We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Confusion”
Review of The Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bay House
Ranked #3 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“B&B Confusion”
Reviewed 1 July 2008

The Bay House is in a great location and superficially, seems nice. However, I would not recommend it to anyone.

On arrival, I was greeted by the husband. He showed me the room, told me where to park, handed me a cheap eats guide of which he couldn't tell me how to get to the restaurant that I selected, and then buggered off leaving me and my husband to fend for ourselves.

The rooms are nicely appointed, each containing a private balcony, or lanai. However, the garden is overgrown and the mosquitoes come out in full force at dusk which makes it hard to enjoy sitting outside.

Once the sun sets, the mozzies are then replaced with a cacophony of frogs and other insects which makes it near impossible to sleep. Thankfully ear plugs are provided for light sleepers.

There is a small open area when you walk in which is neither a lounging area or proper kitchen. There is a fridge to store food, but no sink for preparation. We brought in food for dinner and I had to search the cupboards for plates, utensils, etc. We had to wash the dishes in our bathroom sink which is a bit weird to me.

The owners were absent throughout most of our stay which is fine if you want privacy but not so great when you need assistance. I had to repeatedly knock on their door before someone answered so that we could get a bread knife to slice a loaf.

The breakfast was cold hard boiled eggs and some fruit and banana bread. The food is left out, so again, no service but help yourself.

I prefer feeling like a welcomed guest in a B&B rather than someone confined to a room whose food is set out for them so this was not the place for me.

I imagine there are more professionally run B&Bs in the area. I would look around before booking this one, despite how well presented it is in photos.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kmagedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiloKine, owner at The Bay House, responded to this review, 11 July 2008
Yikes! We are so sorry you were unhappy here. We wish you had talked to us before time so we could have answered your concerns or rectified the situation. Just a phone call, note, or email would have been nice. We are sorry the big blue binder full of menus, things to do etc. and the book with directions and pictures of our local restaurants sitting on the coffee table did not suffice. We apologize that Tom did not know where the specific restaurant you were looking for was. As for the "garden", this is actually an oceanfront cliff and we, by law, are not allowed to cut down anything on it. This could cause erosion and not only put our own property in jeopardy of falling into the ocean, but also that of all our neighbors. You also mentioned having no sink in the common area. When we applied for the B&B permit years ago, it specifically stipulated that we could NOT have a sink in the guest area. Having a sink, at that time, would have changed our status into an "ohana" or even a vacation rental and our request for the B&B permit would have been denied. We gladly bus all dishes brought out after you have used them. The drawers in that area are full of plates and cutlery for the dedicated use of our guests. As for the coqui frogs, yes, they are definitely a part of the landscape here in Hilo. Ear plugs are provided for your comfort and convenience. Since we are right next to a big jungle, we do have mosquitoes at times. This is because we are in the tropics and it does rain in Hilo. Again, and we cannot emphasize this enough, if you have issues with your accommodations, please, talk to us when you are here! We want you to be happy! Once you leave, it is too late. Your vacation is over. If you had asked us while you were here, we could have explained all these things to you so that you could have a better experience or at the very least had your concerns answered. Thank you.
Tom and Tina Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    39
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
183
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2008

The Bay House was a great get away... much better than a standard hotel. The owners, Tina & Tom, are very sweet and helpful with all your needs wheather about the Bay House or surrounding sights. Beautiful rooms, fantastic breakfast, great view of the bay, and lovely common room with games and tour books on Hilo -- which were also very helpful. Fantastic first stay. Thanks Tina and Tom for going out of your way to make us feel so welcome and confortable. See you both on our next stay.

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean, tropical, and friendly hosts.
  • Disliked — Not enough time to stay as long as we would have liked to.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ETNcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Ditto all the other reviews: satisfying breakfast, delightful hostess, idyllic location, classy decor, sounds of waves and frogs, WiFi, convenient location, and a thoughtful common area for meeting other guests, IF you want. I hesitate to offer any suggestions b/c Tina did SO many things well. But this is a humid climate and you WILL feel clammy after your shower, even with the ceiling fan. All the rooms share the open outside air (teenagers are downstairs), so your use of your room should be relatively quiet. Admitably, we are sensitive to annoying, persistant mechanical noises, but each morning we heard some weirdo, nonstop background noise. Finally, visit the Tsunami Museum AFTER your stay so that the vulnerability of your bed is a done deal. Really, folks, you will leave here feeling happy.

  • Liked — The ambience and the view of the harbor at night
  • Disliked — Mechanical noises
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Beautiful setting, wonderful clean room, yummy breakfast, although there should have been more than one cup of coffee per person available.

The only downside to our visit was the owner Tina--made us feel like we were intruding on her space. Hardly spoke to us except to show us where things where. Surprised to read all the reviews here say she was so friendly, helpful and welcoming.

She was not rude by any means, but it was so strange to stay at a place where you didn't feel welcome. She was very friendly and chatty with other couple, but actually turned her back to us as we left, never said goodbye ,or thanked us for coming. it was weird to say the least. And really, we are real nice friendly people!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank iLuvKona2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2008

My husband and I had reservations at the Bay House Bed and Breakfast, but when ATA went bankrupt we were left without a reasonable alternative to get to Hawaii. I contacted them and they offered to honor our reservation for a year, even though the date for cancellation had already passed. They didn't have to offer this and it made me all the more excited about staying there later this year when we reschedule our trip. Thank you Tom and Tina!!!
Charlene

Helpful?
1 Thank MitchVallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We were only here one night basically long enough to sleep and I'm so sorry because it was such a great location. The rooms were beautiful and it was right on the bay which you could see and hear all night. We also were serenaded all night by a large number of bull frogs! I'm a light sleeper and thought this would be a problem so we closed all the windows and could still hear them. But there were so many and they were so contant that it was white noise really. The frogs are everywhere in Hilo so don't think you can escape them going somewhere else.

Breakfast if served on each persons porch which I liked as an opportunity to just have time with my husband (for those who like visiting with the hosts I guess it does not accomplish that.) It is really convienant to town.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank groundedflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2008

The Bay House B&B is the best ever!!!!
We have been staying there for 10 years, and wouldn't think of going anywhere else in Hilo.
The rooms are always imaculate, beautifully decorated and very comfortable!!!
The breakfasts are first rate, and the owners will accomidate any requests!!
And, oh, the owners!!! They are fantastic!! Not only are they warm and friendly, they are always looking for ways to help their clients out. As an example, this year at Merrie Monarch Festival time (the Olympics of Hula), everyone staying there got leis to wear to the preformance!! And they were special!!!
I can't reccomend this B&B highly enough!!! They more than go the extra mile!!!
Alix and Carroll, Hana, HI

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hueo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
22.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
399 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay House

Property: The Bay House
Address: 42 Pukihae St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay House Hotel Hilo
The Bay House Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing