We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality was Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ranked #1 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mill creek, washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Hospitality was Great!”
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This was our first experience with a B & B on the big island of Hawaii, as we have always stayed in a hotel when we visited the island. Since one of our daughters lives in Kealakekua, we wanted to stay in a place that was close by. My husband and I were traveling with another daughter and her two children, ages 11 and 14. I was dubious about staying in a B & B because I like privacy, and I wasn't sure if the children would have enough to do. Needless to say, the kids had a great time and were never bored.

Greg and Michael were such gracious hosts. The Plantation reminded me of a southern mansion complete with a big porch overlooking the bay that included big rocking chairs. It was a wonderfully relaxing experience eating our breakfast in the morning on the porch.

The breakfasts were delicious and well planned each day. There was enough to eat for even our pickiest eater! Different menus were prepared each day, and we looked forward to each morning to see what was on the menu. The turkey bacon was to die for, the scrambeled eggs with spinach and cherry tomatoes was delicious (I'm not an egg eater) and the blueberry pancakes were as light as a feather. The breakfasts also included a variety of fresh locally grown fruit, juice, smoothies, breads, muffins, some kind of meat - something for everyone!!

The kids and I all agreed we will definately return!

  • Liked — Comfortable and food was great!
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pamorrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
301
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

It's really difficult to find anything bad to say about this place. We stayed for four nights in the downstairs suite with private bath. The setting, the location, the furnishings, the hospitality are all first rate. We loved the outdoor lava walled shower, the hot tub and the breakfasts! The view (when not vogged in) is incredible and the location is great for hitting the beaches up north or the volcano to the east. There are also plenty of good restaurants along that stretch of the highway. Michael and Greg are gracious and friendly hosts. Our time here was much more enjoyable than the big hotel complexes and cheaper too! I already miss sitting on the peaceful lanai looking out at the bay. We will definitely return to Ka'awa Loa

  • Liked — Friendly staff, breakfasts, serene setting
  • Disliked — Steep driveway!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jsv888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2008

We stayed at the Ka'awa Loa Plantation in their little converted guest cottage for 9 nights and had a wonderful time! It was perfect for our little family (2 adults and a 3 year old) - and Michael and Greg were wonderful hosts! It was great to have our own full bath, but we only used our tub once - opting for the outdoor showers up at the main house. Our hosts invited us to cook some dinners up at the main house and joined us, along with other guests, a few times. The breakfasts were varied, but always tasty and they made a special effort to make my daughter feel comfortable and welcome. The sweet neighbor dog, Bette, provided hours of fetching entertainment. Overall, we had a wonderful time and hope to return again!

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Not close to amenities - had to drive everywhere
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LinSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

The entire Inn is really beautiful. It hits you as you walk through the front door and see the sweeping views. We stayed in the Ka'awa Loa Suite for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier. The room was beautiful, very roomy, and had a nice large bathroom and walk-in closet. Gregory and Michael are very gracious hosts and offer a wealth of information on the area and activities. They are less than 10 minutes from the kayak rental to get you to the bay for snorkeling - highly recommended.

The breakfasts are amazing. These guys can really cook. They offer fresh fruit (from their plantation property) each morning, smoothies, breads and much more. Gregory's banana bread is heavenly. We'll never have banana bread that good again - until our next visit. The wrap-around lanai offers plenty of places to have breakfast or relax on your own, or if you want to mingle, guests tend to gather at the table in the kitchen. They have a beautiful property and the gardens are immaculately kept by Michael. They have a new hot tub and steam sauna...but we didn't have a chance to take advantage of them. Hopefully next time.

Highly recommended - it would be silly not to stay here.

  • Liked — The owners really make the place amazing
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2008

I've stayed in many B&Bs, and I'm not exagerating when I say this is the best ever. Greg and Michael are amazing hosts, and the grounds, rooms and common space are all spectacular -- as is the view. The attention to detail -- in how the various spaces work and how they look, how the guests are treated, and how the grounds are lovingly cared for makes this a very special place. We had so much fun here, we hated to leave -- and indeed, we felt like spoiled brats when we stayed in our next couple of places, wishing for the personal attention we'd gotten from Michael and Greg and the exceptional comfort of Ka'awa Loa Plantation! From our first email interaction to the morning we left, including great breakfasts, comfortable beds and rooms, hot tub and spacious outdoor lavarock showers, an amazing indoor bathroom, beautiful views, great information on what to do-where to go-where to eat, interesting fellow guests, and fun conversations with Greg and Michael, this was a FABULOUS place to stay. Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — We loved everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2008

If we had known then what we know now we would have spent many more than a mere two nights at Ka'awa Loa.

Mike and Gregg - what can we say? Your welcome to your home was unsurpassed. You made us feel like old friends.

Many memories will remain for years - the view, the sunset, the hot tub, the lava showers, the breakfasts, the pupus and not forgetting Betty's demands for her stick to be thrown time and time again.

On top of all this you managed to provide a wonderful mix of fellow guests. A verrrrrrrrrry enjoyable experience.

You guys deserve to be No1 in Captain Cook and beyond.

Adrian & Annabel

  • Liked — Can't decide - all good!
  • Disliked — Too short a visit
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thenorwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2008

Ka'awa Loa Plantation is a great place to stay on the sunny side of Big Island. We stayed in the suite which is just fabulous. Everything's very tidy and clean and very tastefully furnished. Very nice veranda which is accessible for all guests with great view of the ocean +jacuzzi+ sauna in the garden. Greg and Michael are perfect hosts and their breakfast is just great. It felt like home. We can recommend it a 100%. Good price-value. We'd definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Duesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
12.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
36.6 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
32.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
24.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'awa Loa Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'awa Loa Plantation

Property: Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Address: PO Box 1280, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-1280
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'awa Loa Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, plantation-style B&B ideally located directly above Kealakekua Bay. Offers luxury amenities such as an outdoor hot tub, a traditional Hawaiian cedar steam, outdoor lava rock showers, a wrap-around lanai with a Hawaiian daybed, a fireplace, and an unobstructed view of the South Kona coastline! The perfect place to base your Big Island adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ka'awa Loa Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Awa Loa Plantation Hotel Captain Cook
Ka'Awa Loa Plantation Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing