We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Luanna Inn!”
Review of Luana Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luana Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved the Luanna Inn!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We just returned from a wonderful two week visit to Hawaii (Kauai and the Big Island). We chose the Luanna Inn for our base for visiting the west side of the Big Island, and we are so glad we did! The location is perfect - a short distance away from two of the best snorkeling spots in the state (Two Step and Kealakekua Bay).

The Inn itself is very comfortable with gorgeous sea views from the terrace. We loved watching the sunsets from the hot tub and the pool - just fabulous!

Erin and Ken, their darling sons and sweet dog, Charlie, were so friendly and really made us feel at home. They provided excellent suggestions for outings, including kayaking/snorkeling and night snorkeling with manta rays!

And the breakfasts! Wow! We are vegan and they were extremely accommodating, making us fabulous dishes like tofu scramble (with tofu made in Hilo), pancakes, scones and a lovely polenta pie, topped with tomatoes. There was always beautiful fresh fruit, homemade granola, toast, juice, plant-based milks, etc. to boot. Truly a vegan paradise!

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LantzMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    32
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
254
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Luana Inn was an amazing place to stay in Captain Cook. It is such a convenient location, so close to bay and Captain Cook Monument with multiple attractions surrounding it. And if you just want to stay in there is plenty to do with DVD rentals, a BBQ, pool, board games, etc. Close to great food and not too far from Kona.

They have great tips on places to check out and ways to keep to a budget. Breakfasts are absolutely delicious and they are such a beautiful and kind family that make you feel like you're home away from home. Another perk that came in so handy was that they have laundry available on site for free (laundry detergent included).

I will certainly be coming back again and highly recommend it to others, families included!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were looking for a warm and sunny location for a few days after just over a week spent near Hilo and in Volcano. Ken and Erin, and not forgetting their charming two young sons, proved to be wonderful and kind hosts, with nothing too much trouble. There is a charming small beach just down the road, with snorkelling gear available for hire at the Luana Inn, and many other places close at hand. It was great to be able to cook our own dinners using the poolside BBQ, and to relax after a tough day on the beach by swimming in the pool. Lovely breakfasts, and we appreciated Ken and Erin taking the time to provide much useful information and discuss just about any topic that came to mind. We found it was sometimes hot by the sea, nicely warm a few hundred feet up at Luana Inn, and if it became too warm all you had to do was move up to the coast road where it always seemed cooler and (in the afternoon) sometimes a little damper.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMPLONDONUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Owners Ken and Erin have created a little garden of eden on the Big Island. It's a place where travelers can find comfortable lodging with beautiful sunset/ocean views at a reasonable price. They create a tasty morning breakfast every day. And they are fabulous hosts who can provide helpful information about local events and destinations. Indeed, we really feel like family whenever we return. Looking forward to our next stay with them!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahoiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

From the photos posted online, we were sure that the Luana Inn would be beautiful. However, the photos don’t do this lovely place justice. We stayed with Erin & Ken for 9 nights in June 2014 when we visited the Big Island to get married at Hawai’i Volcanoes National Park. They truly treated us as family in their home. The view from our room was spectacular – we loved to watch the sun set nightly from the pool or hot tub. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and Erin even picked us a white pineapple on our last day. Our hosts made sure that we had anything we needed – snorkel gear, towels, a sack breakfast on a day we had to leave before breakfast was served. They anticipated every need that we might have. John had a surgery prior to the trip and we were concerned about his comfort in sleeping, as sometimes he has to sleep in a sitting position. Erin & Ken made sure John had a recliner available in the room upon our arrival. The breakfasts that they created for us were the absolute best meals we had the entire time we were on the island. Erin & Ken knew every great place to visit – the touristy places as well as the more private attractions. We love children and found their boys to be very entertaining, and we enjoyed visiting their dog, Charlie. The Inn was very private and secluded, which was exactly what we wanted. We are so thankful we chose the Luana Inn instead of a giant resort with millions of other guests, and we can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed in any of these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandLaura2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moran, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My granddaughter and I stayed here for 10 days in June, 2014. The property is beautiful with a lovely pool, hot tub, great landscaping and a superb view. The room is clean and nicely furnished, not too fancy but functional. This is a rural location with a true local experience. Be sure and get some fresh fish and steak at the local grocery and grill them on the lanai. We enjoyed the beach accessories, snorkel gear and even DVD's. Thanks to Ken and Erin!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJBraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a place we will continue to stay when we visit the Big Island! We love Ken and Erin and their kids are great! They truly treated us like family. The rooms and property are nice and the food for breakfast is outstanding. Great location, quiet with BEAUTIFUL views. Lots to do nearby. Definitely "our place" when we plan return visits!

Room Tip: The upper units (unattached to the house) allow for more room and privacy. We loved having the sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRomaCottle-Woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
13.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
7.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#2 of 15 in Captain Cook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Inn

Property: Luana Inn
Address: 82-5856 Napoopoo Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8210
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luana Inn Bed and Breakfast offers five spacious, elegant guest rooms, excellent amenities, and a panoramic ocean view. Located at 300 feet elevation, the Inn offers seclusion and privacy, and is within walking distance (.8 mi) of Kealakekua Bay. Amenities include swimming pool and hot tub, wireless broadband internet access, laundry & BBQ facilities, guest office, and guest great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luana Inn Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing