We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Sea Village Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Tiki Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
402
18
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
18
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf bathoutdoor showermango juicebrowniethe main houseback porchb bthe big islandlava showermountain roomegg bakeocean viewday bedgreat hostsevery morningshared bathroomour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I don't even know where to begin! This B&B was so amazing.

When we first arrived we were told that Michael had made brownies, they were fresh out of the oven and ready for us. They treated us so well we didn't want to leave.
The breakfasts were amazing. Fresh fruit; mango, papaya, pineapple, lilikoi, finger bananas, and last but not least Dragon Fruit, my favorite! Hard boiled eggs, cereal, fresh juices, milk, coffee, fresh made smoothies. Also, either Greg or Michael would make one main dish for breakfast. French Toast, turkey bacon, egg sandwiches, egg bake... Oh soo GOOD!

We stayed in the Mountain Room, it had it's own half bathroom. This room has a firm mattress. It would be really good for people that need a firm bed.

The view was amazing. There is a swing from the mango tree outside. There are also a few friendly animals that stop by and hang out for a while. Betty, a Border Collie, is the sweetest dog I've ever met. Just plain adorable.
There are so many good things to say about this wonderful Garden of Eden. Greg and Michael were there for us every morning giving us tips, directions and advice for our adventures on the island. One more thing, remember to buy coffee beans from them! You are staying on a Coffee plantation after all, and the coffee is SO YUMMY!

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side of the house are quieter
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minkewaleveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our tour around Hawaii. If we came here first I don't think we would have left. Greg and Michael were brilliant hosts. We were offered fruit juice and macadamia nuts on arrival and told to make ourselves at home. Our stay felt just like home. The breakfasts were amazing and what could be better than sitting on the veranda admiring the amazing view. I would definately come back here and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squirrel_shire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We loved waking up to the beautiful ocean view, outdoor lava rock showers, and delicious breakfasts. The location is within a short drive to the best snorkeling and kayaking on the island. We were amazed by the warmth and hospitality of the hosts, Greg and Michael. The attention to the smallest details was amazing. Make sure you try the close-by Keei Cafe and order their Catch of the Day with Thai Curry. We will surely return on our next trip to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Every room we we saw was nice, but the upstairs, ocean view rooms were special.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortlandGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We were blown away by this beautiful property, and also the warmth and graciousness of the hosts, Michael and Greg. The plantation features sweeping views of the ocean and Kealakekua Bay -- all of which you can enjoy from a large covered wrap-around deck. On our arrival, we were greeted with a plate of fresh fruit and juice -- not to mention a few curious geckos!

We stayed in the cottage, which is outside the main house, and has its own full bathroom. It also has all the basics, including a small kitchen and a TV. It was a neat experience falling asleep listening to the sounds outside through the screens. We did have a few rainy nights that turned quite cool. There are extra blankets & even robes provided inside the cottage. If we're lucky enough to go back, I would probably try to book a room or suite inside the main house.

Michael and Greg were always happy to chat, and offer information and advice about the island. The breakfasts were amazing -- I was especially impressed by how Michael remembered my spouse's dietary needs and went out of his way to prepare alternate meals. That kind of care & attention is what truly sets this bed & breakfast apart. We felt right at home -- and what a beautiful home it is.

I have seen references to the driveway in past reviews & just wanted to assure anyone who is curious: while it is steep in places and narrow, we were driving a standard rental car (no 4WD) & never had a problem. One more note -- if you're planning on kayaking the bay to do some snorkeling around the Captain Cook monument, the tour company Adventures in Paradise is just a few minutes down the road.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sketchy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I've never felt more comfortable staying at a B&B. Michael and Greg were more than friendly and accommodating. There was a wide assortment of delicious food for breakfast including fruit grown on the premises and a very tasty entree along with locally grown Kona coffee and assorted breads, cereals, etc.

The weather is perfect in that area, and there is plenty of seating on the porch with amazing views overlooking the ocean. There is plenty to do in the area, but it's also a great place if you just want to kick back with a good book for a few hours or take a nap on the day bed.

We stayed in the cottage which was apart from the main house. The bed was very comfortable and there was a nice location for a smaller bed for our son. The cottage kitchen was well stocked and very clean. My only critique was that the cottage is a little rustic and thus smelled a little stuffy.

I would definitely stay again and look forward to my next trip to the big island!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews