We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view from edge of the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B
Ranked #7 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Bratislava
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic view from edge of the world”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Located in the working rural farm in Big Island. Exceptional experience. Fantastic view and great breakfast. This is not hotel, this is much more. 45 min drive from an airport, you need to use detailed Kurt's instrucion to get there. You can use good working internet but there are problems with signal for mobile phones.
.
I just want to retire in paradise like this :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    15
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
56
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Arriving at night, driving to The Edge down a narrow, windy, hilly road, following Kurt's explicit instructions left me thinking, what have I gotten us into and my husband thinking what has SHE gotten us into? No worry, it's just an adventure that ends up great!
If you want comfort and informality, along with fabulous views from the rooms and the balconies (or lanai's), wonderful hosts who are welcoming, with a genuine interest in providing any and all the information/suggestions we wanted, this is the place to be. Kana made delicious breakfasts which included fruits(many of which were new to us) and flowers some of which were picked just before being served on the balcony with beautiful views. Kurt had lots of great ideas, wonderful coffee grown right on the land, and was himself a really down to earth, kind and interesting person. Their delightful 6 year old daughter Jenna loved interacting with us and we loved her energy and enthusiasm. Kurt and Kana often felt she might have been being intrusive long before we did. We were there for 6 nights and loved it. Wish there were more places like this! Thank you Kurt and Kana and Jenna Jean, Raleigh, NC

Room Tip: We had the room upstairs which I think was larger than the other 2 and was the only one that had a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gina3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My sister and I really enjoyed our stay at the Edge and wished we'd been able to stay longer. Kurt and Kana are wonderful hosts and their home is comfortable and unpretentious. We liked the Nut Room--a great value for the price. The grounds are lovely and the views of the ocean are great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Kurt and family were extremely friendly and accommodating. We loved the room, the view and the whole house. We brought our two young kids and they felt comfortable roaming the grounds and enjoyed playing with Kurt's daughter Jenna. The breakfast was excellent, featuring fresh fruit and a variety of main dishes. Kurt was an excellent tour guide, offering great insights into local activities as well as a botanical tour of his property. We stayed in the "crow's nest" and had a wonderful view of the Kona coastline. We would recommend the Edge to everyone and hope to return someday!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pampigny, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Recommended by friends who were there last October! What a good recommendation, thank you to our friends Doris and Eric. The Pacific Room is great! Then, the breakfast waw the breakfast!
Thank you to our host Kana, Jenna and Kurt!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnickOly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean View, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We have stayed here four times and love it at "The Edge". It is a working coffee and macadamia farm in the Kona Coffee Belt giving such a sweet feel of Old Hawaii. Oh, did I mention that it has an absolutely killer ocean view from the lanais! Kealakekua Bay and Two Step Beach is close for kayaking, snorkeling and just watching the dolphins (and a kayak is available for guests from this B&B.....no charge). The City of Refuge is close by too as well as the ever popular Coffee Shack restaurant and other great eats (like the Manago Hotel's famous pork chops). Kurt & Kanae, our host & hostess, have always been very friendly with many interesting conversations and know the Big Island's "must see" places. They even had great suggestions for staying on the Hilo side of the island. The bed was very comfortable and the quiet was refreshing after the bustle and fun in Kona town too. We always recommend "The Edge" to our friends visiting the Big Island. We love this place!

Room Tip: Well, the best room is The Crow's Nest. Private lanai and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Advantages:
* great coffee for breakfast
* yummy breakfast (fresh fruit, pancakes)
* free wifi in the room
* very friendly and helpful hosts
* price
* nice room
* out of civilization :)
* possible to rent snorkeling gear (free)
* beautiful view from the balcony where we had breakfast
* great garden (actually a coffee farm)

Disadvantage:
* the middle part of the driveway is not fully paved and quite steep

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
1.2 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
290 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
6.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,190 reviews
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B

Property: A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B
Address: 82-5889 Old Government Road, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tremendous ocean views, peaceful, excellent snorkeling, ocean kayaking, beaches,hikes. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Up-scale quality and down-scale prices. Excellent value. English, Japanese, Korean, German and Spanish spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Beautiful Edge Of The World B&B Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing