We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property
Maunaloa Shores 108 - Hale Honu
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maunaloa Shores 108 - Hale Honu
Maunaloa Shores 108, also known as Hale Honu The condo's walls are nicely decorated with local art - including these honu wall decorations
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Maunaloa Shores 108 - Hale Honu
Maunaloa Shores 108, also known as Hale Honu
The condo's walls are nicely decorated with local art - including these honu wall decorations
Open kitchen keeps the conversations going even while you're cooking.
Granite counters and high end appliances - including a dishwasher!
In addition to the appliances, the cookware and cutlery are top notch as well.
Wood dining table with seating for four
The living has comfy seating including two recliners...
... and a large overstuffed sofa.
Living room opens to the lanai
Dining area and living room
Time to dig in!
Lanai table is the perfect spot for coffee or cocktails.
You even have a partial ocean view from the table.
Two wicker chairs with ottomans round out the lanai furnishings
Mauna Loa Shores' pool, deck and lounge chairs
Bathroom with shower over tub
King Bedroom
King bedroom has a large wall-mounted TV
Queen bedroom
Both bedrooms also have large closets and nice dressers.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 1 review
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jwindsoh
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poorly managed”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This condo was comfortable and good-looking, but the management company Hawaiian Holiday Vacation Rentals does a poor job of managing. We had ripped sheets and they ignored our calls until finally an off-duty staff member took pity on us and delivered new sheets at 9 pm. No bath mat, no beach towels, delivered again at the last minute by the same staff member. Condo itself is fine with snorkeling right next door. Kitchen is difficult to use with all dishes, pots, pans, appliances stored in 2 lower cupboards. It looks spiffy with granite and stainless steel, but is barely functional.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Mahalo for your feedback, Janet. We are saddened to learn that you were not satisfied with our services. You’d called on the second day of your stay to report that the sheets had ripped. We offered to deliver new sheets first thing the following morning, but you made it clear that would not be acceptable. (Once we saw the state of the sheets, we understood; they had been ripped so badly that they could not be put back on the bed) At that point, our operations manager - who was enjoying a rare day off with his family - got up from the dinner table and went sheet shopping so that he could personally deliver new sheets before the 9pm deadline you had established. While he was making the bed for you, you requested more beach towels and a new bath mat, and agreed that delivering these the following day would suffice. He brought the items you’d requested the following morning, as promised. At that time, you seemed very pleased with our services, so we are rather confused about the negative review of our services. The guest experience is everything to us, and we go out of our way to provide excellent service. We deeply apologize for not meeting your expectations.

We are sorry you found the kitchen difficult to use. There are still a few units at Maunaloa Shores that have not been renovated and have the old galley-style kitchens with cabinets both above and below. Based on guest feedback, this more open kitchen design gets far better reviews. The layout really brightens up the space. Guests appreciate that the view is not blocked and that they can carry on conversations with their travel mates in the living room, at the dinner table or even out on the lanai while they are preparing meals. But we do understand that every guest has different preferences! Next time, we recommend unit 306 for you. Of all the units we represent at Maunaloa Shores, it’s the only one with the old style kitchen that has upper cabinets as well as lower ones.

Thanks again for your feedback. We always appreciate criticism - it motivates us to strive even harder to make sure we meet all of our guests’ expectations :-) Aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing