We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gets better!”
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just gets better!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is a blast from the past, where courtesy, kindness and friendliness were all in abundance. The hotel is spotless and the rooms are comfortabe. What has made this trip wonderful is the front desk staff. Justin, Angie, Pricilla and Judy. They all made us feel t home and helped us plan our many days of adventure on the Big Island. If you want to expirience OLD HAWAII , this is the place to visit. The lobby is equipped with comp computers and a lending library of books on the area and very comfortable airy lobby overlooking the water. There is a beautiful koi pond off the lobby which some of the rooms{ours included} look over and then the bay. There is alot of history here and the gardens throughout are plush and filled with tree ferns, orchids and many blooming exotic plants.
The restaurant is fun, inexpensive/good value, and except for the florecent light recessed around the ceiling, a very enjoyable experience. Ask for Annette, her professionalism was apparent the moment we entered the room. They were busy, but she acknowleded us immeiately and said she would be with us shortly. She has such a great personality and attended us throughout the whole meal. As it turned out she is a working manager and that is why the restaurant flows so well. Kudos to the staff of the hotel and to Annnette for sharing the Spirit of Aloha. The pool is in a courtyard and is large and beautiful and clean. Keep up the good work, we will be back! Much love!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the koi pont and bay beyond. This is a quiet property and the pool is ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertnkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    420
    287
    77
    49
See reviews for
226
443
96
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Hilo Seaside Hotel doesn't pretend to be anything other than what it is. It's an older locally owned hotel. I'd be more inclined to call it a motel. The staff are friendly and efficient. There is a restaurant on site. On my first night, I had a burger and beer and listened to a local musician play. All very decent. I stayed in the upgraded rooms with balconies overlooking the pond on my first visit. After circling the island, I returned to Hilo Seaside my last two nights when I did some laundry (1.50 a load, reception have quarters). I stayed in a room by the poolside my second time. These rooms were a little bit louder as there is more traffic, but you could turn on a fan or a/c to mute that. You don't hear too many frogs from this part of the building, but it also didn't have a balcony with a view! They provide plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, sewing kits, coffee makers and a small fridge in each room. The wifi signal was fantastic and the parking was free and easy to find. Downtown Hilo is a short drive away. There's also a really great Japanese garden and park down Banyan Drive and old Banyan Trees planted by famous people along the road. This place is great value if you are looking for something very clean and basic and affordable in a good location. I would stay here again if I was on a budget.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms overlooking the pond are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaisersoozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A while back my daughter and I visited my brother's family, in Mountain View. We stayed at the Hilo Seaside. We had a room by the pool. Room was great for the price.

An elderly gentleman was fishing for fish, at the pond across the street. He said he stays at the Hilo Seaside for two or three months, each summer. The staff knows him well. He catches "aholehole" and gives the fish to them or they would cook it for him. Staff was terrific. Floral walkways beautiful.

Unfortunately, my brother's family moved back to Oahu. Now, I don't have a reason to travel to Hilo and stay at the Hilo Seaside and meet the gentleman again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

3 adults staying at condo for week in Kona needed overnight stay in Hilo after visiting black sand beaches & Hawaii's Volcanos National Park - so the next day we could swim in the warm thermal spring pools on Hawaii's southern shores and then visit some of the waterfalls prior to heading back to Kona via Saddleback road. Choose Hilo Seaside Hotel for price & prior reviews. It didn't look as big on the outside, but exceeded all of our expectations! Requested rollaway bed since 2 full size beds wouldn't accommodate 3 people. After a very welcoming greeting & 3 vouchers for free breakfast at Coconut Grill - included in price of room, we found the rollaway already in our first floor coy pond/ocean view room #152. Sights and sounds of nature were music to our souls - would have moved the bed to the patio had there been enough room & privacy! Requested & received late check-out (2pm) so we could shower & dress after the visit to the warm springs. Saw housekeeping staff very busy dusting, polishing, mopping & sweeping the common areas in the morning before the room cleaning began in the afternoon. Hilo Seaside Hotel may be an older hotel, but it's very well maintained despite the indoor/outdoor style. Nice cultural décor through out and each wing has open air views of the pool, several gardens, or the coy pond with some ocean view along with individual balconies or patios - a real tropical paradise! Very friendly & helpful staff - would love to stay again and recommend it, and AARP discount saved 15%! Good evening meal selections & breakfast in the Coconut Gill - attached to but not operated by the hotel. Nice restaurant across the street named Ponds - good choice of seafood & steaks, too. After check-in and early dinner, we walked along Banyan Road - which is lined with huge banyan trees, could see the beach and harbor area, small island and found the beautiful Japanese Gardens with several picturesque bridges. Passed other hotels, food & gift shops on the way back to hotel. Only negatives was the rollaway bed's mattress was thin & old, plus the back gate - closest to our room & parking is locked at 8pm so we had to walk along poorly lit drive way to front entrance.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have patios or balconies (3 stories but NO elevator) with open air views to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Older hotel with very clean well kept areas and rooms. Cheapest breakfast is $6.95 and up with several choices. Deserves the ratings it receives. Had a room overlooking the fish pond and parking is good and free.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nice!, toilet rolls are kept under the tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlcallissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

It is rare that I can have something worth noting after getting settled in on day one. But the staff at this place have already been very understanding given some odd circumstances.

When my partner and I first arrived for three days in Hilo - where we will be getting married - we found that our room was not initially to our expectation. After a quick call to the front desk, they agreed to assign us a different room and we moved all of our luggage to the new room ... or so we thought. It turns out that we left one bag on the floor in the original room.

And not just any bag - the one with our wedding rings in it. Despite a problem with the first (or was it the second) key to let me back into the original room, the woman at the front desk patiently issued yet another one-time-use key to let me back into that room and retrieve my bag.

We have thus far been satisfied with our new room and are looking forward to a lovely stay for our nuptials.

I'll write a more thorough review after we've checked out. But I had to give a quick shout out to the staff already.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed overnight after flying into Hilo before our drive to Kona. We were only looking for inexpensive and clean. The Hilo Seaside is so much more. They have these great wings such as the pool (around the pool), garden (surrounding a garden), etc. They are part of the only Hawaiian owned hotel chain, something we didn't know. It's not a place for partying as there is quiet time after 10pm. That's because everyone is sleeping with their windows open enjoying the breeze. It's not fancy, but comfortable, welcoming and has a surprisingly good restaurant on site. They aren't trying to be the Ritz, they are happy welcoming you to Hawaii. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
670 reviews
61.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
22.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Property: Hilo Seaside Hotel
Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4647
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing