We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bay House is the Only Place to Stay in Hilo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bay House
Ranked #3 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hana, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bay House is the Only Place to Stay in Hilo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is our second time at The Bay House, and I must say it's absolutely perfect.The rooms are lovely with lots of natural light, fresh flowers, great furnishings and nice-sized, updated bathrooms. My husband and I ate the wonderful breakfast provided by Tina right out on our deck. We watched the ships go in and out of the harbor, and thoroughly enjoyed the show put on by the paddle boarders every morning.
There is so much to do within a 30 mile radius of The Bay House, and we managed to include a few interesting adventures during this trip. Additionally, it's such an easy walk to Old Town Hilo--maybe 5 minutes-- and we took advantage of this feature to eat at some pretty decent restaurants nearby.
All in all, The Bay House is the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    39
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
182
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Staying again at my favorite place in Hilo - the Bay House. Great location right on the bay, walking distance to town. Tom and Tiny are great hosts, the food is delicious, and the rooms are nicely furnished! I'm staying in the Harbor room......heaven!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I recently spent 5 nights at the Bay House. This was my first time to Hawaii and the trip lived up to all expectations. The Bay House was so accommodating and made sure we had all of the assistance or advice on local activities that we asked for. The room (and balcony) were very clean and the entire property was well kept. We could not have asked or expected any more. They even had covered parking for my car!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Bay Room, perfect view, very comfortable and clean room. Tina was an excellent host...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan5591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I can't say enough about how fabulous the BayHouse is to stay at. Tom and Tina are friendly accommodating hosts suggesting great places to see. My husband had a blast golfing. The fresh fruit from the Farmer's market was a delicious treat every morning. After a long cold snowy winter the lush green scenery and warm weather refilled my soul. We delighted in starting the morning with delicious coffee on the lanai listening to the waves and watching the sun come up over the ocean. The bed was very comfortable. In the evenings we walked downtown for supper. We will definitely be back to stay at this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phylis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Nicely appointed B & B. Situated right on Hilo Bay with 3 rooms. We stayed in the Palm room which was on the corner with a great view. Smaller lanai than others, but that was fine as this much more of a base for us to explore the east side. Tina is a nice host and I appreciated her hands off approach with us. I don't love B&B accommodations, but this was the perfect compromise as you had breakfast on your lanai, not making awkward smalltalk with strangers. The room had a warm tropical motif and was comfortable and neat. I had some of the best sleep there and actually woke up once thinking I was home! It was especially nice coming from a few days at the Fairmont which had a corporate feel. The frogs have been mentioned before, but we had no problem close the windows or enjoy them as white noise with the bay waves and remember you are far from home and that is a good thing! Breakfast is delicious and perfectly portioned. You are in a great spot for exploring this side of the island (40 minutes to Volcano and hour to Mauna Kea) and Hilo itself is a fun, albeit a little honky tonk town. Enjoy a little "real" Hawaii and spend a few days here.

Room Tip: Palm Room is on the end and more private, but not the biggest, but in my opinion the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This is an awesome place to stay in Hilo. Tina was the best hostess we have had this far in our travels! Tina's breakfasts are amazing with hot and cold items including fresh fruit! And just enough to eat. I loved the breakfasts because they were well thought out and not just a poptart, bagels, and English muffins thrown at you! Tina goes all out! The best part about this B&B? You don't have to eat breakfast with strangers! I loved that part the best! Thanks Tina for everything! Mahalo Nui! We will be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeialohaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Beautiful, comfortable rooms and wonderful hosts. We loved the delicious breakfast tray set out in the morning to take back to our room to enjoy. Great location just across the bridge from downtown. Easy walk to most attractions. Exceptionally clean! Covered parking.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Palm room and enjoyed being on the end by ourselves. Lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barlar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
22.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
59.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay House

Property: The Bay House
Address: 42 Pukihae St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay House Hotel Hilo
The Bay House Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing