We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luana Inn
Nearby Hotels
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$305
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$205
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$160
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$216
US$205
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$165
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$1,205
US$1,145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$607
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village(Kailua-Kona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
329
33
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
33
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and hot tubwonderful hostsalihi lanithe big islandb bgreat poolsconesfruitdrying rackinternet accessplaces to visitgrounds are beautifulhome away from homeoff the beaten pathfour nightserinbeaches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Luana Inn for 7 nights in August 2013.
The location is great, a few minutes drive from great swimming and snorkeling.
It is a modern, very well kept villa with a swimming pool and a nice garden.
The owners, Erin and Ken, are just great.
They live on the upper floor with two children and a lovely dog, and are very considerate of your privacy, but very helpful when needed.
Breakfast is served 8am to 9am and my wife and I made a pint of being ready by 8.01 am. No kidding!
Erin bakes bread and makes fantastic omelets. Ken is the meat and sausages master.
It is a full meal.
The rooms are big, modern, very comfortable. The AC is a bit noisy but rarely needed as the nights are nice and cool, even during the summer.
There is parking for guests and WiFi. Each room has a DVD player, too.
We would definitely go back

Room Tip: the Moana room is a bit bigger and more private
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Erin and Ken run a superb property in the Captain Cook area on the big island. There are amazing views of the ocean at sunset. The breakfast is delicious and the rooms have a nice private feel with optional A/C. Even though check-in was at1500, Erin was nice enough to let us drop off our bags before noon and our bags were automatically delivered to our room once it was ready; what generous service!

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms by the pool for an amazing sunset view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnumgis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a fantastic four night stay with Erin and Ken and their two boys. They thought of all the little details that you need when you are away from home. Breakfast was a gourmet treat each morning. The location was central to all the sights on that side of the island and the views from the property were spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I spend 5 wonderfull nights at Luana Inn. It is located in a remote area, 30 driving minutes south of the more touristy city of Kailua Kona and close by to several very nice snorkeling spots. To Manini beach you can even walk and watch the dolfins in the morning. Snorkeling gear can be rented at the B&B. Other main attractions on the island, like Volcano National Park or Mauna Kea can be reached within 2 to 3 hours max.
We had the Makani Room with a great view over the ocean with spectacular sunsets and the pool and hot tub nearby. The room was very tidy and clean, equipped with a little kitchen, including a fridge, pool/beach towels, a welcome snack and welcome/guide book with lots of information and recommendations about the surroundings and fun stuff to do.
We very much enjoyed the breakfast, with fresh fruits and home made pancakes, yummy muffins, quiche, bread and tasty local Kona coffee and much more. During the breakfast we planned our day based on recommendations from the helpfull and obliging hosts Erin and Ken and could exchange experiences with other guests. The breakfast was always a good start into the day!
In case we would make the long trip from Germany to Hawaii again - which I would love to do - we definetely would stop at the Luana Inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Luana Inn for eight days while we were on the big island. The location was perfect, down a beautiful road about half a mile from a small cove where you could swim, snorkel, kayak, watch dolphins and just look around. The Inn was very comfortable, the hosts very accommodating and knowledgeable. The breakfasts were delicious including daily homemade breads and fruit from their trees. We would definitely recommend a stay here if you want a true Hawaii vacation. Easy to drive to almost any location, so all in all, a perfect spot.

Room Tip: A room in the small house in the back affords the most feeling of privacy
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saysomething123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews