We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private, interesting and immaculate Bay House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay House
Ranked #3 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Private, interesting and immaculate Bay House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2006

We stayed at the Bay House in Hilo during the Merrie Monarch Festival in April 2006. It was my best B&B experience ever. The large, airy rooms are furnished with beautiful Hawaiian quilts and other local crafts, the beds are great, and the family who owns the B&B is helpful, unobtrusive and interesting -- all at once! Each room has a private covered lanai (porch) overlooking Hilo Bay, and you can hear the ocean all night. Bay House is a five-minute walk from interesting shops on the Hilo waterfront. I highly recommend it to just about any kind of traveler.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    39
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
180
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2006

Date: April 6,2006

Just returned from Hilo where we stayed 5 days in the Bay HOuse B and B. We were very impressed by how large and beautifully decorated the rooms were. The entire premise was immaculate-inside and out. The hostess was most charming and extremely helpful in pointing out the local places of interest. Each morning we enjoyed a very delicious (and healthy)
breakfast on the patio which overlooks Hilo Bay. A very nice break from the glitz of big hotel stays. Trip advisor member, Long Beach, N.Y.

Helpful?
6 Thank merriweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2006

We stayed at the Bay House January 18 – 24th, 2006. This was our first experience in a B & B. Since we prefer not to pack and unpack, we decided to try the whole week in one place. We couldn’t have been more pleased. The three rooms are lovely and the hosts are absolutely wonderful. Tina and Tom run a first class B & B, respecting the privacy of their guests. We especially enjoyed having breakfast on our private lanai, which had a lovely view of the harbor. Each lanai is situated so that the occupants of each room have privacy. What a nice idea! We could watch the cruise ships entering and leaving the harbor during the week. We spent each day exploring the island and returned in the evening to the Bay House, our home away from home. If we return to Hilo in the future, the Bay House will be our first choice.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2006

Perhaps the nicest B&B room I have ever stayed in. Everything you need and attractive with the tall ceiling which made it seem very roomy. Obviously recent contruction. The guests have their own wing and common room with refrig, sofa and magazines. There is no A/C and on a rainy nights the frogs are deafingly loud - and it rains often in Hilo. Breakfast is good- fruit, nut bread, yogurt and coffe. The room that shares a wall with the family quarters gets family noise sometimes, but I didn't really mind. A great B&B for people who like privacy - you needn't mingle if you don't care to. Would happily return.

Helpful?
7 Thank Iravros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2006

We have stayed in the Bay House B & B in Hilo many times. The rooms are excellent with great views of Hilo bay with wonderful surf sounds through out the night. The rooms have always been very clean, comfortable, spacious, and well supplied. The breakfast is great with lots of fresh island fruit, eggs, cereal, breads, and more. Tina and Tom are wonderful hosts by taking care of all needs of the guests and providing lots of useful information. They even loaned us chairs for our entire stay in Hawaii eventhough we only stayed at the B&B for two nights. We have always had a wonderful experience staying at the Bay House and strongly recommend it to anyone visiting Hilo. The rates are also very reasonable, especially for a B&B on the waterfront. We have traveled in Hawaii often for the past 14 years and this is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in.

Helpful?
8 Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2006

We stayed here one night upon arriving on The Big Island. We loved the location right on the bay. Our private lanai faced the water and all night we heard the waves roll in. The room was beautifully decorated in Hawaiian style furnishings and the host had thought of lots of details in the room and bathroom. Tina was a wonderful host -- she had great advice about things to do and even gave us a beach towel to take with us when we left, even though we wouldn't be back to return it. We highly recommend The Bay House.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2006

Very tastefully decorated B&B with a lot of privacy. I enjoyed the private breakfast on the lanai instead of eating with a group. There is nothing like falling asleep to the sound of the surf and this house is truly on the bay.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Verbenimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
22.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
59.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay House

Property: The Bay House
Address: 42 Pukihae St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bay House Hotel Hilo
The Bay House Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing