We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Quickie”
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Reviewed 7 November 2013

For a one night stop before an early flight. The location was good and close to the airport. Located on the Bay with plenty of area to walk around and some restaurants. Would want to spend more time here, basic and comfortable

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carluccio112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Hilo Seaside Hotel is pretty basic, but it's reasonable, and it's in an absolutely lovely area. The street it's on--Banyan Way--is lined with incredible banyan trees, and it leads to a large, manicured park. It's also near the water and the sunset and sunrise views right outside the hotel are perfect.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank one-womans-opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is motel-style accommodation: nothing fancy but it seems there aren't really fancy hotels in Hilo anyway! The room was basic but comfortable and reception was friendly. Had breakfast at the restaurant one day which was nice and decent service. Free wi-fi is available in the lobby. Some people have commented there weren't many car parks available but we never had an issue with this even late at night. Hotel is closely located to airport and short drive to town centre. Good for short stays but probably wouldn't spend longer than a few nights here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geenie_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Had requested cheaper type of accommodation from travel agent in Australia who was unsure of recommending this hotel. We were only staying one night and doing a helicopter flight over The Volcanoes National Park. Hotel was close to the airport and very easy to locate with a map. Was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Presentation was very nice with the fish pond out the front and the garden. Gardens inside the hotel were green and attractive. Lobby and rooms had fresh flowers that were colourful and charming. Room beside the pool was clean and comfortable and as the hotel appeared quiet when we were there we were not disturbed at all by being so close to the pool. The restaurant at the front of the hotel, was friendly reasonably priced and the food was good.

Hotel is located across the road from a lovely bay area and we had a view of the Pride of America which was in port as we took a pleasant walk. I left my camera in the lobby while using the foyer wifi and in the morning it had been handed in by the security guard.

Hotel decor was a bit dated but comfortable and homely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

To me, this is more a motel and not a hotel.
Rooms were OK. The building is from the 50's and you'll see it.
Internet is only free in the lobby. For the WLAN on the room you've to pay extra.
The restaurant from the hotel is also OK. For Breakfast, we took the car and went to the next Starbucks or bought some breakfast the day before (Safeway/Wallmart about 3 miles).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKringel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I live in this town and have in the past frequently used this facility as well as their Kono hotel for friends, family and self but, since new ownership raised prices without added renovations... better to seek out hostel-type accomodations eg. Hilo Tropical Garden, Arnott's Lodge, Backpackers, Wild Ginger. Crummy as some of these are...at least the dollar hit isn't as painful!

Room Tip: Overlooking koi pond are more expensive, next to pool can be noisy. Top floor is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimiwoodd, Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

We appreciate your business, as well as your comments. You are mistaken in that the Hilo Seaside Hotel is under new ownership and management—The Hilo Seaside is Hawaiian Family owned and operated, celebrating over 50 years of Hawaiian Hospitality. We are in the process of renovating all of our guestrooms, and guest areas. We know our guests will enjoy the outcome. I hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent just one night after arriving at the airport in the evening. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. The shower was excellent. The view from the balcony was very nice (ocean). The Coconut Grill restaurant (attached) was also very nice for breakfast (try the banana bread!). I agree with one reviewer that the parking was not the best. There are limited spaces on the grounds (I found one of the last two spaces open at 9:30 pm). Others have to park on the street in front of the lobby. There's a nice walk along the ocean from the hotel around the Banyan Peninsula. Overall we were happy with the choice and wouldn't hesitate to return. Note: if you have a lot of luggage be aware that they have two floors and no elevators.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TranquilCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
571 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
61.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
60.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4647
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: £97 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing