We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my Favorite Restaurants on the Big Island”
Review of Bamboo Restaurant

Bamboo Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Hawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Come to Bamboo for a feeling of the "Real Hawaii". Located in a historic building, we offer lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch, and we invented the Passion Fruit Margarita and Mojito. Browse the gallery for local art and crafts. Come and find the aloha of the islands!
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of my Favorite Restaurants on the Big Island”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We pay the Bamboo Restaurant a visit on every visit to the Big Island of Hawaii. They are roughly sixty miles north of Kona. But the coastal drive up and the mountain drive back is beautiful. Their food and drinks (especially their specialty tea) is great. We normally have fresh fish sandwich or Hawaiian pulled pork. We will be back for more on future trips.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    285
    78
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eudora, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stopped by the Bamboo restaurant in Hawi, Hawaii on the recommendation of a local. We ordered grilled ono and it was delicious. Their gift shop featured work from local artists and the stafff was very friendly and seemed happy we checked them out. If you are fortunate enough to pass through Hawi, be sure to try the Bamboo!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky3851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Missouri
Level Contributor
141 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun, eclectic”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stopped in Hawi looking for lunch on our sightseeing road trip around the area. Bamboo looked interesting and not too crowded. Lunch was good; service was great. About a quarter of the store was a little gift shop which was fun too. Very eclectic Hawaiian decor. I'd like to know more about the history of the building !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KelSchMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for lunch when in Hawi”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We liked this place so much we returned. The first time, I was doing a practice ride for the Ironman and my partner picked up lunch for us and we ate it picnic style on the side of the rode when I was finished with my ride. Then three days later, we wanted to check out the statue of King Kamehameha and the Pololu Valley Lookout, so we came back for lunch to sit in. The staff is very friendly and remembered my partner from the 3 days before. The fish is fresh. My partner had the Noodles with Shrimp in Coconut Curry. His was divine. I recommend to stop here for lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiamiBeachExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lunch”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

awesome coconut curry fish lunch! decor is very local and we almost didn't go inside because there was nobody there at noon. Glad we did give it a try! Not cheap but average prices ($15 per entree) considering the prices on Big Island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Restaurant also viewed

Hawi, Island of Hawaii
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Bamboo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing