We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check-in Early!”
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Reviewed 25 May 2006

3  Thank seplin2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,073 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
local island girl
115
Reviewed 7 April 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2006

The room was very clean, but facilities were very old. Parking was limited. We had to climb 3 flights of stairs. There were also small sets of stairs to climb in the lobby. There were no elevators and if anyone is handicap it would be a major problem. You get what you pay for. I would pay a little more and stay at a better place.

4  Thank buoywatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 5 April 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2006

I stayed there February 24, 2006. There was not enough parking on the lot. I had to park across the street on a dirt area near a pond.

The hotel has a 1960s feel to it. The nicely-landscaped atrium near my room was retro and somewhat quaint. My room had a 1960s feel to it but was clean and acceptable.

Note that this property is near the end of a runway at the airport. At around 5:30 AM there was a tremendously loud jet blast that woke me up. I thought there would be more blasts as morning flights departed, but the planes must have used other runways because all was quiet for the rest of the morning.

This property had a very affordable price by Hawaiian standards. Overall, I say it is a good place to stay if you are a budget traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxConcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2006

I just returned from a vacation on the Big Island of Hawaii. I wanted to see the Volcano National Park and decided to stay in Hilo for a few nights. I stayed at the Hilo Seaside Hotel, a Hawaiian family owned Hotel. The best part of this hotel is the friendliness of the hotel staff. The hotel was extremely clean and pleasant. I would stay here again...

3  Thank JONAS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2006

I recently spent 3 nights at the Hilo Seaside Hotel. Since I was by myself and my goal was for a cheap place to just sleep and shower in, it was OK. My room was very small, but clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, it was also very noisy. The walls are paper thin and you hear "everything" that's going on around you. It's definitely not a place to spend your honeymoon night. In addition, the airport is practically next door and the building shakes when planes are landing. Even so, if you're just looking for a simple room that's very convenient to Volcanoes National Park, it's not a bad deal. If you require anything more, I suggest you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chs1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
570 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
61.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
60.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4647
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: £98 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing