We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price & friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arnott's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arnott's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great price & friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Needed an affordable place for one night after staying at Waipio Valley for a wk. It feels like being at home with a kitchen and a lounging area you can share. Stayed in a deluxe room & very cozy place. Staff is friendly & helpful. Not recommended for people who are used to four star Hilton but great for people who just need the basic necessities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiricahua1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Aloha!! Mahalo for your positive comments. We are happy to hear that staying with us felt like home. We offer the conveniences of a home setting and a place that is comfortable. We just upgraded our deluxe living room with new furniture and continue to make upgrades throughout the lodge. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    176
    43
    15
    34
See reviews for
87
182
115
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Great accommodations and value. The staff was excellent and always helpful. This is not resort style accommodations. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the one bedroom suite; the kitchen was roomy and we enjoyed eating breakfast on the small deck off the kitchen. We would definitely stay here again. The surrounding area is very nice and a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite was very roomy for 3 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowlupine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Aloha to our friends from Redding, CA. Mahalo for your wonderful review. I must say we do have an awesome staff that work hard and does their best to meet our guests needs. We are happy to hear that you felt comfortable in your unit. Our 1BR suites are popular due to the exclusive use of a kitchenette. The Hawaiian tropical view from your balcony is relaxing and forces you to slow down and appreciate the beauty of a pond with wildlife, coconut trees, banana trees and papaya trees!! You chose the right place to lodge in Hilo especially if you want to be close to the beach. We hope to see you soon! Thanks for choosing Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures!! Aloha!! A Hui Hou!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Arnott's is a great place to stay if you enjoy a good nights sleep and are keen to get up early and see all The Big Island has to offer. A mixture of clients (Campers, singles in dorms and families) so there is always someone interesting to chat to. Staff are very helpful. Clean, good value accommodation.

Room Tip: The deluxe units are fabulous. Room 4 and 2 are a little bigger than 5 & 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Aloha Linda!! Mahalo for your awesome review!!

We offer different types of accommodation to our travelers from $11 per night tenting, to dorms from $28-$55, semi-privates at $65, deluxe units at $75 a night and suites from $99-$180 a night. Our deluxe units that you stayed at are our most popular rooms that guests request.

That's so nice to hear that you were able to meet other travelers and share your adventures. Arnott's Lodge is a place to meet others from all over the world. We look forward to seeing you soon. Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Decades ago I traveled throughout Africa, staying at places other travelers recommended. These places were usually great, but would never have been popular with tourists expecting a 5-star Ritzy hotel experience. When we arrived at Arnott's Lodge, I was transported back in time and around the world. "This is a place that travelers stay." If you need the amenities of a fancy hotel, find a fancy hotel. If you want a clean and secure place to hang your hat as you travel about, friendly staff, the chance to cross paths with other travelers in the communal areas, all for a more-than-reasonable price, Arnott's Lodge is your place. And if you're a little adventurous, explore some of the coast nearby, accessible down public access paths. Gorgeous and empty. We will certainly be sending friends and family -- those who are travelers, not tourists -- to Arnott's Lodge, especially the younger folks who don't have money to burn and need an affordable option near Hilo. And if you like good photography, check out the pictures by Glory on many of the walls. Bravo!

Room Tip: Look at the room options and choose the option best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Aloha to our travelers!! Mahalo for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear that you appreciate Arnott's Lodge. It's guests like you that get what we have to offer to travelers all over the world. We are a unique place where you're able to meet others and share travel stories. We've also had travelers that met at the lodge and ended up getting married!! Seriously. Of course, we can't guarantee love at the lodge but we can hope that you will grow to love the east side of the Big Island.

And yes, there are other resorts here on the island that can offer you the 5 star facilities but we try to offer our guests the 5 star Aloha service. Arnott's Lodge is within walking distance to couple beach accesses. There's an awesome place that I swim that is 5 minutes away by bike and if you're lucky you'll spot turtles!!

I'm glad you enjoyed my photography. I'm slowly adding more photos in all the units. The Big Island has a lot of beautiful places to photograph!!

Thanks for referring us to your friends and family. Our best referrals are "word of mouth". We hope to see you again soon. Aloha and Mahalo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I enjoyed the quiet and laidback environment.Friendly helpful staff and clean facilities.
The tours were excellent particularly the Mauna Kea and starshow tour.Knowledgeable tour guides made the tours really enjoyable on all levels.
The only thing I found a bit uncomfortable was the musty carpets.Maybe they could be replaced with tiles or something less smelly.
Other than that everything else was great and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are all excellent except for room 3 which is the twin bed room which faces the road.The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarasurfnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Aloha to our friends from Brisbane, we appreciate your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Arnott's Lodge. We do our best in trying to make everyone's stay memorable and unforgettable. Customer service and cleanliness is high on our priority list for our lodge so I'm glad we met your standards.

We also pride ourselves with our experienced tour guides that are passionate about showing you the main features of the Big Island. We are glad you enjoyed our tours.

We just renovated majority of our kitchenettes and bathroom in our semi privates and suites. One of our suites has tile floors in them so slowly we are making changes bit by bit. We've also just updated the furniture in our deluxe living room.

We are glad to hear that you would stay with us again and we hope to see you in the near future. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Nice place to stay for a clean, comfortable room. Staying in Kona and making a couple trips to the Hilo side and decided to stay overnight rather than drive over twice. Saved us 4-5 hours of driving and was about the same price as the gas would have been. I'd be happy to stay here again, even for multiple nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Aloha to our guest from Alberta! Mahalo for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We take pride in being able to provide comfortable accommodations for budget and international travelers that are kept clean and well-maintained. We also provide many amenities to make your stay more comfortable: free parking, free wifi, cable tv in a comfortable lounge area, coin-operated laundry, access to well-appointed kitchens, beautiful grounds, and easy access to beaches nearby.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we would love to have you stay again with us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I enjoy my stay in Arnott`s Lounge mainly because the volcano and Mauna Kea tours they provide. You would get tour discounts if you stay there for at least two nights. The prices would be relatively cheap. Most importantly, the tour guides who are local students, are very friendly, experienced, and knowledgeable. I especially recommend their Mauna Kea tour, which is one of the few tours that start from Hilo in May, to my knowledge. In addition, the staff is friendly and helpful, too. Overall, I am glad that I chose Arnott`s Lounge and its tours.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Aloha to our friends from Missouri! Mahalo for your review! We were glad you chose to stay with us here at Arnott’s Lodge, and take our tours. Our Volcanoes National Park tour is an excellent way to view one of nature’s most fascinating sights: an active volcano! Our Mauna Kea tour is second to none, and very well-regarded by our guests. We also provide a great Valleys & Waterfalls tour that takes in the beautiful scenery in the region, as well as several awesome custom tour options. We are very proud of all of our great guides!

We would love to have you come back and stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
62.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
62.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Property: Arnott's Lodge
Address: 98 Apapane Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for campers. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, Volcanoes National Park and Valleys and Waterfalls Tours. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing