We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and great accomodations”
Review of Luana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luana Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed with Erin and Ken for three nights in October 2013. The location is fabulous- Captain Cook is off the beaten path and very peaceful, while still relatively close to the airport. The property is in a secluded area surrounded by coffee farms, with a fabulous view of the ocean. The room was spacious and clean and we slept very well. We really enjoyed the lanai, with pool and ocean view. Breakfast was great- home cooked eggs and meat, breads and fruit and awesome Kona coffee. The resident outdoor kitty, Suki, is a very entertaining little character. We will most definitely be back next time we're on the Big Island. Mahalo!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magriff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is one of only two "modernist" B-&-Bs that we have stayed at in the USA (the other one was in Germantown in Columbus, Ohio - go ahead, Ken and Erin, look it up!). (Other B-&-Bs tend to be Victorian, Cape Cod, Western, or Massive Midwest Mansion.) We stayed in the Moana Room, the largest of the poolside rooms, which is isolated from the other two poolside rooms by the spacious lobby. There is a small and somewhat old air conditioner, which we found necessary to employ to pre-cool the room for sleeping (it was too noisy to leave on during the night). The king bed is thankfully low to the ground (we're not short in stature, but we're sick and tired of the exceptionally high beds found in some Victorian B-&-Bs - you know, the kind that need their own ladder). The room has a sink and fridge. The bathroom has a shower but no bathtub, but the water in the shower hits you like a 357 magnum and blows your dirt clean off. (Do you feel lucky, traveler?) And it's plenty hot!

The driveway is steep (like many on this hillslope) but is short and well-paved, and parking is amply spaced. The view from the pool deck over the broad Pacific is, by itself, worth the stay. What a sunset. Some deck chairs are available for sunbathing, and there are some tables and chairs under a poolside roof for when the sun is too strong (and it's strong indeed, even in October) or when it rains (3 pm every day like clockwork in October). The round unheated 6-foot-deep pool (quite refreshing!) has a small two-person-sized clean hot tub beside it which is plenty hot.

The owners, Ken and Erin, are young and cordial, and their two young sons are unobtrusive and hardly seen. (Note for travelers: leave your own kids at home, please. This place really is for romantic grown-ups.) The breakfasts are served between 8 and 9 am and are eaten in the dining area adjoining the kitchen upstairs (the house is built into the side of a hill, remember), although there is also a balcony with room for two couples to dine more privately. Breakfast consists of cut fruit and a hot egg dish, plus maybe meat or potatoes, and bread or cake - all in all, nutritious and filling. Good, strong Hawaiian coffee is served, but they will happily make a pot of decaff if asked.

The owners have a 1-year-old mixed-breed hound-dog who will be introduced to you upon request if you express dog-friendliness. He quickly trained me to throw his teething-toy into the pool (after all other guests had checked out) into which he splashed to retrieve it. Hilarious! Don't worry, the pool is regularly cleaned. There is also a cat (who, just like the dog, is not allowed into guest quarters) who quietly sits poolside in the evenings - unless you bring in a ham-and-pineapple pizza to eat poolside, in which case she morphs into Yuki, The Cat Who Cannot Take No For An Answer Where Pizza Is Concerned. You might as well give up. There are also at least two species of geckos sticking to the sides of the house. They do not eat pizza. They are, however, partial to jam.

Another big plus here is that there is a washer/dryer combo outside near the pool that is free for guest use (detergent included). Your suitcase is lighter when your clothes are clean. (Think about it.)

Just 50 yards up the winding mountain road from the house is a coffee-roasting co-op with a gift shop that is open weekdays and which has a scrubby old garden of numbered fruit trees with a hand-guide for those who wish to learn about fruit. There's a lot of different kinds of fruit in Hawaii! They also have brewed Kona coffee for tasting, and Kona beans and ground coffee for sale by the packet. The Kona Peaberry is the best, but at $65 per pound, it's a bit beyond our present finances. But talk about smooth... The regular Kona is cheaper but still delicious. For serious coffee addicts, this is a must-visit attraction. There is a small take-out burger place next to the roastery, and another 50 yards up the hill is a macadamia-nut processor. Three miles up the hill you get to the highway, along which (a half-mile south) is a supermarket along with a decent Chinese take-out place, Hong Kong Chop Suey, in the same plaza (inland side).

In the opposite direction from the B-&-B, a half-mile or more down the hill from the house, is a small scrubby park where you can enter the beautiful blue bay for snorkeling. If you're an excellent swimmer, you can cross the bay to the sparkling white spire marking where Captian Cook first landed on the Big Island and where, ironically, he was killed in battle nearby by some angry Hawaiians. (It didn't stop the British for long.)

A short drive south of this park along the coast road takes you to Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park, which has an entrance fee (if the ranger happens to be in the booth). It's a former compound for the old warrior royalty of the Kona coast and contains numerous tiki gods.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this B-&-B, as evidently did the other guests. Overall, our Big Island trip, of which our stay here was the last part, was one of the most restful vacations of our lives. One of us found a classic science-fiction novel on the guest bookshelf on the first day, and re-read the entire first third of that massive book. Hopefully we may return to read at least the next third of that epic story of the struggle of House Atreides against the evil House Harkonnen. (Note to other guests: if you recognize what I'm talking about, please don't steal the book.)

Of course, no place is perfect. The deck gets a lot of seeds from the lush tropical palms and other vegetation (this is a birdwatcher's dream) and therefore the pool deck needs to be swept more often.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScienceTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Luana Inn for 7 nights in August 2013.
The location is great, a few minutes drive from great swimming and snorkeling.
It is a modern, very well kept villa with a swimming pool and a nice garden.
The owners, Erin and Ken, are just great.
They live on the upper floor with two children and a lovely dog, and are very considerate of your privacy, but very helpful when needed.
Breakfast is served 8am to 9am and my wife and I made a pint of being ready by 8.01 am. No kidding!
Erin bakes bread and makes fantastic omelets. Ken is the meat and sausages master.
It is a full meal.
The rooms are big, modern, very comfortable. The AC is a bit noisy but rarely needed as the nights are nice and cool, even during the summer.
There is parking for guests and WiFi. Each room has a DVD player, too.
We would definitely go back

Room Tip: the Moana room is a bit bigger and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Erin and Ken run a superb property in the Captain Cook area on the big island. There are amazing views of the ocean at sunset. The breakfast is delicious and the rooms have a nice private feel with optional A/C. Even though check-in was at1500, Erin was nice enough to let us drop off our bags before noon and our bags were automatically delivered to our room once it was ready; what generous service!

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms by the pool for an amazing sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnumgis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a fantastic four night stay with Erin and Ken and their two boys. They thought of all the little details that you need when you are away from home. Breakfast was a gourmet treat each morning. The location was central to all the sights on that side of the island and the views from the property were spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I spend 5 wonderfull nights at Luana Inn. It is located in a remote area, 30 driving minutes south of the more touristy city of Kailua Kona and close by to several very nice snorkeling spots. To Manini beach you can even walk and watch the dolfins in the morning. Snorkeling gear can be rented at the B&B. Other main attractions on the island, like Volcano National Park or Mauna Kea can be reached within 2 to 3 hours max.
We had the Makani Room with a great view over the ocean with spectacular sunsets and the pool and hot tub nearby. The room was very tidy and clean, equipped with a little kitchen, including a fridge, pool/beach towels, a welcome snack and welcome/guide book with lots of information and recommendations about the surroundings and fun stuff to do.
We very much enjoyed the breakfast, with fresh fruits and home made pancakes, yummy muffins, quiche, bread and tasty local Kona coffee and much more. During the breakfast we planned our day based on recommendations from the helpfull and obliging hosts Erin and Ken and could exchange experiences with other guests. The breakfast was always a good start into the day!
In case we would make the long trip from Germany to Hawaii again - which I would love to do - we definetely would stop at the Luana Inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Luana Inn for eight days while we were on the big island. The location was perfect, down a beautiful road about half a mile from a small cove where you could swim, snorkel, kayak, watch dolphins and just look around. The Inn was very comfortable, the hosts very accommodating and knowledgeable. The breakfasts were delicious including daily homemade breads and fruit from their trees. We would definitely recommend a stay here if you want a true Hawaii vacation. Easy to drive to almost any location, so all in all, a perfect spot.

Room Tip: A room in the small house in the back affords the most feeling of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saysomething123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
1.4 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
296 reviews
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.1 mi away
Belle Vue Kona B&B
Belle Vue Kona B&B
#4 of 15 in Captain Cook
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
417 reviews
1.0 mi away
A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B
13.5 mi away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Inn

Address: 82-5856 Napoopoo Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8210
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luana Inn Bed and Breakfast offers five spacious, elegant guest rooms, excellent amenities, and a panoramic ocean view. Located at 300 feet elevation, the Inn offers seclusion and privacy, and is within walking distance (.8 mi) of Kealakekua Bay. Amenities include swimming pool and hot tub, wireless broadband internet access, laundry & BBQ facilities, guest office, and guest great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luana Inn Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing