We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ranked #1 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we were so lucky to start our trip here. We were welcomed like family into a spacious, well appointed home. The inn keepers were warm, enthusiastic, and helpful. There was always someone to offer advice, make a reservation, or just chat about the day. Our favorite things here??? Early morning coffee watching the bay and planning our day. Sitting on the lanai chatting with guests. The outdoor shower- what a treat! A bit out of the main town, but there are SO many great things to do within a short drive. JUst down the hill is Manini BEach- gorgeous coral and lava rock pebble beach- we saw our first sea turtle there. Stop at the local farmers markets to sample local foods, produce, crafts. Don't miss the Coffee Shack or the Kava rstaurant in town for great Hawaiin food.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cottage which is a small private building, very quiet, but a bit more rustic than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNSNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the end of our honeymoon trip a year ago. It's a beautiful place and the owners are very friendly and helpful. They've got an outdoor shower and have wonderful smelling shampoo and body wash that they make themselves and I swear I took 3 showers a day! The breakfasts are fresh and delicious and when we'd eat on the patio we'd have a little mutli-colored lizard visit us and even eat off our plate. The property is covered in lust vegetation and the view of the bay is perfect. One of the owners suggested we visit the bay in the morning to see the dolphins and you can even jump in a swim with them (for free!!). I would love to go back. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

You stay in this place makes your visit to Kona more beautiful. Nice rooms, nice host, great breakfast, nice view and you can borrow snorkel gear they keep in their garage. Is close to a great beach where you can snorkel properly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smeetsbianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We really had a wonderful time here! The house is lovely, rooms are decorated with a big sense for the small details. Breakfast was great, couldnt be any better! We also enjoyed the great views from the lanai, the friendly hosts and the cute geckos! What a beautiful b&b ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knuffi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is such a beautiful and relaxing B&B! Its so comfortable , you don't want to leave! As you entered the front door, you feel so welcome and the views are breathtaking! You could spent the entire day lounging on the lanai! But there 's lots to do around! Nice beaches in the proximity and great snorkeling! But we couldn't wait to go back to have our shower in the fantastic outdoor lava rock shower and then cocktail on the lanai! Michael & Greg are great hosts with lots of suggestions for actvities and dining around! Mi's Italian Bistro in Kealakekua was the best!
We were traveling with our 2 kids ( young adults) , and we had a lovely room with a shared bathroom ( this was never a problem, as the other rooms have their own 's) and our kids had a perfect room with 2 twin beds! ( way better than what they would get on their own in an hostel!!!)
One evening we went night diving , did not get to see any manta rays :( but we were greeted with a nice post-it on the front door: Brownies in the kitchen!!! How is this for a great hospitality!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I'm not sure what we loved more....the view from the lanai, the scrumptious breakfast, the hosts, the relaxing environment, the location, or the super cool out door showers! Everything about this place makes it special and such a wonderful place to stay. My husband and I stayed here for three nights in April and would go back in a heart beat. The driveway had us in tears laughing so hard as our super crappy rental car struggled to make it up the drive. We sat on the porch and read and just watched the ocean. Our rental car freaked out at the local grocery store and they were more than helpful in sorting things out. Next time we'll be bringing along some friends to share such a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the plantation and loved it. Michael & Greg do a fantastic job. Our room was immaculate and every detail was well thought out. Michael greeted us in the morning with a wonderful breakfast. There was always fresh fruit, breads, homemade preserves, eggs, bacon, homemade banana pancakes and of course the delicious coffee they grow on the property. We enjoyed our breakfast on the lanai over looking the Kealakekua Bay. The view was spectacular! The property is beautiful and well maintained. We enjoyed showering in the outdoor shower after spending the day at the beach. We felt like we were visiting family while staying there. Michael gave us tips on places to eat in the area and he was right on! We'd love to go back and visit again. This B&B is a short distance south of Kona and worth the trip. There's a black sand beach not far away and a quaint town to have lunch or dinner. You'll get a feel for life on the Big Island and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
0.6 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Kona B&B
Belle Vue Kona B&B
#3 of 15 in Captain Cook
261 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
588 reviews
15.4 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
178 reviews
24.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'awa Loa Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'awa Loa Plantation

Address: PO Box 1280, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-1280
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range: £108 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'awa Loa Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, plantation-style B&B ideally located directly above Kealakekua Bay. Offers luxury amenities such as an outdoor hot tub, a traditional Hawaiian cedar steam, outdoor lava rock showers, a wrap-around lanai with a Hawaiian daybed, a fireplace, and an unobstructed view of the South Kona coastline! The perfect place to base your Big Island adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ka'awa Loa Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Awa Loa Plantation Hotel Captain Cook
Ka'Awa Loa Plantation Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing