We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room with great view”
Review of The Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bay House
Ranked #3 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Comfortable room with great view”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Bay House is a lovely B&B in Hilo with fantastic views over the bay. Perfect spot to base yourself for exploring eastern side of Island. Only 5min walk into downtown although doing so at night can be daunting as not really footpath and it is a busy road.

We spent two nights in harbour room. Room had big king sized bed, a sofa and small TV. Furnishing a little kitsch but adds to tropical charm. It was wonderful sleeping with ocean breeze and sound of waves crashing against rocks only metres from patio attached to room. My only quibble is bed was a little too soft. Bathroom clean but on small side.

Rooms are in guest wing of owners home. There is a little common room with fridge and glasses etc. Great for storing beers to drink whilst watching the bay. Great breakfast basket served every morning. Owner is attentive by not overly involved. For me this was great as don't feel like being hosted.

The sum it up, was like being left keys to studio at a friends place while they were out of town....and is very good value costing approx $200 a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    39
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
182
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wonderful! We had the harbour room - it is beautiful - views of the harbour and bay in a tranquil setting. The room and bathroom was spacious, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. You have you breakfast on your own private lanai, breakfasts were brilliant - lots of tropical fruit, coffee, juice, cereal, hard boiled eggs, cooked eggs etc - excellent. The free WI-FI was also very good. The house is a short stroll in too old Hilo - so no need to drive. At night it was very relaxing to hear the noise of the ocean and wildlife, and in the morning the bird life - you really feel you are in Hawaii!. Tina is a wonderful hostess who really makes you feel at home.
What more can we say - wonderful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, the bay and harbour rooms have the best views of the sea, but the palm roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hana, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am a repeat visitor to the Bayhouse and it is always a wonderful experience. The accommodations, breakfast and privacy are all top-notch. The location, within walking distance to downtown, is a plus; additionally, it is out of the heavy traffic zone so driving north on the coast road is easily accessible. Booking early is a plus, but always check last minute availability. The owners are wonderful!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have always been a little leery of staying at a bed and breakfast, and this was our first such stay. This experience has totally sold us on the B & B experience. We stayed in the Palm Room, which has great cross ventilation and a comfortable bed and was very clean.

As one other guest said, the Easter Bunny comes every morning and leaves a plentiful and tasty breakfast! The view from the lanai was fabulous. The location was easy to get to and has good access to attractions on either side of Hilo. We highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Palm Room has great cross ventilation, since it is a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogav8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Harbor room. Loved every minute we spent on the lanai overlooking the bay!! Very clean and cozy. Great breakfast. Tina even offered us lasagna for dinner one evening! Can't recommend this place more! You'll be happy you booked here!! Close to everything, yet a real retreat from it all!! We'll be back!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Penny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hana, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is our second time at The Bay House, and I must say it's absolutely perfect.The rooms are lovely with lots of natural light, fresh flowers, great furnishings and nice-sized, updated bathrooms. My husband and I ate the wonderful breakfast provided by Tina right out on our deck. We watched the ships go in and out of the harbor, and thoroughly enjoyed the show put on by the paddle boarders every morning.
There is so much to do within a 30 mile radius of The Bay House, and we managed to include a few interesting adventures during this trip. Additionally, it's such an easy walk to Old Town Hilo--maybe 5 minutes-- and we took advantage of this feature to eat at some pretty decent restaurants nearby.
All in all, The Bay House is the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Staying again at my favorite place in Hilo - the Bay House. Great location right on the bay, walking distance to town. Tom and Tiny are great hosts, the food is delicious, and the rooms are nicely furnished! I'm staying in the Harbor room......heaven!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
22.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
59.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay House

Property: The Bay House
Address: 42 Pukihae St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay House Hotel Hilo
The Bay House Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing