We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, easy B&B in South Kona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ranked #1 of 15 Captain Cook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Friendly, easy B&B in South Kona”
Reviewed 10 January 2009

The owners Greg and Michael are very helpful and put alot of effort into making everyone feel comfortable and at home. Their customer service is really the selling point for this B&B - if you need something - just ask them and off they go ('Easy Beans!' says Michael..) to assist you.

This is a very relaxed B&B where you have free access to the kitchen and other communal spaces. The coastal view from the property is spectactular and I enjoyed eating breakfast outside every morning. We rented the suite which was very large and had seperate baths (big) and shower - it may sound funny but even the view from the bathroom was beautiful.

If you are someone who enjoys being with other people (the owners, other guests) and you don't mind a little less privacy (you can hear people talking and walking around) then you will really enjoy this lovely place.

  • Liked — The owners were wonderful
  • Disliked — The room was not cleaned daily (I like the towels picked up, etc...)
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Europe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
297
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

My husband and I stayed at Ka'awa Loa Plantation for 3 nights on our honeymoon. We had never stayed at a B&B before, so were unsure what to expect (especially after coming from the Grand Hyatt on Kauai just before our arrival).

First impression, we had NO reason to worry. If all B&Bs are like this, we'd never stay in a hotel again. We stayed in the suite on the first floor, and were glad we did, as it had it's own bath with rain head shower and sitting area. The suite didn't have a view of the ocean, but the wrap-around porch was FANTASTIC, and for ocean views one only need walk 20 feet to the porch (the ocean view is unbelievable). The driveway up is steep, but added a sense of mystery and isolation. The house had a Gatsby feel, was VERY tastefully decorated (not a garish polyster hybiscus bedspread to be found:-), the bed felt like home, and the fireplace in the common area actually made me exhale audibly my last night there.

Greg was out the week we were there, but I'll give Michael credit...they say Greg is the cook, but Michael is no slouch at breakfast. Great eggs, and sausage, LARGE local continental breakfast spread both mornings. Left both mornings fat and happy. They borrowed mats and boogie boards to us, gave great advice, told great stories, and were easy to be around. They were incredible easy to like, and you could tell that Michael really loved what he did.

Bottom line: Gorgeous house, gorgeous view, gorgeous hosts. 10 out of 10 for us (and we're picky).

  • Liked — Gorgeous house, wonderful hosts
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

We stayed for 4 nights in this beautiful B+B in the hills of Captain Cook which is more Villa style architecure rather then a normal house. The view was fantastic, overlooking the Pacific and the green coast line. The bed room was furnished better then in many 5 star hotels with very tasty decoration and stylish furnature. The B+B has 5 bedrooms but this place is so huge that everybody finds enough privacy if they like. The morning started with a delicious breakfast made by the two great hosts, who read each of your wishes from your mouth before you even open it. Other great feature were a huge kitchen fully equipped, outside showers, a gas BBQ, a Jacuzzi (great during sunset), a couching area and many delightful seating spots around the house. The place was so impressive that we decided to not have dinner outside, but rather BBQ our own meat including enjoying the sunset over the Pacific. We also enjoyed the athmosphere of international travellers passing by this place. Although is has 5 bed rooms, it never felt crowed.

  • Liked — The love and details and openess which the hosts showed towards the guests
  • Disliked — Nothing to report
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Large-Rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los gatos, ca
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

We stayed at Ka'awa Loa as the first part of a three-for-three bed and breakfast program on the Big Island celebrating my 60th birthday. The hospitality from Greg and Michael, along with their local knowledge and recommendations for everything from beaches to kayak rentals to restaurants in Kona, made our stay a wonderful introduction to the island. We were in the large suite downstairs, which was spacious and very comfortable. But most of the time was spent on the lanai or in the kitchen or on the grounds, enjoying the facility and mixing with the guests. I would never go back to the Big Island and stay in a hotel or condo after experiencing the pleasures of this and the other two B&B's that were part of the program. And the breakfasts were terrific.

  • Liked — location and the hosts
  • Disliked — the quality of the stay will depend somewhat on the quality of the other guests.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank callaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

We had a great time there at Greg & Michael's beautiful property and in fact enjoyed it so much that we tried to arrange to go back there rather than spend time at another place we had booked. We appreciated being in the cottage with its private bath and a little extra space to ourselves.

As has already been said, the breakfasts were wonderful and some of the best we have ever experienced in b&bs. For example during our stay we had fresh banana pancakes, smoothies, eggs, sausage, fresh home made muffins and fruits from the property. We really had fun talking with the owners who are very welcoming. The fresh juice and snack when we arrived was appreciated. While we were there, the owners hosted a fish taco dinner and invited the guests. Normally we are not such a fan of too much communal stuff in b&bs but the hosts were so charming that we joined in. Besides, Greg is such a wonderful cook it was too good to miss.

Peace and quiet is very important to us on vacation and so the cottage was perfect for us with a little extra privacy although I think it's great that they do not have TVs etc in the bedrooms in the main house. There are many nice common areas to relax in too and the view from the lanai is so spectacular that we found ourselves just there for the best part of an afternoon, just reading and relaxing.

Finally, we found this to be an excellent location for great beaches and snorkelling at Kealakekua and Two Steps.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Tartanhabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Ka’awa Loa
This place has certainly earned its solid 5’s from everyone, and I can’t add TOO much to the litany of praise. Professionally run (as it should be, since its run by a couple of actual professionals instead of the more typical “hey gang, I’ve got an idea” B&B hosts), it’s gorgeous, friendly, private, wonderful breakfast, great setting, nicely located. We really wanted for nothing, and wish we could have stayed longer. On almost all counts, it’s the best B&B we’ve stayed in anywhere. Period.

  • Liked — A really great inn run by really great people in a really great location. That enough for you?
  • Disliked — Long driveway interesting in a Lincoln Town Car. Why does Hertz even RENT A Town Car on Big Island?
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoAmps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartford ct
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Wonderful B&B. Light and airy home. Great hosts! Will be back!

  • Liked — decor and attention to small details, fresh flowers in outside shower
  • Disliked — small room with half bath
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jpblooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
12.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
36.6 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
12.5 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
24.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'awa Loa Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'awa Loa Plantation

Property: Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Address: PO Box 1280, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-1280
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Captain Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'awa Loa Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, plantation-style B&B ideally located directly above Kealakekua Bay. Offers luxury amenities such as an outdoor hot tub, a traditional Hawaiian cedar steam, outdoor lava rock showers, a wrap-around lanai with a Hawaiian daybed, a fireplace, and an unobstructed view of the South Kona coastline! The perfect place to base your Big Island adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ka'awa Loa Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Awa Loa Plantation Hotel Captain Cook
Ka'Awa Loa Plantation Hawaii/Captain Cook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing