We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a place away from home that still feels like home”
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's a place away from home that still feels like home”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We arrived 7 hours before check in began but the very helpful and friendly staff at the desk managed to room swap so we could check in. The room was small but spotless so we didn't mind. In the afternoon we say out in the hallway chairs and watched the planes landing. The cafe attached to the hotel was the best food I've had so far. Home cooked meals at such a reasonable price and such happy staff. We had many questions about the local area and they were always happy to help. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellythomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    418
    287
    76
    49
See reviews for
223
442
96
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Yep it's old school. Not five star. But it's just as clean as one.

Lovely check in. Easy free parking. Quiet air con and ceiling fan. Gorgeous outlook onto water and pond. No lifts so you're in your room within seconds of arrival. Restaurant on site. Free ice. Free coffee. Fridge in room. Bath tub and shower excellent. TV with lots of cable channels. Has a pool. And laundry. First night we stayed our neighbours were noisy but still slept ok. Downtown is under 2 miles away. All good restaurants and experiences are close by. Great location. Easy to find.

Seriously. Whoever has complaints about this place probably complains about everything.

Sure, it's not a posh swanky place. But that's why we loved it. So convenient, relaxing and great price!

Thanks for our free upgrade too :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AeroDDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weed, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had a terrible night's sleep. I have never heard as much traffic noise as I did here! It's at the intersection of two major highways in Hilo. Besides the traffic, you hear the planes.
They are stingy with glasses and towels. The room is outmoded. The plugs to charge our electronic equipment didn't work so our smart phone and computer were almost dead by morning. I couldn't find the switch to turn on the bathroom light. My husband finally found it in the bedroom. I was so glad to leave this place!

Room Tip: It's possible that the rooms away from the highways are better, but the disabled rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShastaGirlWeed_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel is old, kind of funky in its layout but if you are looking for a clean room at a reasonable rate this is your place. The staff are friendly and the rooms have everything you would require. The views are lovely in the rooms looking out to the water. We had no complaints other than the restaurant. We had dinner and wished we had dined elsewhere. The location was easy to find and a good landing spot for our trip around the Big Island. If you are looking for an excellent budget priced hotel with good amenties and clean rooms - look no further.. Pool closed at 7pm and would have liked it to be open later for our child to have a swim.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a pond view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taunia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of nights and a little over $100 per night. That's a great price for the location. Included breakfast in the adjoining restaurant, Coconut Grill. Helpful front desk staff, but couldn't extract a smile out of them! Room was clean, reasonably quite considering that it was adjacent to the pool. Hotel was built in 1956 we were told, but the rooms are more up to date. Plenty of outlets, for example. A few oddities... you need to turn on the wall switch at the entrance to turn the TV on; bathroom light switch is by the bedside; wireless internet was reasonably fast but unstable. All in all, a good bargain.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationer_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We visited here on a honeymoon island tour, having already stayed at the other two Seaside hotels in Hawai'i; all were quite nice, but this one was the best of the three. Our room was comfortable, the hotel was extremely convenient (just off the highway, with a view of Reeds Bay and its pretty beach park, the next block down from Banyan Drive, and only 4 miles from Rainbow Falls), comfortable, and with a lot of effort put into vintage decor. The pool was small but nice, the centerpiece of a courtyard surrounded by bamboo furniture, with a small but very pretty interior garden.

Our booking included breakfast at the attached restaurant, which was delicious. While you're eating, you can also get a bit of local history-the restaurant has been there long enough to display the high water marks from several notable tsunamis. The hotel also has free parking, though you do have to walk around the block from the main lot if the (very small) close one is already full.

This is definitely a good value for the money, but if you're looking for a resort experience, this is not it. Hilo Airport is right alongside (the runway literally starts across the street), so there is significant noise from planes just overhead. The general ambiance and location more than makes up for it, though, we thought. If you're looking for a comfortable place to rest your head while you take in the sights around Hilo, give Hilo Seaside a try!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Cuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

First trip to islands and enjoyed my visit immensely. Very friendly staff and beautiful grounds within the hotel. Restaurant has attentive staff and varied food. Beautiful walk across the street along the water. Small fridge in room with convenience store within short walking distance. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank longing4texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
665 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,183 reviews
61.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
22.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Property: Hilo Seaside Hotel
Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4647
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing