We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "Old Hawaii" Experience”
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Our family stayed for two nights at this great little hotel/motel. This is not a 5 star hotel but we loved it! Reminded me of days past, "old Hawaii", when all the aunties and uncles welcomed you into their home. We chose a "Deluxe Room w/ bay view" well worth the few extra dollars as it gave us a private lanai(porch) on the 3rd floor. Reminder that this property does NOT have an elevator, the stairs are fairly easy to travel up/down even if it was on the 3rd level it really felt more like going up one flight of stairs since the grade was not extremely steep. We noticed that the other rooms, I suppose the standard ones, did NOT have lanais and some had windows that faced the main walkways which cut down on privacy- though some of those rooms did look a bit larger than ours.
The view, as noted by a few other guests, is of a lagoon area not of the entire Hilo bay--this is nice but not as nice as having the view of the bay & Coconut island. Also being on the Hilo Seaside side the coquis frog songs don't seem as loud as they do at the other Banyan Drive hotels. The property does a great job at maintaining their gardens- no coquis inside so we could actually sleep with our windows open- great cool weather in December. :)
Speaking of windows- since this was also mentioned by another guest that they did not like these. The property does have jealousie windows- which for those of you who don't know are glass slated windows, very local style- like I said it reminds me of when I grew up and slept over at aunty's house! If you don't think you can handle those then you shouldn't stay here, unfortunately you will be missing out on some of the best hospitality Hilo has to offer.

Room Tip: Bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diamondleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

We did not expect something special because we were staying there few years ago. Rooms were clean but very simple, dated furniture and unpleasant wet odor that woke us in the night... We heard every cough and talk from other rooms. Yes I know, it´s cheap "Old Hawaii" hotel, nothing more. But this time we felt very uncomfortable in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrcze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The staff here tried to make sure that you had the best time possible while in Hilo and really made you want to come back to visit. I enjoyed every time that I bumped into them and knew that I was gettting an honest answer when I was asking them about what they thought of the things I had planned for the day. They also had good advice on local places to eat. This is not your hilton hotel and it is getting to be a bit run down, but the grounds are perfectly taken care of and they do the best they can with what they have. They may not have the money to update every room, but they will make sure that they do everything they can to make your stay great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emeny10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hotel is reasonably priced and very close to the airport, the room was clean. The carpet in the room made me nostalgic for the 1960s turquoise sea green carpet in my parent's basement. The rooms were tired and the beds were uncomfortable. The light for the bathroom also turned on the room light so if you got up in the night you also woke up your companion. The rooms were noisy with the walkways and adjacent rooms letting in a lot of the conversations of the other guests. Parking was inadequate with a very small amount in front of the hotel, and more in back that required a long walk and up and down several small flights of stairs, the parking lot door is locked at 8:00 PM so if you need to pack your car the night before in the rain, it's not very pleasant. Also women travelers might not feel very safe using the lot at night. The restaurant was adequate but nothing special. We got the address for the hotel from a popular guidebook, that lists it on Banyon Drive ... our GPS thought it was Banyan way ... there are nice beaches nearby. Would not stay here again though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seadart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

didn't really enjoy my stay here because the hotel disappointed in more ways than one. the rooms are not sound-proof so you could here people from the adjacent rooms talking! the windows are window panes facing the corridor, so you could hear people walking past. felt uncomfortable about the lack of privacy.

some power plugs in my room were also not working so we couldn't watch the tv nor charge our phones.

when i flipped opened the blanket, there were ants on the pillow. heard the same thing happened to my friend in another room.

the only good thing about this hotel was the breakfast and free wifi!

glad we only stayed for a night!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenbee006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Hilo Seaside resently and we had a pleasent stay. Not a new place by any means, but clean and very affordable.
They even shipped back our daughters "lost" teddy bear.

Don't miss snokeling with the turtles at the park beside Richardson Park. It is the parking area right before you get to Richardson Park. I have never been there without seeing several sea turtles. The kids loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TNKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

great place for the price
friendly and helpful staff (we missed a plane and the really went out of the way for us...thank you)
maybe not the spot for you if you want to spend al your time in a hotel
although it does have a nice pool area and a relaxing lobby to chill in
but its great for a spot to clean up and bed down
enjoy the include continental breakfast
walk to hilo town and lots of cool stuff nearby
get out and explore!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gregor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
575 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
61.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,231 reviews
60.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4647
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: £93 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing