We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful......everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Bayview Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Captain Cook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Bayview Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
madison, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful......everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

waking up in the morning to the view of the ocean, and all the beautiful colors and tropical landscaping.......and the mouth watering aromas from the kitchen.......heaven. Our room was imaculate, with beautiful furnishings and ocean view from the bed. Breakfast included more varied fruit than I've ever consumed in one meal. Much of it was freshly picked by owner Pat, from her gardens. The avocado with salsa and feta cheese was an unexpected treat. We all sat at the breakfast table and visited, with Pat giving us tips on where to go and helping us plan our day. She provides a list of restaurants located close by, and both we tried were very good.
The big lanai is like an outdoor living room, cool and comfortable, beautiful island style furniture. Great for reading, relaxing, visiting or just gazing at the ocean. Sunsets here are unforgetable.

Room Tip: we liked our room, the tropical room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
42
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have been happy campers at Pats B&B 5 times now with the next visit for 12 days in Nov./Dec. The reasons for returning have beeen stated by other guests but include some of the best snorkeling anywhere just a short drive down the hill.
Pat has alwways been a gracious host. The breakfasts she fixes were always very good, consisting of fresh picked papaya, pineapples, avocado and whatever else could be foraged.
Our last trip was Nov. 2011 for 3 weeks and we have friends who were able to come over and spend time with us. Lots of fun.
The driveway can be a chalenge the first time down but the learning curve is a short one.
Bottom line is we like it there,and we'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was our first visit to the Big Island. We couldn't have made a better choice than the seven nights we spent at the Kona Bayview Inn. Away from the crowded tourist area, yet close enough to any activities and restaurants, if you want. The room was clean and airy. The breakfasts on the lanai were excellent, with good discussions around the table with the other guests. Pat, the innkeeper and owner, was very attentive and was an active part of the conversation. Having lived on the Island for many years, she was a wealth of knowledge for any questions we had. The views of the ocean from the lanai are spectacular and if you are in luck, you might even catch a green flash at sunset!! If we ever get back to Hawaii, we will definitly be knocking on the door.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RJ r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We loved our 4 days at the Bayview Inn. Pat is a relaxed and gracious hostess, and her home is perfect for a B&B. Each room has its own entrance and opens onto a common lanai (porch) so it's an easy way to make connections with other guests, while viewing the wonderful view of the sea and Kealakakua Bay. A table on the lanai, a refrigerator, and paper plates and other convenience items are provided so we could enjoy our own takeout dinner with this beautiful view. Rooms are simply and tastefully furnished. Excellent breakfasts were served on the lanai as well. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Valley, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Let me preface this review by saying that I've now had the pleasure of staying at Kona Bayview Inn 4 times since 2007. The fact that I keep going back should speak volumes.

Let's break this down by each aspect of the stay:

Price: You COULD stay in one of the nearby hotels and spend $300+ a night EASILY or you could stay at Kona Bayview Inn (which I'm just going to call KBVI for brevity) at nearly a third the price.

KBVI Geography: First, the view from KBVI is amazing. You're at about 700 feet elevation and have a panoramic view of Kealakekua Bay and the Pacific Ocean. The sun rises behind you so you're never woken by the sun blazing in your window. It also means the rooms stay cooler longer. And since the sun rises behind KBVI, it sets in front of it which means front row seats to amazing sunsets.

Location: KBVI is centrally located to all the best attractions on the island. You're about equidistant from Volcano National Park, Waipio & Polulu Valley, South Point and Mauna Kea. It means never having to switch hotels since you can pretty easily get to all the best sights. Of course you are just minutes from the best snorkeling in Hawaii (IMHO) at Kealakekua Bay and the Pu`uhonua o Honaunau (Place of Refuge) National Park is just a few minutes away too. The other nice part is that you are fairly close to the main road that circles Hawaii (Mamahaloa Rd - aka Rt 11). But you're enough off the beaten track that there is practically NO traffic and the only real noise around are the calls of the birds in the morning and a light breeze that rustles the palm trees. You're also close enough to Kona that it's a fairly short drive into town if you need to stop by Walmart for supplies.

Rooms: The rooms are well equipped and are very clean. There are 4 different rooms (I've stayed in 3 of them) and they all have ceiling fans which is nice. Power plugs are abundant (which is essential for a techie like me). All of them feature ocean views and have a sliding glass door (with curtains of course) that opens up to the lanai (a ground level covered porch for mainlanders unfamiliar with the term). The sliding doors all have screens although when I've been there bugs have never been a problem (indoors or out). Another reviewer mentioned geckos - first, let me say, on Hawaii they are everywhere - but there are probably less in the area of KBVI then elsewhere I've been on the island. Secondly, I've never ever had problem of them getting in my room. The screens on the doors and windows are in good shape and are very effective. Lastly - they're more afraid of you then you are of them - the moment you get within a few feet of them, they usually scurry off. (Which usually foils my many attempts to photograph the cute little buggers, haha)

Grounds: It's apparent that the grounds are well cared for. The lanai is always clean and the lawn is always mowed. It's the type of grass so thick you can just go out, lay down on, and take a nap...I think I have once or twice ;) The driveway in is a bit steep but it's all concrete and in good shape and plenty wide enough for any car/truck. I've even had low to the ground sports-type cars in and out of there and have never even come close to bottoming out (so I have no clue what the heck another reviewer was talking about)

Amenities: Free WiFi (high speed internet). There are racks on the lanai to dry towels/bathing suits and a fridge to store leftovers/beverages. There is ample (comfortable) seating in the form of wicker couches/chairs on the lanai and a few beach chairs out in the sunny area facing the ocean. (Sometimes it's nice to take a nap out there instead of going to the beach as if it's a bit too warm at the beach, it's usually more temperate at KBVI due to the 700ft altitude). There is also a microwave, coffee pot and a bookshelf with several Hawaii themed reading materials which is a nice touch.

Breakfast: This deserved a section all on its own. To put it as succinctly as I can, I still have dreams about the mango and papaya from those breakfasts (you can't get anything nearly as good here in Connecticut). Each morning there is freshly brewed Kona coffee (yup, the good stuff). (By the way, ask Pat, the owner and hostess, where to get fantastic Kona coffee at a great price - way cheaper than those tourist trap coffee mills and just as good if not better). Now, I'm not normally a coffee drinker but I'll help myself to a cup...or three of Kona coffee. Second, there is always fresh fruit, picked daily right on premises. Mango, papaya, bananas...I'm starting to salivate just thinking about it. And there is always some sort of daily special she brings out too which is always delicious. You never leave the breakfast table hungry.

The Owner/Hostess: Pat, the owner and hostess is always cheerful whenever we've been there and always has great ideas and suggestions to help make our trip even better. She has great knowledge about all the beaches the tourists don't know about so don't be afraid to ask her where the best spots are. It's clear she cares about her guests and does whatever she can to make sure they enjoy their stay.

Final Words About KBVI: A great price, friendly service, delicious breakfast, great location. It all adds up to a Hawaiian bargain. I would most definitely recommend Kona Bayview Inn.

A couple other things nearby worth checking out:
Big Jake's BBQ - About 5-8 minutes away by car, this is a place with REALLY good BBQ. I usually get a whole rack of ribs and head down the the picnic area at Place of Refuge National Park and relax while eating lunch/dinner at least once during a trip.

Kona Coast Macadamia Nut and Candy Factory - Just a few minutes from KBVI at hte end of Middle Keei Rd. (going south) - I've never been there while the factory was in action, but they do have a little gift store there with REALLY GOOD macadamia nuts (salted/unsalted/hot etc), chocolates and other assorted goodies. Everything looks homemade (and tastes like it too - i.e. Delicious). Definitely worth it to pick up a few snacks for the road as you go on your adventures.

About the Reviewer:
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Types of travel: Adventure/Activity Based (hiking/biking/exploring/kayaking)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank clarksbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Couldn't have asked for more. Centrally located but quiet area. Breakfast was phenomenal, views spectacular, and host was very accomodating. Good deal financially.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

The view from the lanai of the bay is incredible! The orchids on the lanai are gorgeous! Excellent breakfast!

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank KuuleiRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
14.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.7 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.8 mi away
Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center
26.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Bayview Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Bayview Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kona Bayview Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 83-5605 Middle Keei Rd, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8315
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and quiet country setting in a 40 acre macadamia orchard. Lovely villa style home with beautifully furnished guest rooms, all with ensuite baths and ocean view. Immaculate housekeeping, friendly and helpful hostess. Two miles to the best snorkeling and kayaking on the island. Hour and a half to the volcano, and several good hikes closer by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Bayview Inn Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing