that our favourites were the Alihi and Alaula, which fit our group perfectly.

Room Tip: The two rooms away from the house were perfect for a mixed family group.. private and with at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

There seems to be two ways to visit Hawaii's Big Island. There's a stretch of beach, not even a couple miles long, that seems to have dozens of hotels and resort-type things all right next to each other, with little shops and restaurants all within walking distance. If you're just there for the beach, and don't really care about the rest of the island (or don't want to rent a car), this might be a nice place to stay.

The other thing you could do, though, if you have a car, is find a bed and breakfast among any of the small towns near the island's coast. If this is what you're doing, and I strongly encourage you to do it this way, then you should go to Captain Cook and stay at the Luana Inn.

We stayed in one of the rooms attached to the main house (there are also a couple set back from the house). We never felt the way I'm always worried B&Bs will feel: like we're splitting a house with a bunch of strangers. Our room had a door to the outside and its own bathroom. The weather was pretty comfortable while we were there, but our room also had an air conditioner. There was also a little refrigerator and free wifi access (the latter worked fine with my laptop, but my phone had a weirdly difficult time staying connected). The beds have Temperpedic mattresses, which are a complete pleasure to sleep on.

The house and yard were wonderful. The back side of the house has a great view of the ocean and nearby beach. The downstairs of the house is a common room with a book exchange and a diverse collection of DVDs to rent. There's a door out of the common room to an outdoor pool and hot tub (the pool & hot tub area also has comfortable chairs for reading or sunning).

In the morning either Ken or Erin (the owners) made breakfast, and it was amazing. There was typically some kind of fresh fruit and local grown coffee. They were careful to verify our dietary preferences or restrictions upon arrival, and every morning they had at least one vegetarian option (my dietary preference). Keep in mind that most of the food on the Big Island is imported, which can make restaurants expensive. Breakfast is included at the Luana Inn, which would be a strong argument in favor of staying there (one less meal you have to buy each day) even before you consider how good the breakfast actually is. We actually ate really well on the Big Island, but breakfast was always great.

Erin and Ken are each terribly friendly and fun to talk to. They seem to have a deep, well-infomed knowledge of the island's beaches, activities, and resources. They had good answers for all of our questions, and and were invaluable resources throughout our stay.

The Luana Inn is less than an hour from the Kona Airport (on the Big Island's west coast) and is also an easy drive from a grocery store, a coffee & fruit co-op, and some thrift and antique stores. It seems like there are a handful of B&Bs around, but if I went back (and I would love to) it wouldn't occur to me to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the Luana Inn while on our honeymoon on the big island, and loved every minute of it. The inn is a quiet bed and breakfast in Captain Cook, perfect for getting away from the resorts and tourists, and perfect for a relaxing stay. The room were clean and the bed comfortable, and the grounds are beautiful; the view of the bay was spectacular--ok, there was sometimes a little volcanic haze ('vog"), but there IS an active volcano on the island!

The inn is only 30 minutes or so from Kona, but we found plenty of good places to eat closer than that. Also, fabulous snorkeling is just a few minutes down the road, at Kealakekua Bay below the inn, or at Two-Step beach, maybe 10 minutes away. Two-step, recommended by our hosts Ken and Erin, was especially great. Best of all, there is a Kona coffee co-operative right next door to the inn. We went there every day to try the fresh fruit (innumerable different varieties), the coffee, and the chocolate-covered macadamias!

Ken and Erin are charming hosts, and were incredibly helpful from the very beginning--their recommendations for what to bring to Hawaii were spot-on, and the local attractions notebook in the room was comprehensive and full of good advice. Breakfast every morning consisted of fresh fruit and Kona coffee, and various hot dishes, including excellent pancakes, made even better by coconut syrup! Good, intelligent conversation with Ken, Erin and the other guests made for an interesting and fun breakfasts.

In short, we really enjoyed our stay at the Luana Inn and will stay there again some day, I am sure. After all, we never got around to doing the manta ray night snorkel! Gotta go back...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirbyAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
13.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.4 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
396 reviews
25.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Inn

Property: Luana Inn
Address: 82-5856 Napoopoo Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8210
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luana Inn Bed and Breakfast offers five spacious, elegant guest rooms, excellent amenities, and a panoramic ocean view. Located at 300 feet elevation, the Inn offers seclusion and privacy, and is within walking distance (.8 mi) of Kealakekua Bay. Amenities include swimming pool and hot tub, wireless broadband internet access, laundry & BBQ facilities, guest office, and guest great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luana Inn Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing