We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True"aloha"...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lai Nani Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lai Nani Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hakalau B&B and Inns
indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“True"aloha"...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed here for 1 week and did not want to leave. Upon arrival we were greeted by Garry and Cory (and Ice,of course) and that started what we thought was the perfect Hawaiian vacation. The accomodations were perfect- comfortable,tastfully decorated and spotless. We thoroughly enjoyed the fantastic pool/lainai area.And kudos to Cory and Garry for what we thought was the most spectacular landscaping we've seen at a private resort ! Every effort was made to make our stay perfect - ziplining,sightseeing and just relaxing. The camraderie with other guests and nearby neighbors made for an exceptionally enjoyable barbeque and evening of fun. Garry and Cory go out of their way to ensure that your visit is exactly the way you want it.
We look forward to returning very soon. Mahalo to Cory and Garry.....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverwatchIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    3
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cotati, Ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights from Aug 31, 2012 to Sept 8th, 2012. This was truly our home in paradise. Garry & Cory were exceptional hosts full of the Aloha spirit and made sure we had everything we needed. The grounds & the bungalow were beautiful, clean & quiet. We stayed here despite having to drive for 2 hours each way in order to dive on the Kona side. We did that for 3 days instead of staying on the other side. That's how much we wanted & enjoyed staying at Lai Nani. Actually, what Garry needs to do is open up another Lai Nani place on the Kona side! Then we'll be all set! We will definitely return to this special place. Thank you to Garry & Cory for making our vacation special!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Although this is classified as a Bed&Breakfast, it really felt much more like a resort when you look at the views and landscaping. It really feels like you're in paradise when you are on this resort. What made this experience very different than the average resort, however, was the owner, Gary. He really makes you feel right at home during the course of your stay. He asked us what our plans were and made some great recommendations. He even let us borrow a cooler of his so we could have a picnic down at a black sand beach before checking out Volcano National Park. I would definitely recommend staying here while you explore everything that the Hilo area offers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jitu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at Lai Nani Resort for 3 nights from July 22nd to July 25th, 2012.

What a great place to stay !!! We had a bungalow next to the swimming pool. The bungalow is identical to what is shown on the website. Very modern, paradisiac location and a charming host (Gary).

Even though it is located next to the Hawaii Belt Highway, noise is not an issue since the building is far away from the road.

I would return to Lai Nani Resort tomorrow morning. It will be definitely on the itinerary should we return to Big Island.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigres62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I have been to the Big Island several times and have visited Hilo on all occassions. We never noticed this location off of Hwy 19. When we were planning this visit we saw this location on line and booked it.

I was skepticle at first. The pictures did not seem to match the island and all the rocky terrain. However, once my wife and I arrived I must say the pictures on line did not lie. The property is magnificent. The grounds are lined with Hawaii's typical color plants, lots of trees and the view was SPECTACULAR.

The cabana was just as described. The bed and bathroom were modern and the small refridgerator and sink were sufficient since we spent very little time there. The bed was very comfortable.

The pool was a 10 step walk from our door and the early moprning swims were great. the pool was warm to 78 degrees which was perfect.

The gated grounds make you feel secure. The owner Gary was very warm and friendly. He shared some of his stories and even took us on a tour in his little quad buggy.

I would recommend this location to anyone planning a visit to Hilo. My wife and I will surely return when visiting Hilo in the future.

Room Tip: Only 1 cabana of 3 has a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keizer, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

If you want a beautiful private resort, this is the place. Gary was very nice and the locals think a lot of him. We did the zip line (which is right across the road) we mentioned where we were staying, everyone smiled and said how much they liked Gary. Thank you for such a nice time. We enjoyed hearing all of your stories. Ken and Robin from Oregon

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Lai Nani resort one evening, while on our honeymoon. We specifically chose this resort so as to have an unobstructed view of the sunrise over the ocean. This resort delivered! Too bad it was raining! The property owner, Gary, was wonderful and very welcoming. We would definitely stay here again when we find ourselves on the Hilo side of the Big Island again. An added bonus is that this resort is across the street from a waterfall and Botanical Garden!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makoridocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hakalau
2.9 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
13.0 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
12.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.3 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
47.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
13.0 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lai Nani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lai Nani Resort

Property: Lai Nani Resort
Address: 31-212 Hawaii Belt Rd, Highway 19, Hakalau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96710
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hakalau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hakalau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lai Nani Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lai Nani is an oceanfront estate on the Hamakua coast of the Big Island of Hawai'i. We offer a quiet, remote, botanical setting 20 minutes from Hilo. This is a private residence which offers 3 separate bungalow style villas with stunning ocean views. We create an environment for the traveler who wishes to experience Aloha without the tourist resort hype. This is quintessential hawaiian living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lai Nani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing