We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilo Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

Good budget hotel, centrally located with 2 minutes of downtown Hilo. Rooms were clean and the grounds were well kepted up. A good budget hotel for the price, including breakfeast. You can't beat it for the price !!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigo_The_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    389
    274
    74
    47
See reviews for
202
418
86
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego california
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Last vacation with my friends we decided to spend it at 126 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii,we enjoy the seaside restaurant located near from the beach resort we went off, we enjoy the sea breeze with a pouch of very yummy special tea we have ordered,with a very friendly people out there who are very easy to find yourself feel at home, the cleanliness of the surrounding was one of the very attractive thing we notice in that hotel, the maintenance are very hospitable and also the tour guide we have,even though we spent all our money buying our leisure and foods it doesn't mater to us what matter is the experience we have that will never be bought or forgotten.You can do this without even taking out a <a title="A payday loan with Personal Money Store is fax free!" href="http://personalmoneystore.com/payday-loans/pay-day-loans/pay-day-loan/">pay day loan</a>.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 042506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisisna
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

Hilo Seaside Hotel is the only hotel owned by Hawaiians. , and it shows in their warm hospitality and hotel decors. Hotel has a large Koi pond with over two dozen fat Koi fish. The hotel ground has many plants and ferns. We stayed in a room facing the Koi pond
on Nov 8 and another room by the pool on Nov 22. Pool side room can be noisy as the bathroom faces a busy street. But if you are travelling with children, I would recommend a pool side room as you can watch children in the pool from your room. Hotel must have gone through renovations as I noticed the key card entry and a new carpet in a room. The attached restaurant, Coconut Grill is not owned by this hotel. The food and the service here are also excellant. The breakast here is wonderful. I regret that I did not eat dinner on Nov 8 when we first stayed here. We went outside of the hotel for a dinner. We were tired on Nov 22 and decided we would eat here., and I am glad we did.
They will bring you a small complimentary starter with a spinash/artichoke dip which was the best ! I had a Hawaiian Plate, again the best. People here are friendly, efficient and very clean room. My husband and I travel a lot and we added this hotel to our favorite hotels in the world( Amstel in Amsterdam and Four Season Chinzanso in Tokyo) and this hotel's cost is only 10% of hotel cost of the above mentioned hotels !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AthenaMSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

This is an older hotel - probably 40-50 years old - but it is well maintained and has local character. The restaurant off the lobby is reasonably priced and seems very popular as it was packed at mealtimes. This hotel is not fancy, but then again, if you wanted fancy, you wouldn't be in Hilo because the entire town is very laid-back and there are no upscale hotels there. But the Seaside is extremely clean, basic lodging located very close to downtown and the airport. It looks like there are a lot of locals and people from other Hawaiian islands that stay there, probably due to the very affordable kama'aina rates. You do get some airport noise from being so close to the airport, but it wasn't a bother. Anyone from a big city probably hears similar traffic noise outside their window regularly. I wouldn't necessarily base my entire vacation around the Seaside, but for simple, affordable and clean it passes with flying colors and I wouldn't hesitate to come back next time I am in Hilo.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy20824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hkmny
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

The hotel seems somewhat old, but is located not far from the airport, and about a 45-60 min drive from the Volcano National Park. There's a restaurant attached to the hotel. The rooms were ok, kind of dated. If your main purpose is to go to the National Park, I would make it a day trip, and stay at a hotel on Oahu/Maui.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

The Hilo Seaside was a quiet spot that allowed us to explore the eastern side of the Big Island. We flew in early from Honolulu and were pleased the hotel was such a quick drive from the airport in Hilo and even more excited that the hotel was so accommodating when we wanted to check in early. The room was basic- and as my boyfriend said, felt a little like staying at someone's grandmother's house. But grandma has been keeping the basics up and does a great job cleaning. We had a small balcony with chairs and a view of the ice pond and the ocean beyond- though we didn't spend much time out there.

The Hilo Seaside was our home base for exploring Volcano National Park and it served us well. It was a great value and offered us everything we needed before moving on to Kailua-Kona. The free breakfast at the Coconut Grill was basic but everything we wanted before a day of hiking through the national park. The hotel is at the start of Banyan Drive which made for a lovely early morning walk to the free Liliuokalani Gardens and Coconut Island.

Basic, but very solid and reasonably priced for what we needed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grapesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

OK, you wouldn't want to hang around the hotel all day, but as a place to sleep and base yourself from, it's perfectly OK. Staff were friendly and efficient, locally run. The price is spot on for what you get, a clean, no frills, basic hotel located just outside town.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danté Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
61.0 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
61.2 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Seaside Hotel

Property: Hilo Seaside Hotel
Address: 126 Banyan Way, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4647
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilo Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy town of Hilo, on the east side of the Big Island is a tropical paradise filled with fragrant island flowers, pristine forests, and magnificent miles of orchid farms. The Hilo Seaside Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located on the shores of Hilo Bay, on historical Banyan Drive. This affordable Hawaiian owned hotel is a scenic 40 minute drive to Hawaii's Volcano National Park, and just a few minutes by car to quaint Hilo Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilo Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Seaside Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing